Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th March 2009, 08:22   #106
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 608 Times
Default

Mine was packed with full version and one city map of choice. I choose NCR

Quote:
Originally Posted by deep_bang View Post
Also check if his unit came with a licence for the full version. I too have a p3300, which comes with a trial version when you install it, but i did a registration process which allows you to download the full map.
rkbharat is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 17:09   #107
BHPian
 
unni.ak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 777
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deep_bang View Post
Also check if his unit came with a licence for the full version. I too have a p3300, which comes with a trial version when you install it, but i did a registration process which allows you to download the full map.
I'll check on that. Thanks.
unni.ak is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 17:30   #108
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 151 Times
Default

Any feedback on the GPS that comes with Nokia E71? I heard it has 3 months free trial.

What are the costs after that?

Do I have to buy/load maps from MapMyIndia/SatNav etc?

I want turn by turn direction, and preferably voice navigation as well. Dont like Google Maps much.
nishantgandhi is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 21:13   #109
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

how can GPS have free trial. Either you have GPS or you don't. I think they mean that after 3 months no new maps, and you have to pay if you want new maps.
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 21:33   #110
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 641
Thanked: 120 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
how can GPS have free trial. Either you have GPS or you don't. I think they mean that after 3 months no new maps, and you have to pay if you want new maps.
Most phones have no maps on board. The software that downloads maps has a three months trial. I use Telenav Navigator on my blackberry and I can not use it if I do not have data enabled. It downloads maps/traffic and routs on the fly.
mohit is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 21:48   #111
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Oh ok, if you put your own software, you are free of the 3 months limitations etc.,
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 21st March 2009, 01:04   #112
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 151 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
how can GPS have free trial. Either you have GPS or you don't. I think they mean that after 3 months no new maps, and you have to pay if you want new maps.
I havent bought the phone. But saw the box which had a sticker '3 months free SatNav GPS usage'.

Hence the question.
nishantgandhi is offline  
Old 21st March 2009, 03:11   #113
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,848
Thanked: 7,256 Times
Default

N82 experience: Yes, you get the maps and the GPS. It is the voice-guided routing which is on limited free trial.

I never used it anyway, I just use the GPS/Nokia Maps sometimes to get myself unlost.
Thad E Ginathom is offline  
Old 25th March 2009, 16:25   #114
BHPian
 
di1in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bnglr&Thrissur
Posts: 384
Thanked: 66 Times
Thumbs up GPS on mobile phones..

Hand-held GPS solutions are one of the most economic ones - for example, with an N95 you get GPS, music, video, digicam and what not. Sure they ain't as ood as the stand-alone types but the total cost only comes to about a quarter. I use mine for almost complete control over the audio part of the car and positioning, it saves me from buying an external handsfree device as well.

Mapping using Nseries phones with built-in GPS modules is explained here pretty clearly, and you get to use sattelite images of the area which might show roads that are 'invisible' on actual maps.

You might get a little confused at first but it's easy once you get the hang of it - and you don't have a data service once all the maps are on your hand-held.

The negatives of using an embedded GPS module from your hand-held is that the startup times are higher(2mins) than those of a standalone device. But once you get sattelite lock then you're ok to move. This will be faster if you've updated your phone firmware - latest updates have brought in A-GPS into the mobile devices as well giving you faster positioning times.
di1in is offline  
Old 25th March 2009, 16:35   #115
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Stand alone GPS systems with Windows CE core and 4.3" screen cost around 100$, much cheaper than phones!
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 25th March 2009, 20:16   #116
BHPian
 
ask77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Agra
Posts: 143
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Stand alone GPS systems with Windows CE core and 4.3" screen cost around 100$, much cheaper than phones!
what are the software option for windows CE core ?
ask77 is offline  
Old 25th March 2009, 21:00   #117
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

ask77,

You can run the following on a CE satnav box with ease.

Mapmyindia (original),
Mapmyindia (miomap)
Mapmyindia (inav)
Destinator
Garmin XT
iGo (there is an indian map for this but not easily available like the others).

(The above are just releases I can think of with Indian maps, you can of cause run other software for Europe etc such as Tomtom 7, Route 66, McGuider).
bigman is offline  
Old 25th March 2009, 21:17   #118
Senior - BHPian
 
MileCruncher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,992
Thanked: 356 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
Heres a tip for everyone, this software is absolutely rubbish. It relies on networks totally hence the location latency is just insane. by the time I'm told to turn, I'm already 3-5 kms ahead of schedule on the route. What a waste of 2000 rs...
I have been using it for the last 8 months and on my BB8310 has been working wonderful. I also just downloaded Google maps and that application gives your position with data connect upto 600 metres accuracy just on GSM. If you have GPS, then upto 10metres accuracy.
MileCruncher is offline  
Old 26th March 2009, 08:49   #119
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

I am using satguide OneIndia Map on my Carputer with CF's Destinator's Engine.
Turn By Turn Voice Navigation does work. though POI are not that good. but they keep releasing updates and adds more POI every 3-4 months
So everytime I visit any new place. I just add it in my Fav. List.
nisarg86 is offline  
Old 30th March 2009, 21:44   #120
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 291
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

I have an N70 and only recently I have been using the Google maps using GPRS. Its not GPS, just maps.

N70 does not have AGPS in it. So how would be the most economical way to get positioning info? I am not too particular about turn-by-turn instructions, just want to know where I am (like a moving dot on google maps, for eg) while I am touring. I know my way around town in Bangalore, so city maps is also not what I am craving for either.

Any input in here?

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Decarbonising - Demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 94 10th July 2016 19:50
Automotive misconceptions demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 81 16th March 2016 21:12
Fungus in Carpet - Solutions ? bullboy Technical Stuff 27 4th October 2010 12:07


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks