Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Team-BHP Reviews > Long-Term Ownership Reviews


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th March 2010, 22:25   #1201
BHPian
 
anshurao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Panaji, Goa
Posts: 276
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Exact oil quantity with oil filter change is 3.1 Liter. Only oil means 2.9 Liter.
Hey Jaggu, my bill shows 3.3 liters of oil, will it cause a problem? I had seen some posts of issues of filling excess oil. Am worried now!
anshurao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2010, 22:28   #1202
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,455
Thanked: 6,709 Times
Default

Tomorrow morning, before you start up check oil level. Lift the stick, wipe it clean and dip it in. Leave it in for 10 secs, lift again and take the reading. If the level is within max mark you should be fine.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 11:34   #1203
BHPian
 
anshurao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Panaji, Goa
Posts: 276
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

Jaggu, I just checked the Oil level, The level is max or 1/2mm over that. One more thing I observed is, the oil is already black, just run 500 Kms after the change. Is that normal?
anshurao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 12:35   #1204
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,248
Thanked: 4,349 Times
Default

2 mm over max is a definite overfill me thinks.

As far as the black oil goes, it is normal
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 13:01   #1205
BHPian
 
anshurao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Panaji, Goa
Posts: 276
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

Thanks Eddy, Darn these service guys. Do i need to reduce it or to be taken care of next time?
anshurao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 13:52   #1206
BHPian
 
mtnrajdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 636
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

@anshurao: Reduce it ASAP. High chances of it affecting the intercooler and the turbo. Always keep the oil a little below the max level!
mtnrajdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 14:44   #1207
BHPian
 
f1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 693
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gill View Post
Yesterday, while driving on Highways at the speed between 90-100km/hr, the horn acted strangely, I blew the horn and the tone was vibrating, It was evident from hearing that it wasn't the normal sound. I stopped, checked for wire shortage or someting, nothing strange, I found.
Then again I blew the horn and speed was belwo 40k/hr, It sounded fine. But it sounded strange again in range of 90km/hrs. It's sound as if it's about to die.
Today, I was on Highway again, and the horn was working fine.
Electric equipment of the car is stock,but ICE,It's disconnected as of now. I checked the wires from battery to amp,all the wires looked fine.
What could be the reason?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselFan View Post
I faced similar problem. Mine was the case of loose wires at the horn end. As horn is placed behind the bumper this is a very common problem. Take it to A.S.S and they would fix this issue in a jiffy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Check the horn clips first as advised.

Is it OE horn? Single or twin? Mine which was single conked out after one good TVM-BLR blast

At higher speed especially longer drives battery voltage peaks and horn tuning goes for a toss, if the contact points are wearing out. Horns with adjustable contacts can be "tuned" back, fixed ones will need replacement. OE ones are not very expensive and that reminds me i also need to order a set lol
I too had the same problem with my Dzire VDi. Had mentioned the problem at 10K and they told me that the contacts were loose. TD'ed after service and everything was fine but after a couple of weeks, one of the horn would switch on and off. Reported again at 15K and they told me that one of the clips had come loose. That was fixed but the same problem reappeared after some time.
Finally they replaced the right side horn which was acting up all the time. Till now ( i.e. 2 weeks) I havent faced the issue again. Hope it has been resolved for good.
f1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 15:01   #1208
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,455
Thanked: 6,709 Times
Default

@ anshu: drain out 200 ml of oil, then double check the level the next day morning.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2010, 10:34   #1209
BHPian
 
rajswiftvdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: KA
Posts: 66
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
connect the scanner check if its air map error then you can confirm the same and delete it off.
Had been to RNS, connected Tech2 and it shown an error code "No signal from immobilizer module" there was one more error code, but before I could read that, guy cleared it off. Any idea whats the reason for this error?

Funny thing is to convince the mechanic that, there is some issue with service light. He kept on saying "saaar ABS vehicle light hogallaa". Still dont know how these guys qualified for the job
rajswiftvdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2010, 13:11   #1210
Newbie
 
mehrotrarohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Have done 4o,ooo on my sliver ddis swift...one of the tyres has become redundant. Looking to buy a new one...which one should I go for? Please dont suggest JK tyre...am not very impressed with it.

also, if someone can be so kind to suggest a trusted place in Mumbai to buy it from, shall be eternally grateful

regards
rohit
mehrotrarohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2010, 11:18   #1211
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 69
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I gave my swift vdi for 2nd servicing. And the servicing cost came out to be just Rs. 50/-. No oil change was done this time around, only checkup was done. Is this a regular thing in 2nd servicing ?
mikilbhatkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2010, 12:29   #1212
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,248
Thanked: 4,349 Times
Default

This was at 5000 kms ? If yes, then MUL does not recommend the oil change. We still do it, thats another story ;p

On a serious note, there are differing views on the forum about the frequency of an oil change. Some recommend 5k, others follow the MUL recommendation of 10k.
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2010, 13:58   #1213
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MH-12
Posts: 50
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Oil change

Couple of things I have noticed that *** for Swift DDiS

They tend to do a quick change of Oil - given the rush of vehicles for servicing.
Lift the vehicle up; open the drain plug to let the oil drain and plug it back when oil drips slows & bring the vehicle to ground level.

Then open up the Filter case (which is quite clumsy) and replace with new engine oil filter. The tend to do a quick fill of oil for 3-3.3 ltrs of oil and move to other aspects of Servicing.

Last time I insisted on keeping the drain plug open for 30 minutes & about 200 ml of black oil dripped out in trickles.

If you are not going to be around to ensure that oil is fully drained out; then yous should ask the *** guys to fill up 2.5 litres of oil and do a level check while taking delivery (and add up if required).

Excess Oil flows is known to flow into Turbo affecting intercooler.
Milind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2010, 20:17   #1214
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,546
Thanked: 6,588 Times
Default

Do they not flush the engine out? Surely they should?
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2010, 11:01   #1215
BHPian
 
lalitk25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bavaria Germany
Posts: 190
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mehrotrarohit View Post
Please dont suggest JK tyre...am not very impressed with it.
In my case I have done a replacement with 195/60/R14 tyres and the drive quality is way diffferent and good. You can also go for 195/65/R14 micheline primacy LC or BS potenza they are really good ones.
lalitk25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skoda Superb: The saga ends at 57000 km Hayek Long-Term Ownership Reviews 192 25th January 2017 21:19
Chica Italiano dressed in White! the Saga Begins!!! (White Linea) Update: Now Sold ! Sunilrj Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 294 10th June 2012 07:24
Grande Punto, Red Emotion Pack Multijet Diesel 9000 km - 4 months - Saga continues SamtheLeo Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 54 12th February 2010 21:30
Honda Recalls 182,756 Civics Over Wheel-Bearing Leak Ashutosh The International Automotive Scene 11 18th September 2007 11:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks