Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th January 2009, 13:18   #61
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Noida
Posts: 6
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Scangauge Compatibility and availability

Firstoff, I wish the Gurus a happy and prosperous new year 2009!!!

Q1: Is Scangauge-II available in India? In Delhi? Where? What price?

Q2: I have New Honda City EXi (IDSI) 2004 model.
Does this model support OBD-II (and hence Scangauge-II)?

Background: My last tank was 18 kmpl. Any further improvement would require changes in driving style, and instantaneous consumption feedback, which is available through tools like Scangauge. Heard very good opinions about Scangauge on fora like cleanmpg and ecomodder.

I have asked Service Engineers at the regular dealership, and only response from the engineer was to stare back with a gaping open mouth. Then further prodding (asking honda helpline etc) got references to Honda Interface Module and Honda Diagnostic System. But no confirmation about OBD-II which would have solved the issue straightaway.

Would have bought the gauge anyways, but want to confirm in advance because wifey has a very low tolerance for expensive junk.

Thanks in advance,
Hummingbird
hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 16:24   #62
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Hummingbird welcome to the forum.

First you have posted the thread in wrong section. Second you are getting 18 from your Honda . Why do you want to further improve the F.E. ?
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 17:28   #63
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Noida
Posts: 6
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
First you have posted the thread in wrong section.
:P newbie mistake! Can you point to the right forum/section please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Why do you want to further improve the F.E. ?
I am a hypermiler (at least I think so ) I want to further improve FE to be able to do 800 km on a tank - a 2009 resolution I have for myself.

I have seen people on other fora (cleanmpg, ecomodder etc.) getting insane FE from their cars - One guy did 103 mpg - and they are believable, from the discussion and persuits that they have.

I wanted to emulate them (and save some bucks on petrol in the bargain).

Any word on the scangauge-II part?

Cheers,
Hummingbird
hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 16:07   #64
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Surprising! This is the second time I am hearing about the ScanGauge from someone in the last couple of days.

Anyways - I have a Scangauge II installed on my Aveo U-VA. AFAIK, at least worldwide, all cars manufactured post 1996 are required to have an OBD port. The Scangauge II tries to automatically determine the protocol variant and connect. But sometime you might need to force a comm protocol. Japanese cars seem to have a flaky acceptance of the OBD II protocol. I have tried my unit on a Zen Estilo (a 6 month old model) and it refused to connect. I am going to try my unit on a friend's Getz (a favor for a friend who PM'd me). I'll see if I can get access to a Honda City (your model) and check - the chances are a bit remote though!

Here is what you can possibly do - get very friendly with the technicians who work at your dealers shop. Check their OBD scanner specs. Then you would know for sure. You can also try sending a mail to the support email address on the ScanGauge II website detailing your query. They are very good at responding and they did reply to my question with a definitive 90% sure answer - the last 10% was a risk I took :-)
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 19:57   #65
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Noida
Posts: 6
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Local vendor for Scangauge in Delhi/NCR

Hi Folks,

please help me find a local vendor for scangauge in Delhi/NCR

I can't believe no one in TBHP has the means to help me in this respect.

C'mon guys, lend me a helping hand...

Rgds,
Hummingbird
hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 09:37   #66
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Hummingbird - I don't think there is a local vendor for Scangauge in India - at least I could not find one. I ordered mine online and was shipped to me within 4 days ($169.95 including shipping to India).
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 15:01   #67
BHPian
 
BenjiRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tamilnadu
Posts: 592
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

maassk - do you have pics of your scangauge? How did you fix it on your U-VA?
BenjiRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 17:06   #68
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Fixing the ScanGauge II on the U-VA

The OBD II connector is just under the steering column, towards the center console. I plugged in the connector and ran the cable under the dash to come out from the small opening between the dash and the steering cover. The cable comes out just in front of the odometer console. I used the sticky velcro to stick the device on the plastic cover behind the steering wheel and plugged it in. The long length cable was tied with a tie-wrap to some other cables under the dash so that it does not fall out.

The mounting is very effective - does not obstruct the odo and other gauges and visible at all times without me having to look away from the road while driving.
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 23:06   #69
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 388
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

Is Scan GaugeII compatible with Fiat Palio?
gaddiwale is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2009, 16:16   #70
knp
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 219
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Does this works for my 2002 Santro ZipPlus? Really appreciate if any of the SG2 owner confirms this.
knp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2009, 20:07   #71
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Scanguage II is working in my 2007 City CVT.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...ml#post1354400 (My new CVT - ownership experience)
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 20:02   #72
knp
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 219
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Friends, Is this ScanGaugeII works for hyundai i10 (kappa 2009 model)?
I am looking for this SG2 and would really appreciate if someone can confirm so that I can go-ahead and place the order?
knp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 13:31   #73
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by knp View Post
Friends, Is this ScanGaugeII works for hyundai i10 (kappa 2009 model)?
I am looking for this SG2 and would really appreciate if someone can confirm so that I can go-ahead and place the order?
Take a look at the following message:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...ml#post1354403 (My new CVT - ownership experience)

It does mention Santro (you did aska about Santro too!).
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 15:17   #74
knp
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 219
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Thansk trrk. I will go through that thread.
knp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2009, 12:59   #75
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default SG and i10

I have checked with my cousins i10 kappa and it worked. The problem with me is that I have a swift ddis and SG shows "Connecting" which means its not compatible. I have also checked it on santro xing and did not work but worked on accent GLS, confusing to say the least
Cheers
Dilip




quote=knp;1398385]Friends, Is this ScanGaugeII works for hyundai i10 (kappa 2009 model)?
I am looking for this SG2 and would really appreciate if someone can confirm so that I can go-ahead and place the order?[/quote]
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre pressure gauge and portable inflator pump / foot pump adityapd Modifications & Accessories 698 29th November 2017 16:38
Engine Scan! manishk83 Technical Stuff 2 28th August 2010 23:22
Pio 5050 FM Auto scan problem phamilyman In-Car Entertainment 14 20th July 2009 23:30
Mercedes-Benz SPLITVIEW Screen & PRE-SCAN Technology hanmust The International Automotive Scene 8 17th December 2008 23:35
Fuel Gauge Problem - Contessa & Esteem falcon Technical Stuff 14 12th October 2008 10:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks