Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th April 2006, 22:40   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
navpreet318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dehradun
Posts: 1,718
Thanked: 826 Times
Default

lolz people....you're still out of league....my santro does a 0-100 in 3.2 seconds flat......lolzzz....ya and i just changed my oil to castrol magnatec..thats all.....another thing....its got a top speed of 224......lolzzzz.....

sorry for going off the thread....

well all i could suggest is that you first go for a free flow....and then slowly keep upping your game....like turbo and stuff.....i really liked the turbo thread by manson.....really informative
navpreet318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2006, 01:03   #17
Team-BHP Support
 
manson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,547
Thanked: 2,034 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo dragster
N Its Manifold Not Maniold ..lol
i'm certain you have never heard of a typo error, anyways i think the focus should have been on sharing information about the manifold which you have refrained from doing.
would be great if you could throw some light on the same.

manson.

Last edited by manson : 1st May 2006 at 01:04.
manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 11:44   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 10
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hey navpreet318...(3.2)sec is just amazing dude.i almost slipped of my chair when i read that..awesome
hey can u throw some more light on what did u exactly do.can this be done on any car n does it affect the engine in the long run.
also can u specify what kind of timin instrument did u use?.
sorry for goin of topic but couldnt resist man..
getting back to the main topic well i think you can go in for some engine management systems (ems) dude.
thanks
Angel Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 12:33   #19
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,054
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Dude I think Navpreet was joking about his Santro because of all the outlandish claims being made about Lancers with manifolds doing 7.5 sec timings.
Boom Shiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 23:11   #20
BHPian
 
buzzin_hornets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 233
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

if its a vtec.. get a vtec controller.. which enables ur vtec to kick in at a lower or higher rpm..accrodin to what u set it.. if its not a vtec get a trubo..if that doesnt satisfy your need for speed, get an engine transplant..

~cheers
-Ash
buzzin_hornets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 00:24   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
The Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,116
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Manifold manifold what manifold???? Intake manifold??? 7.5secs lancer with intake just manifold??? Its not performance, its a HOLY miracle!!!

Mitsubishi Motors: "We would like to buy that manifold and the maker too if he/she/it is for sale....Our starting quote is 100million.

Also, turbo Dragster, would you be kind enough to let us all know of where do you manage to get such authentic, firsthand and genuine information from???

Honda_dude: To start with, your claims of doing 100-120kmph on first gear cant be true if your electronics are not tampered with!!!

Secondly, get yourself a well calculated header(customise your power band) and freeflow. Then try performance ECU's...then go on maximising air-fuel mixture by adding on mods that supply more air, mate that with bigger injectors and to burn that some good ignition units like MSD blaster etc...

Last edited by The Wolf : 11th May 2006 at 00:29.
The Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 02:07   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

how much did u pay for hks irridiums
racingismylife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 09:57   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
How about a new speedo, for starters?!
Thats exactly what i was thinking. Let alone 120, the 1.5 shudn't even be hitting 100kmph in 2nd. Heck, my Vtec cuts off at 98kmph@7100rpm.

If you're doing this without having your revv limiter removed, then you've got serious speedo error mate.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 12:41   #24
BHPian
 
buzzin_hornets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 233
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Seriously, your next mod should be a new speedo

~cheers
-Ash
buzzin_hornets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 13:01   #25
BHPian
 
diven_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

try vipers tri phase.i put it in my car...pretty good
diven_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 23:26   #26
BHPian
 
honda_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Christchurch
Posts: 244
Thanked: 15 Times
Default hey all

i didna say i havent tampered with the electricals
i have done direct porting to it
i have also got the heads recently polished
i also use petrol with high performance additives. i use honda accord oil in my car
the showroom guy said its different from city oil

and mainly i get so much power coz my k&n has a directr connection to the engine i.e i have put a original k&n pipe along with the filter

and i get my K&n cleaned every 2-3 months

if u guys dont believe me, its on u mates
i know i can make any stock vtec taste dust

once i had dragged with a rider and trust me guys he tried his heart out to beat my car ( remember guys i m not talking about the RS)

so anyone in Mumbai doesnt believe me can contact me anytime and have a look for them selves
honda_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 23:40   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
The Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,116
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Your first post said this ""under the hood i have a large k&n filter, hks iridiums and hurricane performance cables.""
And now you come up and give us a fair bit of truth about the ecu mods, porting etc...

We wouldve believed you if you had mentioned all this right in the beginning...simple....rather you wanted to create a little surprise I guess...And instead of you surprising us, we surprised you with our reactions
The Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 00:10   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Good to know you've gone all the way to modify your car. V have nothing against your car. Infact, it felt good to read about your Vtec's performance but, 120 in 2nd is a lil hard to come by.

A vehicles gearing never changes with increase in power or torque. It doesn't matter if you've got 106bhp or 1060bhp, a stock gearbox will never let you hit 120 in 2nd (on the speedo) unless........your engine revvs to around 8400rpm.

Next time you hit 120 in 2nd, just check the engine rpm at that point.

We're not trying to mock you, v just want you to understand that speedo readings aren't always accurate. 7.5 secs in a Lancer, 6 secs in an Esteem....get my point?

No offence to any off you guys. Just wanted to clear this up, once and for all.

PS: Just noticed your sign which says "130 in 2nd gear". Is that on the Vtec or some other car?

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 12th May 2006 at 00:12.
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 03:13   #29
BHPian
 
Fuelled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: delhi
Posts: 252
Thanked: Once
Default

Cud be that his tyres are smaller than the OD. Thats why even though the RPM shown is fine, but speedo readings are on the higher size due to smaller diameter
Fuelled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 08:18   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
Cud be that his tyres are smaller than the OD. Thats why even though the RPM shown is fine, but speedo readings are on the higher size due to smaller diameter
The cars speedo is caliberated to the tacho. If the speedo is supposed to show 98kmph@7100 in 2nd gear, it will do so, no matter what you do.

Using a smaller tyre will only increase the pace at which the speedo and tacho move but it won't affect the speedo to tacho calculations.

Unless his car revvs to 8400rpm (which i seriously doubt), he's got speedo error.

Try this formula, it'l change the way you judge your car's performance.

engine rpm / gear ratio / final drive ratio * tyre circumference in inches * 2.54 / 100000 * 60 = speed in kmph

7100 / 1.909 / 4.058 * 72.8 * 2.54 / 100000 * 60 = 101.68 (but true speed would be a lil lower (by 2%) bcoz your tyre is never a perfect circle).

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ohc 1.5 Vs Ohc Vtec narayan Technical Stuff 137 24th January 2015 12:15
Wanted: OHC VTEC or OHC 1.5 adit1329 Shifting gears 5 22nd June 2012 17:00
Looking for OHC in mint condition 16v100bhp Shifting gears 3 28th May 2007 19:37
Looking for a OHC mithun.pentuker Sedans 13 21st March 2007 22:20
Looking to buy used OHC luvjascha Shifting gears 0 28th September 2006 04:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:30.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks