Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread

Old 11th October 2009, 11:36   #1
BHPian

Talking Vroom Vrooom...here I come!!!

Howdy folks .

I am Rahul and I work in the not so interesting field of IT. I have been following tbhp for several years as a passive user. It was only when I decided to buy a second hand royal enfield I tried to register with tbhp. And what a surprise, my registration was accepted the first attempt. I have read some guys in this forum say they had to try several times before managing to register. Guess I was lucky for a change atleast in something! My dream machines are the RE Bullets and the Jeep / SUV kind of vehicles. I love doing road trips and have done my share of trips on my wheels, except that now I am married for over a year and my wife prefers comfortable travels and doesnt like road trips :(.

My first bike was a RE Thunderbird 2004 (TN Registered). It was an amazing experience owning the legend. But extended periods of stay on and off the country made me sell my bike since there was no one back home to take care of her. I sold for a throwaway price of 50K ( I had bought it for 84). Not that I wanted to sell or I was short on Vitamin M. It was just that the so called experts around me (read parents, family, friends etc) said the bike will not perform well if u keep it idle, parts could rust, you will not get any resale later on, etc etc.

Wish I had known of a site like tbhp and I would have asked the 'real' experts for some suggestions on whether I could keep the bike for long periods without using and what would be the impact on engine, performance etc. The wealth of knowledge in this site is amazing. and I have no regrets in accepting that.