Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th April 2010, 10:18   #16
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,161
Thanked: 3,756 Times
Default

The new 2009 Civic in the US/European trim is 140 bhp while in India it is 130bhp. This was probably done to cope with the 88RON petrol (E-II, now to be done away with only by October). With EIII/EIV now in, both with 91 RON for regular (95RON Premium, when it shows up!), I feel the level f tune can be upped to 140 horses. I beleive it is an ECU remap to global specs.

Is it available in India, if so where, and the approximate cost!
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 11:10   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Aren't the BS4 norms still only for metropolitian cities? I doubt they're going to do remaps when the quality of the fuel available here still depends on which pump you fill up from.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 11:23   #18
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,161
Thanked: 3,756 Times
Default

@pranavt: BSIV is for 13 cities including the metros (in UP we have Agra, Kanpur and Lucknow). Rest of India is BS-III (or rather will be by 1 October). Normal petrol is 91RON in both BSIII and BSIV with premium (if and when it comes0 at 95RON. Hence a remap should be possible. Even now in BSII cities you can use Premium which is 93RON.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 22:51   #19
BHPian
 
Ford Rocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai-India
Posts: 880
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Flashpro from Hondata for R18 Civic is due out any time in the month of April.

Once its available from Hondata we can do a remap here itself.
Name:  flashpro_with_obd2_cable_1_1.jpg
Views: 4791
Size:  34.3 KB

@Rush Wait till Hondata launches it, this should be a good option for your Civic, the programming part can be taken care by me.

Last edited by Ford Rocam : 7th April 2010 at 22:53.
Ford Rocam is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2010, 17:21   #20
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,735
Thanked: 89,304 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford Rocam View Post
@Rush Wait till Hondata launches it, this should be a good option for your Civic, the programming part can be taken care by me.
You know, the minute I saw you as the last poster on this thread, I just knew you'd have something for my Civic .

Definitely sounds like a plan. Is it fully customisable? Can we download ready maps & guidelines from sources too? I'm primarily looking at focussing on the low end of the rpm range. Top end is excellent already!
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2010, 22:16   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 139 Times
Default

You can share maps. The device will be locked to your car. The R18 FlashPro won't get MAP based tuning for easy tuning for boost, but it should be identical to the K20 FlashPro you see on Hondata's website. See the videos for an idea about what the device can do.
ImmortalZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2010, 16:16   #22
BHPian
 
captainsokhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jalandhar, PUNJAB
Posts: 171
Thanked: Once
Default

Any update on the Hondata for R18? Is it out?
captainsokhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 09:55   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 139 Times
Default

No, not yet. The April release date is for the US R18 Civic (FA1/FG1). We'll have to wait a bit for the one for the FD1, which is our JDM Civic.
ImmortalZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 19:17   #24
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Any update on the R18 Flashpro for JDM Civic. I guess the US R18 is already released.
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 14:34   #25
BHPian
 
ashok_lat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 300
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Check with KIIRUS. They tune all Cars(Petrol and Diesel). I have been searching for my FIAT Punto and they quoted for 22K. Find there mail reply to me.

Kiirus In | ECU Remap, Car Remapping, Chip Tuning, Fuel Economy Tuning

Contact person
Abhishek Mukherjee
95940 60920

Quote:

Hello Ashok,

Thanks for your inquiry. Below is an email sent to Autocar from one our petrol 1.4 linea customers who’s car was tuned after the first article published in the autocar during July on Kiirus. Answers most of your questions.

Regarding tuning your car in Chennai : We tune car personally and each time we write a file, it’s a new one. This is not a dealer or fixed product that is installed. We will plan this out in the next trip soon. For now, we travel east in Kolkata and Delhi up north. If you wish you can also send us the ECU. We remap and send it back same day. Trust me results are 100% and you will not regret. We guarantee ECU safety during programming. Please ship your ECU using safe and reliable courier only.

Last edited by ashok_lat : 22nd October 2010 at 14:35.
ashok_lat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2011, 22:38   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default Re: Honda Civic Remap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford Rocam View Post
Flashpro from Hondata for R18 Civic is due out any time in the month of April.

Once its available from Hondata we can do a remap here itself.
Attachment 324681

@Rush Wait till Hondata launches it, this should be a good option for your Civic, the programming part can be taken care by me.

Finally some hope for R18A
Can you please explain how does this work?
This looks more like an OBD scanner...
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2011, 02:03   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default Re: Honda Civic Remap

No update yet, sadly. There are 2 options from Hondata for the new Civic ECUs. With one, you can have the ECU remapped by Hondata, the second option involves buying a FlashPro which is registered to one owner and can be used to remap the ECU by anyone who desires. The FlashPro for the JDM Civics hasn't been released yet AFAIK, and not sure if Hondata are/can remap the ECUs themselves yet.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2011, 20:57   #28
dot
Senior - BHPian
 
dot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ban Chang
Posts: 1,681
Thanked: 714 Times
Default Re: Honda Civic Remap

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
Finally some hope for R18A
Can you please explain how does this work?
This looks more like an OBD scanner...
Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
No update yet, sadly. There are 2 options from Hondata for the new Civic ECUs. With one, you can have the ECU remapped by Hondata, the second option involves buying a FlashPro which is registered to one owner and can be used to remap the ECU by anyone who desires. The FlashPro for the JDM Civics hasn't been released yet AFAIK, and not sure if Hondata are/can remap the ECUs themselves yet.
I stumbled across a Hondata webpage where they specify the power and torque gains after a Flashpro enabled remap on the R18 stock. IMHO, the gains are pretty insignificant. Similar gains can be obtained by a CAI and FFE. Now along with CAI and FFE the gains can be somewhat better. Maybe a total 10% increase. Which means spending about 700$ for Flashpro, another 40 odd thousand Rs for CAI and FFE to get about 10-12 hp gains. Is it worth it?

Honda Civic Remap-civ1.jpg

Honda Civic Remap-civ2.jpg
dot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2011, 21:23   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default Re: Honda Civic Remap

You cannot change headers on an R18 head. And the FlashPro is mainly used when you are installing a turbo or full-blown NA mods. Installing it otherwise is not really useful unless you are doing it for some additional features like launch control, etc.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2011, 21:53   #30
dot
Senior - BHPian
 
dot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ban Chang
Posts: 1,681
Thanked: 714 Times
Default Re: Honda Civic Remap

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
You cannot change headers on an R18 head. And the FlashPro is mainly used when you are installing a turbo or full-blown NA mods. Installing it otherwise is not really useful unless you are doing it for some additional features like launch control, etc.
Thats what I thought. Maybe folks with the manual may get some benefit of enhanced low end torque which might increase driveability. For folks with AT (like me), there will be hardly be any benefit.

Edit: from the dyno plot, it looks like the enhancement of low end torque is also pretty insignificant. So really, no one benefits.

Last edited by dot : 14th June 2011 at 21:56.
dot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand new ANHC or used Civic to keep for 10 years. Edit: Got a 2007 Honda Civic sumeethaldankar Sedans 117 29th May 2013 10:31
Honda City Vs Honda Civic E Vs Honda Civic V (pre-owned) drkunaldas Sedans 4 31st October 2010 18:07
Lateral Movement - Skoda Octavia to Honda Civic? EDIT : Bought Civic! Jay5150 Sedans 44 19th August 2009 06:07
Honda Accord V6 ECU remap.?? accord masters Modifications & Accessories 43 17th August 2009 21:12
Arya Honda v. Apex Honda | Honda Manual v. Auto Civic Axe77 Indian Car Dealerships 12 21st July 2009 07:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks