Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd April 2009, 15:41   #136
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
No Indian maps on TomTom. Otherwise, there are "ways" to unlock and load other maps onto TomTom.

Dealextreme has a 5 inch generic GPS. DealExtreme: $118.49 5.0" LCD 372MHz CPU Windows CE 5.0 Bluetooth + GPS Navigator w/FM Transmitter + 2GB Maps SD
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVH View Post

Now, my question to you is whether to buy such a device with Windows CE and then install the maps as tsk1979 suggested or buy a desi SATNAV? Which of the two should I go for? Budget not a constraint, I just need a reliable and user-friendly device.

Suggestions please!
Your suggestion please! By the way, have you used the device from dealextreme personally?
JVH is offline  
Old 2nd April 2009, 22:13   #137
BHPian
 
nishad.hameed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 76
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

cheaper PND's are available in eBay.in

you can test your own maps also if needed! these gadgets comes with pre-installed maps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Thats cool, where can I get those in India?

USD 100 in US is practical for a basic PND. If you ship to India, the officials will charge you a heavy customs duty around 35% on your landing cost. The landing cost is inclusive of your shipment charges. Ultimately the charges would go up by 200 USD and for the same products are available in Indian gray market.

A PND for 10K in eBay.in is acceptable.

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team : Please use the "edit" button if posting within 15 minutes of the first post, instead of creating another back-to-back post

Also use "Multi Quote" option for quoting Multiple posts.

Last edited by Jaggu : 2nd April 2009 at 23:26. Reason: back to back posts, multi quote.
nishad.hameed is offline  
Old 3rd April 2009, 08:43   #138
BHPian
 
di1in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bnglr&Thrissur
Posts: 384
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post

1. When I connect this gps receiver to my phone via bluetooth, during gps operation, which aspect of operation requires the internet apart from downloading maps?
GPRS is required only for downloading maps in the case of normal operation, but for A-GPS enabled phones GPRS is utilized for faster satellite-lock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
2. Can I use this gps with my mobile phone (N70) without using Internet on my phone?
You can do that if you have the maps pre-loaded onto your phone. A popular way to do this is by using MGmaps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
3. If internet is needed for maps, can they be pre-downloaded to my memory card to avoid re-downloading the maps each time I need to view?
Yes, as i said earlier by using MGmaps or Nokia Maps. But Nokia maps ain't so popular due to it's lack of detail and coverage.
Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
4. Can the maps be downloaded on my laptop and moved to the memory card to avoid ANY internet activity?
That is exactly the aim when you pre-load maps. To get the instructions, got to Symbian Inside and find "How to use GPS and Nokia Maps" in the sub-menu titled "Tricks and Hacks".
di1in is offline  
Old 3rd April 2009, 09:56   #139
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishad.hameed View Post
cheaper PND's are available in eBay.in

you can test your own maps also if needed! these gadgets comes with pre-installed maps.




USD 100 in US is practical for a basic PND. If you ship to India, the officials will charge you a heavy customs duty around 35% on your landing cost. The landing cost is inclusive of your shipment charges. Ultimately the charges would go up by 200 USD and for the same products are available in Indian gray market.

A PND for 10K in eBay.in is acceptable.
Landing cost of such units in India is around 80-90$. So even with 35% duty, it will come to 110-120$, not more.
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 3rd April 2009, 13:33   #140
BHPian
 
ask77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Agra
Posts: 143
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Landing cost of such units in India is around 80-90$. So even with 35% duty, it will come to 110-120$, not more.
I have bought 2 items worth around $100- $150 each thru ebay . paid thru paypal using credit card both these items were couriered thru USPS and no duty or anything was asked for them .
ask77 is offline  
Old 3rd April 2009, 14:01   #141
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 6
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

You should try google navigator - Google Navigator Home Page - GPS Navigation with GPS tracking and GSM tracking

It's trial version is free (and has enough features) and I have been using it on my Windows mobile for almost a year now. Quite addicted to it. It uses data from Google Earth / maps and you can also search for locations, busineses and landmarks. I also find the arrow with teh track line much more intutive than the plain moving blue dot on other applications.

Network charges will apply for the map data download.

sunilinasu
sunilinasu is offline  
Old 5th April 2009, 11:48   #142
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 291
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by di1in View Post
GPRS is required only for downloading maps in the case of normal operation, but for A-GPS enabled phones GPRS is utilized for faster satellite-lock.



You can do that if you have the maps pre-loaded onto your phone. A popular way to do this is by using MGmaps.

Yes, as i said earlier by using MGmaps or Nokia Maps. But Nokia maps ain't so popular due to it's lack of detail and coverage.

That is exactly the aim when you pre-load maps. To get the instructions, got to Symbian Inside and find "How to use GPS and Nokia Maps" in the sub-menu titled "Tricks and Hacks".
Successfully downloaded Mysore maps from Google Maps and working well on N70. Started downloading the entire South India for now.

Thanks all for all the info.

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline  
Old 7th April 2009, 17:11   #143
BHPian
 
nishad.hameed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 76
Thanked: 14 Times
Default GPS costing

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Landing cost of such units in India is around 80-90$. So even with 35% duty, it will come to 110-120$, not more.

Your landing cost is not the purchase cost. Landing cost Customs calculates @ 21.125% of your invoice value. Then 35% to invoice value + landing cost.

Then cost of software + maps and the VAT is 12.5%

ultimately it goes near to 200 USD
nishad.hameed is offline  
Old 8th April 2009, 19:20   #144
BHPian
 
di1in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bnglr&Thrissur
Posts: 384
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
Successfully downloaded Mysore maps from Google Maps and working well on N70. Started downloading the entire South India for now.

Thanks all for all the info.

Prajwal
Nice to hear that.. if you're downloading Kerala maps as well, could you send me the files ?
di1in is offline  
Old 13th April 2009, 12:37   #145
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,650
Thanked: 6,662 Times
Default

Anyone got Mgmaps to run on the Asus P527?

I get a Filesystem storage error for the phone when setting properties on the Map Browsing.
bblost is offline  
Old 13th April 2009, 14:52   #146
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 608 Times
Default

It working fine on my ASUS 552W
Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Anyone got Mgmaps to run on the Asus P527?

I get a Filesystem storage error for the phone when setting properties on the Map Browsing.
rkbharat is offline  
Old 13th April 2009, 15:41   #147
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,650
Thanked: 6,662 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Anyone got Mgmaps to run on the Asus P527?

I get a Filesystem storage error for the phone when setting properties on the Map Browsing.
Terracrosser - GPS Navigation Software

Found this and I am happy with it.
A lot simpler to install.

But one weird issue (?)

It has a world map with zoom level 1 to 5.
I created a Hyderabad city map with zoom 11 to 17.

Does not pick that up.
I then create an India map zoom 6~8.
It picks this up.

It does not like missing zoom level between maps.

Last edited by bblost : 13th April 2009 at 15:42.
bblost is offline  
Old 13th April 2009, 19:45   #148
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 291
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by di1in View Post
Nice to hear that.. if you're downloading Kerala maps as well, could you send me the files ?
Can u tell me how to pull out the maps for Kerala alone? I have downloaded BLR/Mys, MLR/Udupi and Kerala, all at zoom 17.

I'll gladly share the maps.

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline  
Old 14th April 2009, 10:32   #149
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,650
Thanked: 6,662 Times
Default

Just an update on TC.
There is no bug.
I was not inside the detailed map.

Its a lot easier to use than mgmaps IMHO.
You however get only google and yahoo maps.
bblost is offline  
Old 16th April 2009, 16:39   #150
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
Got this one! Yet to explore and will post once I'm through. If anyone has a similar kind of stuff and have done all the unlocking/installation part, could you plz enlighten?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ask77 View Post
I have bought 2 items worth around $100- $150 each thru ebay . paid thru paypal using credit card both these items were couriered thru USPS and no duty or anything was asked for them .
Exactly! I have been consistently buying stuff not only on ebay but on deals2buy too. Never paid any duty.
JVH is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Decarbonising - Demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 94 10th July 2016 19:50
Automotive misconceptions demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 81 16th March 2016 21:12
Fungus in Carpet - Solutions ? bullboy Technical Stuff 27 4th October 2010 12:07


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks