Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories

Modifications & Accessories Engine swaps, forced induction, tyre upgrades, free flowing exhausts....its all in here!

Old 2nd June 2005, 10:18   #1 (permalink)

Smile Indian Muscle car - Contessa and the likes

Hey guys,
Need some help with a project have got on hand. The customers needs are as follows :

1> Change the looks of the car to make it more sporty and agressive.
2> Soup up the engine.
3> Beef up the suspension and brakes.
4> Change the interiors including dash.(should not be able to easily tell its a contessa).
5> Rims and tyres.
6> Wild Paint Job

Can anyone help . I need designs and costings with approx delivery schedule.

Viper

Last edited by viper : 2nd June 2005 at 10:30.
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2005, 10:23   #2 (permalink)

only one word..........."PSYCHO"
Old 2nd June 2005, 10:31   #3 (permalink)

yeah to make the car look sporty and agressive autopsyche is the best. am i right guys
kooldude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2005, 13:17   #4 (permalink)

hey viper..
is it a petrol or diesel ??
i am sure you already must be having ideas about souping up the engine..and beefing up the suspension.
for the looks..get it done like a like muscle car with bright red or green colour with stripes and a scoop on the hood...and vents on the fenders..i guess chrome alloys with meaty rubber will look the best..get a lip spoiler for the back..i guess a skirt and a bumper job will be a bad idea for a contessa ..maybe get done custom headlights and taillights if possible...i guess the most tough job would be to get the custom interiors done..i.e the dash..

check out these mustang pictures..
http://www.motorcitycruisers.com/Sto...ustangcar2.jpg

http://www.mustangv8.com/prints/cata.../EC64GT500.jpg

http://www.mustangv8.com/prints/cata...ngemustang.jpg
heavy_foot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2005, 13:50   #5 (permalink)

1) Looks of the Conti: I think that the orignal lines are great just need to add a few curves on the top of the car like the SS. The bumpers can also be made to look like the SS (bulky and meaty)
2) Engine soup up: do you want to soup up the petrol Isuzu or do you want to plonk in another engine ??? (Isuzu soup up you will only get about 100 rwhp but if you prefer a larger engine you can get v6 petrol's from chevy's with 135 rwhp and almost double the conti's torque, else if you wanna go the diesel way there always is the tempo traveller)
3) Can be easily done will ahve to locate donor parts off a merc and tata estate. Already have it on my car
4) Try locating an old Chevy dashboard for its retro looks.
5) Rims : All rims from the beemer are a direct fit would suggest locating Beemer 14 inch mags with goodyear's aquatread or eagle F1.
6) Paintjob: check on the web for designs can be matched to whatever that is needed. (personally the car will look great with a single color job with a duotone interior.)

PS: the pic on the left is proof enough of what a conti can be

Last edited by Psycho : 2nd June 2005 at 13:51.
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2005, 14:45   #6 (permalink)

check out some pics of the chevy Camaro SS ...looks best in green..

http://www.car-posters.com/prod_images/1970chevelle.jpg

http://www.motorcitycruisers.com/Sto...hoto/ss496.jpg

cheers.
heavy_foot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2005, 16:22   #7 (permalink)

Thumbs up

Thanks a lot guys.

Pyscho,

love your ideas game for the SS look.
2> Do up the original Isuzu petrol engine. Nothing major, exhaust, filter, port/polish thats it. if bottom needs to be done then oversize pistons as well.
3> will do
4> i have no sources can u help out.
5> Ok
6> Customers want a snazzy pearl black with camel interiors.

Can you pm an approx costing with time frame.

Viper
Old 2nd June 2005, 23:51   #8 (permalink)

I think psycho gave you very good options as far as the design is concerned, infact surprisingly even i have a project conty at hand but i am avoiding to start working on it coz the owner has a pretty major budget constraint, so body mods will come down to a minimum. However i would love to follow up on your work.

If the owner is interested in a black pearl paintjob then id recommend the Magic Black that comes on the Octavia L&K, with the same beige-ish interiors. its pretty classy so to speak.

Also, id like to see psychos work in real when ill be in blore next week to get some ideas on how to start on the car. ive never worked on a contessa before. Psycho would u let me please?
Old 3rd June 2005, 23:32   #9 (permalink)

Hey Viper will call you and give you the details.

Autopsyche man you are on any time cmon over to the watering hole and let the beer do the talking what say

PS: Hopefully would have the turbo going full blast by then
Old 29th October 2006, 15:31   #10 (permalink)

Lightbulb Indian Muscle car - Contessa and the likes

Just some wishful thinking here (and since we have so many amazing petroheads here)...

Imagine you have a Contessa and an unlimited budget. What mods would you do? Anything at all... <insert evil grin here>

While on the topic, what American car is the Contessa based on?
d_momaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2006, 15:58   #11 (permalink)

d_momaya,

Have a look at this:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vbpicg...?do=view&g=329

That was psychos car who is a member here located in bangalore.

Also this was discussed before as a true indian muscle car:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...light=contessa (How about bringing back India muscle cars?)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...light=contessa (need help for Contessa Project)

(\./)
(o.o)
( X )
This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him achieve world domination.
vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2006, 16:04   #12 (permalink)

The oppurtunities here are endless. You could do a trubocharge job, an engine swap with a straight six/V-6/V-8 (maybe!) and matching gearbox.

The possibilities are endless to create a RWD over-steering monster capable of doing some awesome burnouts

Originally Posted by d_momaya
While on the topic, what American car is the Contessa based on?
It's based on a '70's British/European Vauxhall.
Old 29th October 2006, 19:39   #13 (permalink)

If you had unlimited money, why would you buy a Contessa in the first place???

Steer
Where all think alike, no one really thinks very much.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2006, 20:46   #14 (permalink)
SRK

Originally Posted by Steeroid
If you had unlimited money, why would you buy a Contessa in the first place???
Nice one!!
Kya kare Dil hai ki manta nahin!!

If I had atleast money enough to make it the way I wanted then heres what it could have:-
1. A fast and real loud engine...(the engine bay has to shine with chrome all around)..
2. A beautiful sparkling blue paint scheme with silver and chrome all around..
with black/grey race stripes..
3. Xenons outside..and white dials and lights inside..
4. The biggest and comfortable, possible size of Chrome rims...fitted with Low profile rubber.

Enough of the dreaming..
So any one liked my idea..I know you cant get the pic of the car that I have in my mind.But trust me this be one awsome contessa..
So how many of you are ready to sponsor me??? (you all get a ride in it. ..)

Last edited by SRK : 29th October 2006 at 20:48.
SRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2006, 21:24   #15 (permalink)

ahhhh thinking wishfully....remember the kirlorskar funded contessa which was featured in indian auto journal (early 90s)pushing out 125hp and strengthend chassis,modified suspension and webber carbs by the famous dilip desai from pune?

and he said more was possible without getting too fancy!the journos(bob rupani or suresh guptan iam not sure) who went for a spin on mud tracks were at loss for words of the overall package!!!now at the prevailing contessa prices and improvisation of such a package seems really tempting.......just to throw it around at free time and causing a few heartburns in the process.......what say.
dr fate is offline   Reply With Quote