Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th June 2010, 00:40   #106
CCP
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 20
Thanked: Once
Default

You can determine which protocol is implemented by looking at the vehicle’s OBD-II connector. All vehicles have pins 4, 5, and 16. Pin 4 is the vehicle’s chassis ground, pin 5 is the signal ground, and pin 16 is positive from the battery. In addition to pins 4, 5, and 16, the connector will have one or more pins. You can use the pin positions to determine which protocol is used on the vehicle.

PWM - Must have the following pins: 4, 5, 16, 2, 10
VPW- Must have the following pins: 4, 5, 16, 2 (Note: Not pin 10)
ISO- Must have the following pins: 4, 5, 16, 7 (Note: Pin 15 is optional)

General thumb rule

PWM- FORD
VPW- G.M
ISO- European cars

Regards
CCP
CCP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 16:54   #107
BHPian
 
rohitgaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 149
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Well I have put Mine for sale, in the classifieds Section

My Tucson's shiny inside is riddled with wires galore, Lucky that I have 3 Power Outlets but still everthing has so many wired loops that I m gonna get rid of them or get into some serious trouble one day
The List is
Radar Detector
Plasma Globe
Inverter
Charger for Bluetooth Kit
USB Stick Input cable to HU
Phone Charger Cable
Fridge in the Boot

I have to start cleaning it off ASAP and Before Installation the Scangauge falls victim and I am selling it at a loss of 2K :((

Last edited by rohitgaur : 21st June 2010 at 16:56.
rohitgaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 17:51   #108
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

@Rohit - Any idea if it will be compatible with Corolla ?? (Pre-altis)
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 19:49   #109
BHPian
 
rohitgaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 149
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

@Ashish, to be truthful, I am not sure, Have you ever got thr car hooked to the scanner at the workshop/A.S.S point. you can check the connector if it is an OBD II port.
rohitgaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2010, 12:48   #110
BHPian
 
anoop.mathew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 85
Thanked: 26 Times
Default Compatibility with new Swift K12 engine?

Does anyone know if the new Swift with the K12 engine is compatible with Scanguage (I know that the old Swift is not)?

The Ritz is compatible, hence the new Swift MAY be compatible! That would be really nice - good driver's car, decent mileage and ability to hypermile when necessary (assuming Scanguage works).
anoop.mathew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 21:38   #111
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 455
Thanked: 101 Times
Default

Is Scangauge II compatible with OHC Vtec? Anyone who has used this with OHC Vtec?
saurabhkum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2011, 21:43   #112
BHPian
 
anoop.mathew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 85
Thanked: 26 Times
Default Re: Compatibility with new Swift K12 engine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anoop.mathew View Post
Does anyone know if the new Swift with the K12 engine is compatible with Scanguage (I know that the old Swift is not)?
Just answering my own question. As per Kiran Kumar Reddy who posted at Scangauge's Facebook page, the Maruti Suzuki Swift Kseries petrol version is compatible with Scangauge.
anoop.mathew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2011, 12:29   #113
BHPian
 
xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: Scan Gauge

I just ordered one from eBay through my friend who is visiting US. It costed $159. Planning to fit in the Santro. He will be back next month. I will update this thread with results after I fit it.
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 16:42   #114
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bru
Posts: 71
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Compatibility with new Swift K12 engine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anoop.mathew View Post
Just answering my own question. As per Kiran Kumar Reddy who posted at Scangauge's Facebook page, the Maruti Suzuki Swift Kseries petrol version is compatible with Scangauge.
Yes, we have tested and using it .. it worked on Maruti K series petrol version & i20 Asta petrol.
gogo_gogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 16:46   #115
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bru
Posts: 71
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Scan Gauge

New ver 3.17 is showing .. The ScanGaugeII can display Kilometers Per Liter (KPL).

Last edited by gogo_gogo : 1st May 2011 at 16:51.
gogo_gogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2011, 21:01   #116
BHPian
 
xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: Scan Gauge

My ScanguageII arrived yesterday morning from US. Since it was brought by a friend, did not suffer any customs issues and $159 (Rs 7200) is all I had to pay for it.

But apparently I did not research enough before ordering it and I learned the hard way that it is not compatible with the Santro.

The website mentions "Works with all cars and trucks manufactured after 1996" whereas what they should have been telling is that it works with all cars and trucks manufactured in the United States after 1996.

I checked it on my roommate's Accent Viva 1.6. It connected in a jiffy and works like a breeze which is logical since I do remember seeing some Vivas in the US.
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2011, 09:11   #117
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bru
Posts: 71
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Do NOT MARKET or attempt to SELL any GOODS on this forum. READ OUR RULES. Any further attempts to market will have your account PERMANENTLY banned.

Last edited by GTO : 10th June 2011 at 12:21.
gogo_gogo is offline   Reply With Quote Received Infraction
Old 23rd May 2011, 16:13   #118
BHPian
 
e-katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 134
Thanked: 19 Times
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Is it possible to fit ScanGauge for the Polo? Has anybody done this before? If so, please share details.
e-katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 11:55   #119
BHPian
 
anoop.mathew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 85
Thanked: 26 Times
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by xander View Post
My ScanguageII arrived yesterday morning from US. Since it was brought by a friend, did not suffer any customs issues and $159 (Rs 7200) is all I had to pay for it.

But apparently I did not research enough before ordering it and I learned the hard way that it is not compatible with the Santro.
Any plans to sell the device? I am interested in buying the same, if you are. Sorry for the forum post, but I am not yet eligible for PM, under the new policy.
anoop.mathew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2011, 10:35   #120
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bru
Posts: 71
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Scan Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by anoop.mathew View Post
Any plans to sell the device? I am interested in buying the same, if you are. Sorry for the forum post, but I am not yet eligible for PM, under the new policy.

@anoop:- Did Xander contact you to sell the device. Which car you have ? i am also selling . What is your location in India.
gogo_gogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre pressure gauge and portable inflator pump / foot pump adityapd Modifications & Accessories 698 29th November 2017 16:38
Engine Scan! manishk83 Technical Stuff 2 28th August 2010 23:22
Pio 5050 FM Auto scan problem phamilyman In-Car Entertainment 14 20th July 2009 23:30
Mercedes-Benz SPLITVIEW Screen & PRE-SCAN Technology hanmust The International Automotive Scene 8 17th December 2008 23:35
Fuel Gauge Problem - Contessa & Esteem falcon Technical Stuff 14 12th October 2008 10:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:38.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks