Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread

Old 17th June 2007, 03:37   #1
BHPian

Default Yet another newbie

Hi folks,

At the outset, let me state that my username doesn't really mean much. I'm not a big fan of the Edsel, though I'm interested in its history. For that matter, I'm interested in all things concerning automobiles. I work as a writer/editor in Bombay, and mostly cover business and technology. I hope to drop by sometime if you have regular meetups in this city. I live in Andheri (West).

I have been a lurker here for some weeks, but that's partly because I don't have a four-wheeler driving licence yet. I hope to get one soon though. I currently own two Enfield Bullets (a 1989 Std 350cc and a 2002 Std 500cc), and someday I hope to complete my "fleet" with a second-hand Gypsy (preferably white, late-1990s, soft-top.) Or even a Mahindra CJ would be nice...

However, practicality has led me to consider buying an old Maruti 800 as a first car on which to cut my driving teeth (so to speak). Advancing age has brought with it nagging ailments such as a bad back and mildly arthritic knees, so I don't bike as often as I used to. Solo trips that I did on my Enfield a decade ago such as Delhi to Bombay and Bombay to Goa are but a distant memory now. :(

Yes, I know it makes far more sense to buy an Alto or Wagon R, but I really need to find out if I can handle driving in a city like Bombay. So I'm looking at a sub-75K M800. I'm not too confident because I've had less than ten hours of practice at the wheel so far and I still manage to stall my friend's Wagon R at stoplights. *embarrassed* Another reason to look at a used car is that I don't have covered parking, and will therefore have to leave the car under a tree at the mercy of the birds.