Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread

Old 27th August 2009, 20:32   #1

Default Auriga - Celestial Charioteer

Hi Everybody,

I have been an ardent fan of team-bhp and have surfed the site on a fairly regular basis for a couple of years now. I have always loved cars and longed to drive ever since I was a kid and rode in our family owned bottle green Ambassador Mk II. However a plethora of reasons, mostly the fact that I studied for quite a few years in residential educational institutes, meant that I never managed to learn to drive till I was almost forced to learn while on an onsite assignment in the US. Once there I drove on a plethora of vehicles like a 2006 Ford Mustang, a 2006 Mazda 6 (personal favourite), Chrysler Sebring and the quintessential rental car – the Ford Taurus. Needless to say, driving these fine machines on the awesome interstates over there was a lot of fun.

Coming back to India in the fag end of 2007, I was flabbergasted. I had no sense of driving in the chaos and mayhem of Bangalore roads and pretty much didn’t have the nerve to try. Got myself an old Maruti 800, thinking that since I am anyways going to unlearn/relearn why not do so on an old beater. But frequent travels kept interrupting my plan to take to driving again. Kept a driver and was pretty much done with driving for a while. But all the time kept visiting team-bhp to keep the thrill of driving alive in me.