Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread

Old 2nd August 2015, 16:00   #1

Default Here I am

I am 30 and a lawyer by profession. Located in central Kerala. Have been really interested in mechanical and technical things since I was a kid. I generally love hunting for things not easily available. Sort of gives me a purpose. Stepped into the automobile field buying a rusted (yet running) Yezdi CL-II for Rs.2000 with my brother in 2001. Disassembled it to its last screw without any decent tools and irrecoverably ruined it in the process learning quite a bit about engines and motor vehicles in general.
First car to drive and own was a 1985 SS80. Learned driving in it.

Name:  SS80.jpg
Views: 1404
Size:  113.1 KB

Upgraded later to a 1995 Tata Sierra and has been using it since last 10 years. Here he is:

Here I am-img_20150801_165908.jpg

An Alto 800 came and left in between. A die-hard fan of Sierra now though I doubt whether I would be able to hold on to him for long. We have managed to keep him unmolested (unmodified) and original as far as possible. I keep hunting for parts and stuff for it. There are plans for some DIY projects involving it. I am primarily here for discussions on Sierra.
Shreekz is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2015, 17:17   #2
BHPian

I have great memories of the Sierra from college days. Great vehicle to go touring in.

I remember when a drunk/speeding Maruti 800 driver crashed into the Sierra's rear end and totalled the car. The Sierra just had a few paint scratches.

We too hunted around for parts at the time, I remember we replaced the windscreen because it had become hazy due to age. Fun times.
drsingh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2015, 22:49   #3

Default Re: Here I am