Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th August 2006, 00:15   #1
BHPian
 
harsh87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 169
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

bought a new type-r tacho for my santro xing from malysia

unable to install it
on connecting it to the ignition coils it is showing half the rpm because santro has two coils thus the pulses get divided

anybody installed a tacho on a santro please help
harsh87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2006, 12:23   #2
BHPian
 
rareone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 256
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

I have seen tacho meter installed in a Santro running perfectly...

I had also inquired about Auto Meter Tacho for my Santro and the installer was quite confident of installing it...

May b viper would right one to solve your query...
rareone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2006, 21:03   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 147
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

I am also planning to put Tacho in my santro xing but not sure about the accuracy of these after market fittings. Can anyone tell us about the accuracy and how they are retro-fitted to car. because i think if they are inaccurate by let say about +-500RPM then there is no point in fitting them. I have seen one santro fitted with tacho having cool blue backlight.
abhijitvp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 02:09   #4
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

if you are getting a branded tacho and it get it from a reliable dealer,there is no reason why it shouldnt work properly.and good tachos are pretty reliable and accurate.
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 08:26   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

and would this be a simple install and cheap? ( ~5k?). how much for the tacho?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 18:33   #6
BHPian
 
MexXxentric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 248
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

""if you are getting a branded tacho and it get it from a reliable dealer,there is no reason why it shouldnt work properly.and good tachos are pretty reliable and accurate.""

Can you please suggest some names?
i have plans to get it installed in my Gypsy
MexXxentric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2006, 19:14   #7
BHPian
 
harsh87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 169
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

i bought it from malaysia and cant find anyone to install it in delhi anywhere
harsh87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2006, 23:11   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,545
Thanked: 1,598 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harsh87
i bought it from malaysia and cant find anyone to install it in delhi anywhere
Try to get in touch with Autopsyche gurgaon.....

KP
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2006, 23:41   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
unable to install it
on connecting it to the ignition coils it is showing half the rpm because santro has two coils thus the pulses get divided
I've been having the same install issue since i fitted the 5" autoguage tacho in my ikon. Both my tuner and Psycho had a look and they said it cant be done.
Dude, if u find a solution for this,DO lemme know!
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2006, 01:04   #10
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MexXxentric
""
Can you please suggest some names?
i have plans to get it installed in my Gypsy
the most common brands found here in india are autoguage,autometer.if you want a cheap and reliable tacho,you can even look at pricol.try to get in touch with autopsyche,driven.
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2006, 14:10   #11
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Knock knock !! guys any updates ??? i've just got a RPM metre install showing 1/2 the rpm due to double coils!!!

HELP!
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2006, 14:22   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
faithless_1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,517
Thanked: 185 Times
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa
Knock knock !! guys any updates ??? i've just got a RPM metre install showing 1/2 the rpm due to double coils!!!
hey aza from where did you get your meter buddy and for how much?

want to get one for my xing so please let me know.
faithless_1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2006, 14:52   #13
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default





I have this one faithless bhai, but i wont suggest u buy it till i solve the RPM issue. it revs only till 3K
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2006, 05:42   #14
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

@aZa:you didnt get it rectified it as yet...you lazy ***
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2007, 20:58   #15
BHPian
 
aditya.86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

hey guys even i tried fixin an autoguage meter to ma xing...the xing doesn hav the provision 4 fixin of an rpm meter...the output from only 2 of the 4 cylinders can be obtained....even swift has the same prob...if u hav noticed a limited edition of santro has come out which comes wit a tachometer...and its possible in this only bcoz it has a diff ecu....
aditya.86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY tacho for a car, using a bike's tacho ilangop DIY - Do it yourself 64 25th November 2016 14:59
DIY: Tacho Install in Maruti WagonR vishwaschettri DIY - Do it yourself 45 17th November 2013 15:35
Tacho for Santro deepak_ms Modifications & Accessories 50 3rd June 2009 13:01
tacho meter sanket12 Shifting gears 1 9th February 2005 12:12
RaceR Tech tacho blown! steroidauto Modifications & Accessories 7 5th January 2005 13:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks