Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th April 2008, 09:18   #121
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,847
Thanked: 377 Times
Default

[quote=Sahil;786023]tyre specific rims??? Never heard of those
there is no need to change the rims

However there is no problem whatsoever when you switch over, everything works as before including the TPM


I totally agree with what Sahil has put down I also have never heard of tre specific rims. Infact I know guys running tubeless aftermarket tyres on OE rims.

O.T. Personally I do not like the rims that come with the 320d, there are man better options they offer in the international market


Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 11:06   #122
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,758
Thanked: 89,465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
So all in all i wouldn't say RFTs suck but as they have very extreme advantages and disadvantages.
Ok, here is a question : What happens if you encounter a puncture when driving to Goa, at say....Chiplun? Goa is another 250 - 300 kms away, and Bombay is 250 back. What would you do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
O.T. Personally I do not like the rims that come with the 320d, there are man better options they offer in the international market
Totally agreed on the surprisingly bad choice by BMW. Thats one of the first points I wrote up in my 320D review.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 13:46   #123
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,202
Thanked: 2,096 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Ok, here is a question : What happens if you encounter a puncture when driving to Goa, at say....Chiplun? Goa is another 250 - 300 kms away, and Bombay is 250 back. What would you do?
.
Ok, here is a counter-question: What would you do in this situation?

I would do exactly the same, RFT punctures can be repaired at any tubeless tire shop. They do not need to be taken to the dealership specially.

Ofcourse if you intend to switch over to your spare tire, i obviously cant do the same because i don't have one ! But i certainly can drive longer distance to reach the tire repair as compared to tubeless.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 15:07   #124
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,758
Thanked: 89,465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I would do exactly the same, RFT punctures can be repaired at any tubeless tire shop. They do not need to be taken to the dealership specially.
Aha! I was not aware of that. If a regular tyre shop can repair RFTs, that can only be a good thing.

Quote:
Ofcourse if you intend to switch over to your spare tire, i obviously cant do the same because i don't have one !
Now thats a problem. What if the tyre is damaged (vis a vis puncture) over a nasty pothole or a road divider. You would be stranded!!

Do you plan to keep a spare after moving back to regular tubeless? Is there space in the boot for one?
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 15:53   #125
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,202
Thanked: 2,096 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post

Now thats a problem. What if the tyre is damaged (vis a vis puncture) over a nasty pothole or a road divider. You would be stranded!!

Do you plan to keep a spare after moving back to regular tubeless? Is there space in the boot for one?
No i wouldnt be stranded. When my tire did get damaged the last time the car was driven back over 150kms without a problem. Now if i did have tubeless there could have been a tire burst and/or damaged rims,etc.

I definatly have to get a spare when i get back to tubeless. There is enough space for a full size spare in the trunk ! But i think i'll just go in for a space saver then.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 13:39   #126
BHPian
 
ecclipse78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 321
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Well, at-least the 5 series has a wheel well. So one can buy a spare/ donut for it.

The 3 series does'nt even have a wheel well in the boot. Absolutely ludicrous!
ecclipse78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2008, 18:39   #127
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,847
Thanked: 377 Times
Default

Well the Audi A4 has a full size spare wheel (alloy), so that is much more convenient.

I'd say more suited to our road conditions.


Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2008, 19:07   #128
BHPian
 
ecclipse78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 321
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Absolutely, Ricky!

I have an A4 too ( 1.8 T).

Got it remapped by Pete. IT's pretty quick now.
ecclipse78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2008, 12:52   #129
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,847
Thanked: 377 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecclipse78 View Post
Absolutely, Ricky!

I have an A4 too ( 1.8 T).

Got it remapped by Pete. IT's pretty quick now.

Wow another Audi Fan So did you get the remap done before expiry of the warranty. I will also be getting the remap but after the expiry of the Warranty Period. I am happy with the way my car runs (for now)

How has your experiance been with the A4 ?


Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2008, 13:03   #130
BHPian
 
ecclipse78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 321
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Hi Ricky,

I also own an Octavia RS that has been tuned to 240 bhp by PETE's. So, initially the A4 in stock form, was quite a laggard in comparison.

I still have a few months on the warranty left; got it remapped 2 months ago. The Audi guys cannot detect the Remap, as it does not show up in their diagnostic s/ware. Only if they were to drive the car a fair bit, would they figure out that its quite different.

So far, the A4 has been fantastic. I am looking forward to the new A4 ( 3.2 FSI Quattro )!

Cheers!
ecclipse78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2008, 13:25   #131
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,847
Thanked: 377 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecclipse78 View Post
Hi Ricky,

I also own an Octavia RS that has been tuned to 240 bhp by PETE's. So, initially the A4 in stock form, was quite a laggard in comparison.

I still have a few months on the warranty left; got it remapped 2 months ago. The Audi guys cannot detect the Remap, as it does not show up in their diagnostic s/ware. Only if they were to drive the car a fair bit, would they figure out that its quite different.

So far, the A4 has been fantastic. I am looking forward to the new A4 ( 3.2 FSI Quattro )!

Cheers!

Nice to know that you also rate the Audi A4 in the same category as I do ...FANTASTIC !!!! So the re-map is not detected on the diagnostic software ?? That is news to me...but yes the performance is surely going to make them wonder what hit them ..


So even you are looking at the 3.2L Quattro - eh ? Well I can only dream about it for now. As I intend to keep this car for a minimum of 3 years or more, then maybe my Octavia can go & another Audi can step into her shoes LOL LOL


Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2008, 13:44   #132
BHPian
 
ecclipse78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 321
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

The new A4 overseas also comes with a 3.0 TDI engine that develops 500 Nm of Torque and 240 bhp of power. I would pick this anyday over the 3.2 FSI, but as per Audi India this engine won't make it to India.

So, will have to be content with the 3.2 FSI. BTW, did you TD the BMW 325i before you bought your A4 ?

Cheers.
ecclipse78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2008, 09:56   #133
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,847
Thanked: 377 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecclipse78 View Post
The new A4 overseas also comes with a 3.0 TDI engine that develops 500 Nm of Torque and 240 bhp of power. I would pick this anyday over the 3.2 FSI, but as per Audi India this engine won't make it to India.

So, will have to be content with the 3.2 FSI. BTW, did you TD the BMW 325i before you bought your A4 ?

Cheers.


Wow - the 3 litre diesel would be absolutely unresistable, alas it isn't coming here. I did drive the A6 3.0L though.

As for the BMW - I drove the 320d not the 325i, the diesels always interest me more & here in this case I was also looking at the price


Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 12:06   #134
BHPian
 
Insane Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 984
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

The New A4 comes internationally with 3 diesel engines & 2 petrol options as far as i last saw.:

1. 2.0 lt
2. 2.7 lt
3. 3.0 lt.

Petrol:
1. 1.8 Turbo charged
2. 3.2 FSI

Coming to Indian shores initially is the 2.0 Tdi, and 3.2 FSI. Later on, the 1.8lt Turbo Petrol will be coming in.
Insane Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 16:40   #135
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Some interesting chat here & Ricky, Congrats on choosing the four rings. They sure are a great brand and they make wonderful machines. But an observation I made here is that BMWs don't come with a spare wheel. Is that true? If so, pretty strange! In absence of run-flats, very much suicidal as well.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMW: New X1 or 3-Series? EDIT: Now bought 320i Prestige ddndrive Luxury, Imports & Niche 93 29th September 2016 06:12
Audi A4 3.0 TDI - any competitor? EDIT : Booked A4. Further EDIT : Got BMW 540i V8! SOBOSpeedster Luxury, Imports & Niche 75 8th June 2010 10:12
VW Passat or BMW 320d Highline or New Audi A4 - EDIT : Bought BMW 520d Insane Devil Luxury, Imports & Niche 147 5th November 2009 00:59
Budget of 30 Lakhs: should i wait till Jan? EDIT : Bought BMW 320i diki24 Luxury, Imports & Niche 111 3rd January 2009 09:16
Help! Confused between Audi A4 3.2 quattro or BMW 530i. EDIT : Bought 530D!! sujithnk Luxury, Imports & Niche 51 25th September 2008 22:57


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks