Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st August 2010, 23:28   #106
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 689
Thanked: 319 Times
Post Aquatak

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhipuru16 View Post
Was this episode normal?
You have to remove air trapped inside the water lines first.
I own the same and before starting the motor waste a few liters of water through the gun without switching on the motor.

It is normal for the motor to run a few seconds after switching it on (it pressurizes and gets itself ready).
If you find the motor running for a long time without water it will get burnt!
Once my motor got burnt-out and I had to pay a hefty Rs.2,500 to set it right .

You can clean the input water line filter after every wash. It is a small plastic funnel with perforations.
manim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2010, 23:53   #107
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manim View Post
Once my motor got burnt-out and I had to pay a hefty Rs.2,500 to set it right .
How/why did this happen?

Also, is there a way we could snow foam our cars using the detergent bottle supplied.
If not, how much Amway Car Wash should I put in it. The Car Wash bottle says- 1/4 Cap for every 4 litres of water.

Everytime I use the pressure washer, will it strip off the wax layer?
How can I prevent it?

Last edited by abhipuru16 : 1st September 2010 at 00:11.
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 10:56   #108
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 6,645
Thanked: 3,060 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (4)
Default

I have a 19 year old Karcher. What I always do is to connect and open the water input before powering up the unit. This way the line is primed.

If you use any washer with shampoo/soap the wax layer will come off.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 11:39   #109
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 924
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Abhinav, you need to prime the unit before switching it on. You can do this by letting the water flow through the gun for a few minutes before powering it on. About the car shampoo, just use a few ml and notice the result. Depending on how much foam it generates, you can increase or decrease the quantity for the next wash. I am glad with your description of the alloy wheel after the wash. Thanks to you for the grey price.

For the wax layer, try reducing the pressure and it should solve the problem to an extent.

Last edited by SumitB : 1st September 2010 at 11:48.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 11:54   #110
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 689
Thanked: 319 Times
Post Bosch Aquatak

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhipuru16 View Post
How/why did this happen?
I am not 100% sure, but motor was running without water for a few minutes, suddenly it stopped with a burning smell. I had the unit sent to Bosch at Trichy.
The bill was Rs.2,500 (with a new six month warranty). Now whenever I use it I make sure that there is no air in the water line.

I shampoo once in a while with these steps:
1) Regular gun to blow off the major dirt particles.
2) Car-shampoo with the sprayer-gun.
3) Wipe the car thoroughly with a cloth.
4) Regular gun again.
5) Wipe the car dry.
Now the car is sparkling!

I never use the pencil-gun since it may damage the car due to its high pressure, I use the gun with the wide-sprayer with angled tip.

After getting used to Aquatak, now cannot live without it!
manim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 12:18   #111
BHPian
 
rk_sans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 917
Thanked: 258 Times
Default

Guys,
Forgot to mention it over here, at last i got the Bosch Aquatek two months ago, i got it at Appx Rs.6100. Its awesome, my car is sparkling after 10 minutes of wash. Important to remember, not to use the machine continuosly for more than 10 mins. Give a gap of 3 to 5 mins and then use. Awesome product !!
As mentioned by others the pencil-gun does damage the car. It peeled of some paint from our old Accent but good for underbody cleaning.
rk_sans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 12:59   #112
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 924
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rk_sans View Post
Guys,
Forgot to mention it over here, at last i got the Bosch Aquatek two months ago, i got it at Appx Rs.6100. Its awesome, my car is sparkling after 10 minutes of wash. Important to remember, not to use the machine continuosly for more than 10 mins. Give a gap of 3 to 5 mins and then use. Awesome product !!
As mentioned by others the pencil-gun does damage the car. It peeled of some paint from our old Accent but good for underbody cleaning.
6100/- is a shocker!! Is this the Aquatak 100 Plus or is it some other model?
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 21:35   #113
BHPian
 
rk_sans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 917
Thanked: 258 Times
Default

Sorry for the delayed response. It is Aquatak 100 Plus.
rk_sans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 22:03   #114
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 924
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rk_sans View Post
Sorry for the delayed response. It is Aquatak 100 Plus.

I am shocked! I and Abhinav paid 7400/- for this very model and that too when we bought 3 pieces together! If this is the case, how much is Bosch getting them for and how much money is a dealer/distributor making on these? There has to be some standard pricing for a product na?

BTW, the list price of this (as printed on the box) is 13,625/-

I am speechless and shocked!
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 22:29   #115
AWD
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Drivers seat
Posts: 805
Thanked: 215 Times
Default

Aquatak 100 Plus retails for ~ 7.8k in Punjab.

Cheaper model is 10 Plus or something, for ~5k.
AWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 22:40   #116
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 924
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWD View Post
Aquatak 100 Plus retails for ~ 7.8k in Punjab.

Cheaper model is 10 Plus or something, for ~5k.
The one in question here is the AQUATAK 100 PLUS.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 22:50   #117
AWD
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Drivers seat
Posts: 805
Thanked: 215 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SumitB View Post
6100/- is a shocker!! Is this the Aquatak 100 Plus or is it some other model?
Cheaper model Aquatak 10 or something similar costs ~5k.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SumitB View Post
The one in question here is the AQUATAK 100 PLUS.
Already mentioned its price, 7.8k
AWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 22:53   #118
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 924
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWD View Post
Cheaper model Aquatak 10 or something similar costs ~5k.



Already mentioned its price, 7.8k
That is exactly what I am talking about. You're getting it for 7800/-. I got it with Abhinav for 7400/- (bulk purchase of 3 units) and rk_sans got it for 6100/-. This is not some cheap Chinese product! Despite this being Bosch, how can there be such a huge difference in the pricing for the same product?
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 23:09   #119
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

My god!
Even I am suprised!
Hey! If you have your unit's box with you, kindly let us know the date of manufacture.
Where did you buy it for so less? With bill and warranty?
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 23:45   #120
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,000
Thanked: 5,065 Times
Default

You guys are shocked!

Check out how much you'd pay for this in uk. Then check out the warranty period.

You won't be shocked: you'll be sick.

They might be able to blame some of the pricing on import duties, but there is no excuse for not giving decent warranty cover.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rear Wiper & Washer ? Why only on hatch backs and NOT on sedans? Kinetik Technical Stuff 64 22nd November 2016 13:25
VW Polo DIY: Windshield washer low-level sensor & dash warning Gannu_1 DIY - Do it yourself 27 27th August 2016 08:53
Convert Air compressor to a Pressure water washer? rajivanoj Technical Stuff 5 3rd February 2014 00:45
The 'Actual' Tyre Pressure : Is Atmospheric Pressure Counted? sr_1445 Technical Stuff 2 16th January 2014 11:05
High pressure car washer using air compressor recshenoy Modifications & Accessories 2 1st October 2009 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:17.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks