Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th April 2007, 04:06   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

My bad about the SAFC.

OHC was OBD 1, so please don't go by year. Also the Ikon was never sold in the US. And OBD could also be OBD 0, used in the '80s.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 07:06   #17
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
OHC was OBD 1, so please don't go by year.
after 96 all vehicles In US had to be mandatorily obd2 compliant, so any vehicle similar to these after 96 is very likely to be Obd2 compliant.
Its safe to say after 96 all vehicles in US were Obd2 compliant.

plz dont bring OHC into this, lets talk Ford

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
Also the Ikon was never sold in the US.
who said Ikon was sold in US ? the US models of Ford after 96 were compliant.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chetanhanda View Post
Im guessing that the Ford Ikon is also sold in Mexico so it should definately be OBd2.
so if I say Im "guessing" that these version can be compatible with US model. Do you think US ECU's are different from Mexican ECU's

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
And OBD could also be OBD 0, used in the '80s.
and how does that apply to Ford Ikon ?
we are just trying to make intelligent guesses ?
can you explain in context of this thread why would you mention 80's obd ?
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 08:17   #18
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default OBD Port for Ford Ikon found

Hello!

With the kind help of Sss, who posted this, http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...tml#post422220 (OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars) I was able to locate the OBD Port in the Ford Ikon. I'm going to try to find out by pictures on Google if its OBD 1/2.

Pictures attached.









-Absar
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 08:36   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
aah78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC / BOM
Posts: 3,625
Thanked: 1,627 Times
Default

@Absar that is an OBD II connector - notice the trapezoidal shape.
an OBD I connector is rectangular in shape.

for anyone interested in OBD scan tools check out these products -> Actron.
they have scanners in a wide price range. i've been using their basic CP9125 PocketScan Code Reader for a while now - suffices my purpose.
aah78 is online now   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 11:16   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

babhishek
hope you received my pm. let me know the details. i am interested.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2007, 16:33   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Ah yes its OBD-II, thanks for confirming aah78. However, in this OBD port, only 6 out of the 16 pin sockets have metal connects like shown in the pictures.. Does this mean only limited info will be available to read from the OBD if ScanGauge is connected?

-Absar
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 14:51   #22
BHPian
 
VC12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 297
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi Absar,

Di you tried fitting this accessories and could any one tell me in details the features and advantages and another other glitches foreseen?
VC12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 17:59   #23
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

^ Hi VC12. I haven't tried it yet! I'm yet to get one ScanGauge II for me.

-Absar
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 23:04   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetanhanda View Post
after 96 all vehicles In US had to be mandatorily obd2 compliant, so any vehicle similar to these after 96 is very likely to be Obd2 compliant.
Its safe to say after 96 all vehicles in US were Obd2 compliant.

plz dont bring OHC into this, lets talk Ford
I was giving an example.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetanhanda View Post
who said Ikon was sold in US ? the US models of Ford after 96 were compliant.

so if I say Im "guessing" that these version can be compatible with US model. Do you think US ECU's are different from Mexican ECU's
First you ask "who said Ikon was sold in US?" Then you ask if the "US ECU's (sic) are different from Mexican ECU's (sic)". Make up your mind. Either they have the Ikon in the US, or they don't. They don't just sell ECUs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetanhanda View Post
and how does that apply to Ford Ikon ?
we are just trying to make intelligent guesses ?
can you explain in context of this thread why would you mention 80's obd ?
Like I said, it was an example.

Last edited by Rtech : 30th April 2007 at 23:26. Reason: Take it to PM's. Personal attacks are best if kept personal.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote Received Infraction
Old 2nd May 2007, 11:00   #25
BHPian
 
VC12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 297
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi all

Lets not bother about of the US or Mexican versions of Ikon, i wanted to know will/how the stuff works for IKON's in India....

Pretty straight!!!
VC12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2007, 21:01   #26
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Calling all SG users! Are you all having a good time with your SG units? I mean the is the Distance Left on the tank accurate et all? Because I heard that once you get SG and use it for the first time, you have to calibrate it for variations..and it takes a few tankfulls to get a good calibration. Is it that difficult, and eventually does it give accurate or near-accurate readings?

A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 16:44   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Hey everyone! I eventually got SGII..

I tried it on the Ikon, and it works like a breeze! Only one feature isn't available and that is the FPR or Fuel-Pressure. However, in the User Guide it did mention that "Very few vehicles report this."

In the Gauge Screen I have selected these 4 to be shown:
Top L: RPM (Revolutions/Minute)
Top R: TPS (Throttle-Position-Setting)
Bottom L: LHK (Litres/100Km)
Bottom R: MAP (Manifold-Absolute-Pressure)

I used the SG on the way from my home to my workplace which is very nearby with lots of stop and go, and it recorded in the 'trip', an 8.2 LHK which calculates to 12.19 km/l. I know this won't be the exact FE but close to it.

The instant FE is very sensitive to throttle & load changes.

However I love this little gadget.

I shall post up pics later.

cya
A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 20:32   #28
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Hello, Here are the pictures!





The Today's trip Litres/100km figure while idle at a signal.


cya
A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 22:35   #29
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

pretty cool... congrats....have you placed it on the ashtray just to take picture or that where its gonna sit all the time..
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2007, 11:46   #30
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Well for now its placed on the ashtray. Its a very convenient location. Easy to press buttons and easy to read too. Actually it blocks the odometer and tripmeter on the instrument cluster and its a hassle to put hands through the steering wheel and press buttons if its fixed on the instrument cluster.

Also I find the sticker not sticking properly to the vinyl.

Cya
A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre pressure gauge and portable inflator pump / foot pump adityapd Modifications & Accessories 698 29th November 2017 16:38
Engine Scan! manishk83 Technical Stuff 2 28th August 2010 23:22
Pio 5050 FM Auto scan problem phamilyman In-Car Entertainment 14 20th July 2009 23:30
Mercedes-Benz SPLITVIEW Screen & PRE-SCAN Technology hanmust The International Automotive Scene 8 17th December 2008 23:35
Fuel Gauge Problem - Contessa & Esteem falcon Technical Stuff 14 12th October 2008 10:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks