Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th November 2008, 14:44   #61
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Update: Googled a bit and found that no map software is bundled along with Asus P320 :(
ashthedivx is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 14:48   #62
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Duplicate Post - Kindly delete
ashthedivx is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 14:57   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Yes it is Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional. I don't have a Micro SD card though. Will the onboard memory suffice for the map?
Bass&Trouble is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 15:17   #64
BHPian
 
inder_s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 238
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Hi All,

1. There are phones with built in GPS recievers and maps are given/not given with them

2. Free maps available are Nokia Maps & Google Maps & some other not so popular ones

3. Bluetooth recievers will be from 3K range onwards and there are lots of companies

4. I am successfully using my Nokia E90 with Google maps and Nokia maps, they are pretty good for now cheers:

5. If you need start point to end point routes shown, you will have to go for Mapmyindia's iNavLoaded software

Nokia has lots of phones lauched with GPS reciever from 5K range onwards and there is a bluetooth GPS reciever in team BHP marketplace for 3500 , if someone is interested.

Cheers
inder_s1 is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 15:43   #65
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Yes it is Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional. I don't have a Micro SD card though. Will the onboard memory suffice for the map?
Nop it won't suffice, still if you aren't using GPS i would suggest you to buy at least 1 gb card and shift your programs to the card i.e. uninstall and install on Micro SD Card as it will improve your speed as P320 is already too slow for daily operations.

By the way Micro SD Card are dirt cheap available now-a-days @ 230-250/GB here in delhi
ashthedivx is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 15:53   #66
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Yes it is Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional. I don't have a Micro SD card though. Will the onboard memory suffice for the map?
Nope, I suggest you get a micro SD card to install the software and map.
The India map is big.
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 16:18   #67
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,240
Thanked: 226 Times
Default

VishnuGS,

Hi, I have pocket PC phone HTC P3300 since last year, which has inbuilt GPS receiver. Software is MapKing R12. Every time I invoke GPS , i get message "not enough RAM. Please close other appications. If there is no other applications running, please wait for 30 minutes and run mapking again". I have installed 1 gb Micro SD

also, please let me know how to operate GPS on P 3300 and transfer to computer and read the same

Dwarak
dwaraka is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 16:27   #68
BHPian
 
inder_s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 238
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Forgot to add few more points:

1. You need to go to the settings menu in GPS and select the valid Internet Connection.

2. It's better to have an external memory to store the data from GPS.
inder_s1 is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 16:36   #69
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaraka View Post
VishnuGS,

Hi, I have pocket PC phone HTC P3300 since last year, which has inbuilt GPS receiver. Software is MapKing R12. Every time I invoke GPS , i get message "not enough RAM. Please close other appications. If there is no other applications running, please wait for 30 minutes and run mapking again". I have installed 1 gb Micro SD

also, please let me know how to operate GPS on P 3300 and transfer to computer and read the same

Dwarak
Dwarak,

Whenever you use and close a program in WM5/6/6.1 it ain't closed 100%. as some of the files usually run in background so as to fasten the process for next time use. However, as program memory is limited in pdas one need to have a software to clear off the unused and waste files. for the same there is a software provided by Oxios Inc

Oxios Memory (Hibernate & CloseApps)- Release memory on your Smartphone (Freeware)

Download it and run it. It will clear the memory and make them shine as new

Run it whenever you get stated error message.

Cheers,
Ashish
ashthedivx is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 16:46   #70
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,650
Thanked: 6,663 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
My friend got this Magellan Maestro 3100 as a gift.
Can someone please help me load maps into this.
How do I load the maps and where do I find them

Please help.
Bump Bump.
Can someone please help me.
This is not a phone but a standalone GPS unit
bblost is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 16:53   #71
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Bump Bump.
Can someone please help me.
This is not a phone but a standalone GPS unit
Hey bblost,

I ain't too much knowledgeble for Magellan series of GPS units. However, it should not be that difficult go through Magellan website. Buy mapmyindia or satnav latest maps and upload it. It should work.
ashthedivx is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 16:57   #72
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Bump Bump.
Can someone please help me.
This is not a phone but a standalone GPS unit
Is it a mapsend format map?
If so, give me time till weekend, I will try and get you the india map, and then you can see if the map works(just load it on SD card etc., and use the userguide to upload map)
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 5th November 2008, 17:03   #73
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,650
Thanked: 6,663 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Is it a mapsend format map?
If so, give me time till weekend, I will try and get you the india map, and then you can see if the map works(just load it on SD card etc., and use the userguide to upload map)
Thanks a lot.
greatly appreciate this.
bblost is offline  
Old 6th November 2008, 13:59   #74
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,240
Thanked: 226 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
Dwarak,

Whenever you use and close a program in WM5/6/6.1 it ain't closed 100%. as some of the files usually run in background so as to fasten the process for next time use. However, as program memory is limited in pdas one need to have a software to clear off the unused and waste files. for the same there is a software provided by Oxios Inc

Oxios Memory (Hibernate & CloseApps)- Release memory on your Smartphone (Freeware)

Download it and run it. It will clear the memory and make them shine as new

Run it whenever you get stated error message.

Cheers,
Ashish

Ashish, Thank you very much. I have downloaded the oxios memory software and got released of memory.

Dwarak
dwaraka is offline  
Old 7th November 2008, 16:30   #75
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default Mumbai Map

I have the OSM map for Mumbai, pretty detailed, some 12MB.
If anybody of you have a windows mobile based GPS device, but no map, you can ping me, I will send it to you. Go through previous posts on how to use programs like osmtracker on windows mobile devices and load the maps
tsk1979 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Decarbonising - Demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 94 10th July 2016 19:50
Automotive misconceptions demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 81 16th March 2016 21:12
Fungus in Carpet - Solutions ? bullboy Technical Stuff 27 4th October 2010 12:07


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks