Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Team-BHP Reviews > Long-Term Ownership Reviews

Old 17th October 2007, 17:41   #1
BHPian

Default Santro Xing: 100 KM report

Background:
After 4 months of long head breaking on buying my first car, I took delivery of my new Santro yesterday. Variant: XO Color: Real Earth. First of all, thanks to all TBhp members in helping me in my decision (I had one 'What Car' Thread for this).
I knew that I will be taking some of the last XO models as it is getting discontinued. But I don't have any regrets and in fact I got some very good discount and offers. Also new top model of Santro is not having all features of Santro. With all this it looked better value for money. And as I am planning to keep her for long time, I was not worried for resale value.

The D day:
I am a new driver and have just got my permanent driving license. Initially I was thinking for getting her home delivered. But then I decided to take that risk. My parents were here for delivery. So I took my car from showroom to home with 5 people on board including me on Driver Seat. My parents were skeptical about me driving all of them home. But just seating into the driver seat and puting the first gear gave me confidence. The view of the road was excellent. The response from accelerator for very good and power steering is amazing. Maneuvering the car was way easy than i thought and I got her to home without any problems at all, that too in a decent traffic.

After that we took her to Mandir for Puja. The pandit there was more exited than me and in the process he spread kumkum/haldi and akshat everywhere(engine, bonnet, dash board etc). I was silently watching as my parents were around and convinced myself that somehow this is going to help me and my car with some divine force.

Review:
Then came the real part of it. I took her for some serious ride to get used to her. And here are my bits on the feel i got: