Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th April 2006, 23:53   #1
BHPian
 
Kaizer Sozay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 333
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Scan Gauge

I just came across this device called Scan gauge, The price posted on the site is around 125$. = approx 6 grand
From the features mentioned it seems to be a great device. Does anyone know if this is available in bombay. Or can i get my hands on something similar.

http://www.scangauge.com/
Kaizer Sozay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 10:41   #2
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 529
Thanked: 12 Times
Talking

i just checked the website it says SOLDOUT...
next avelable in May 2006
zulfikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 23:45   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 388 Times
Default Scangauge

Guys ,

check this Scangauge linky. comments ?? Is this possible on the Ford Ikon or for that matter any Indian car ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 04:51   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

First off, I don't know if the Ikon is OBD 1 or 2. Second, what use is this? You could buy a Apexi SAFC, and get control over your fuelling and ignition maps. And it will show you these real-time parameters as well. Of course, the price difference may be considerable, and it's not something I am aware of.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 06:07   #5
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
You could buy a Apexi SAFC, and get control over your fuelling and ignition maps. And it will show you these real-time parameters as well.
Hey v1p3r Apexi SAFC does not control/modify Ignition maps, you are wrong if you say it can control ignition maps, its just a piggyback air fuel controller... its not a complete EMS.
It only piggybacks on the existing ECU and modifies the fuel curve for predefined rpm points.
It just alters the MAP signal at certain points to fool the ECU in providing more fuel thinking MAP is indicating more air, you just define at what rpm points you want to alter fuel whenever the ECU is in closed loop, some ECUs wont bother with these points at WOT or cold conditions...
the AFC in the Apexi SAFC stands for Air Fuel Controller.

1] and if he has not modded his engine cams,etc, etc etc why would he want to alter his fuelling points ?
2] and also the wiring of any piggyback AFC is more complex as compared to a read only scan tool which simply plugs into the OBD2 port.
3] Using a Air fuel controller is an overkill if you just want a readonly system..

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Guys ,

check this Scangauge linky. comments ?? Is this possible on the Ford Ikon or for that matter any Indian car ?
Hey "normally_crazy" I think the Indian Ikon would be OBd2 compliant becoz after 96 atleast the US models supported OBD2.
I use 2 of these types of scantools and both are Ford compatible, maybe the Indian Ford too will work..
Im guessing that the Ford Ikon is also sold in Mexico so it should definately be OBd2.

Last edited by adya33 : 25th April 2007 at 06:55.
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 12:04   #6
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Hello! Even I'd like to know if the Ford Ikon is OBD-1/2 compliant. Because even i thought of the ScanGauge. Its a lovely gadget. I also think it should have an OBD-1/2 port but, wasnt the engine made in south africa and imported to india? Its not like imported from u.s. So i have my doubts here.. I hope someone finds out the ikon is OBD-1/2 compliant.

-Absar
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 12:16   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,582
Thanked: 823 Times
Default

Look at this. It says it works for Ikon.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...tml#post404443 (OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars)
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 12:34   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Guys ,

check this Scangauge linky. comments ?? Is this possible on the Ford Ikon or for that matter any Indian car ?
One of the forum members have tested an OBD II compliant device on his Baleno.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...tml#post270271 (PC to ECU Interface (OBD compliant cars))
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 13:47   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

this is that perfect thing i was looking out for. can anyone let me know where i can get the scangauge or an alternate to this.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 15:56   #10
BHPian
 
babhishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KOLKATA
Posts: 315
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Hey GIGY,
I have a few for sale.
However it costs much more than $125.
I bought them for much more when I was in Canada last December.
PM me.
Cheers,
AB.

PS. Just checked the site, if there has been a price drop.
It still shows USD 169.95.
Where did YOU SEE a price of USD 125??

Last edited by babhishek : 25th April 2007 at 15:58.
babhishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 17:05   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Wowee!!! I am overjoyed to see this! I'm going to get one of these gadgets, i.e. ScanGauge.. Wait, does the Ikon support both ScanGauge and ScanGauge 2? Or only ScanGauge 2? How about telling where is the OBD port located on the Ikon?

-Absar

Last edited by Absar : 25th April 2007 at 17:15.
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 18:42   #12
BHPian
 
rishibravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 579
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Is there an OBD port in a Palio???
rishibravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 19:17   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Hey it may be true that Ikon has OBD because on the user manual of the Ikon, it says one fuse is for Interior light, OBD & Radio Memory.

-Absar
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 19:22   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

The downside of scangauge is that the tripmeter/speedo readings is in MPG/MPH :(... I prefer the metric system.. dont have the patience to do all the conversions !!
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 19:26   #15
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Perhaps there's a setting in ScanGauge to show KPL/KMH.. MPG/MPH also no problem for me

-Absar
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre pressure gauge and portable inflator pump / foot pump adityapd Modifications & Accessories 698 29th November 2017 16:38
Engine Scan! manishk83 Technical Stuff 2 28th August 2010 23:22
Pio 5050 FM Auto scan problem phamilyman In-Car Entertainment 14 20th July 2009 23:30
Mercedes-Benz SPLITVIEW Screen & PRE-SCAN Technology hanmust The International Automotive Scene 8 17th December 2008 23:35
Fuel Gauge Problem - Contessa & Esteem falcon Technical Stuff 14 12th October 2008 10:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks