Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th September 2006, 00:19   #1
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 649
Thanked: 38 Times
Default Front Speakers Query - Ikon

Hey Guys,

I have a Ford Ikon 1.6ZXI 2000 model. I recently upgraded my ICE from the OEM setup to the following:

HU - Pioneer 5850
Rear - JBL GTO 936
Front - Stock OEM Speakers (no idea of make or size)

At low volumes, there is no issue with the setup, but at high volumes (or high bass) the front speakers are not able to take the load and they distort. Can you suggest good options to replace the front speakers. I would prefer not to do major modifications to the doors.

Thanks,

Sorry MODs, accidently posted this in the wrong section, can you please move this to the right section. Thanks

Last edited by gr8guzzler : 14th September 2006 at 00:22.
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 00:28   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Hei, get a compo (not sure of the default size), should cost you anywher from 5 -7k; preferably JBL as you already have one at rear.

if thats costly get a co-ax
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 01:13   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Nice advice JK has given. Just get it man. There'll be more of us coming soon to confuse you further if not!!!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 01:13   #4
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 649
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Thanks JK. I think the default size is 4". Will GTO426 be the right one then? I don't see any component systems on the JBL website with 4" size.
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 01:17   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8guzzler
Thanks JK. I think the default size is 4". Will GTO426 be the right one then? I don't see any component systems on the JBL website with 4" size.

" hehehe..no issues, I'm here to get more gyan on this."
should be 5.25' atleast. Do check or wait for someone to clarify.

u sure abt that liner? Dont say we didnt warn you.

Last edited by jkdas : 14th September 2006 at 01:22.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 01:21   #6
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 649
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak
Nice advice JK has given. Just get it man. There'll be more of us coming soon to confuse you further if not!!!
hehehe..no issues, I'm here to get more gyan on this.
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 01:31   #7
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 649
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
u sure abt that liner? Dont say we didnt warn you.
Yes sir, always ready to learn
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 01:32   #8
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Ok Then ask the Mods to move this thread into ICE section and have fun! And PM LBM with this query and tell him to post his answer here!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 10:26   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak
And PM LBM with this query and tell him to post his answer here!
what do u want to say zak here......I have read the thread ........I dont know the size so I am quite....what else I do.....I dont poke my nose everywhere...
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 13:07   #10
BHPian
 
harmon_bro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Madras
Posts: 541
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Here you go, check this link out.

http://www.fxaudio.com/caraudio/jbl-speakers-gto507.htm
harmon_bro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 15:00   #11
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 649
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Thanks Harmon...any idea of the price? and will this fit without any major modifications to the door?
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 15:19   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8guzzler
Thanks Harmon...any idea of the price? and will this fit without any major modifications to the door?
Hey gr8guzzler,

PM Sam Kapasi Or Have A Look At Dealer Locator On fxaudio.com.


Cheers,
Mugen_Power.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 15:29   #13
BHPian
 
harmon_bro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Madras
Posts: 541
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8guzzler
Thanks Harmon...any idea of the price? and will this fit without any major modifications to the door?
Please check your nearest JBL dealer or contact SAM on this forum for more details.
harmon_bro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 17:53   #14
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

but wont he require an amp to power the components.
what i mean to ask is,can components run without an amp?
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 19:29   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 153 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellspawn
what i mean to ask is,can components run without an amp?
Not necessarily Abhimanyu. You can run the Components off the HU too but you won't be using them to their full potential because of the meagre output the HU's give out compared to a dedicated amp. So the comps will simply not get enough juice. If you are getting good comps then it is advisable to spend money on a decent amp to amplify them.

Last edited by iraghava : 14th September 2006 at 19:31.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
front speakers required filcord Shifting gears 8 3rd December 2007 09:56
Basic Audio Solution - only Front Speakers? samueldotj In-Car Entertainment 1 15th November 2007 12:22
For HT front speakers - 2 way or 3 way ?? w 12 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 4th September 2006 22:07
protecting the front speakers??? amit_sound In-Car Entertainment 9 26th April 2006 23:11
Suggestion for front speakers for my Sumo nitrous In-Car Entertainment 23 1st February 2006 02:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:52.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks