Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st March 2009, 18:24   #121
BHPian
 
di1in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bnglr&Thrissur
Posts: 384
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Stand alone GPS systems with Windows CE core and 4.3" screen cost around 100$, much cheaper than phones!
True, But what i meant is that when you take the cost of buying a
  1. Video iPod
  2. GPS
  3. Digi-cam
  4. PDA

as standalone devices versus that of buying a smartphone, the smartphone wins.
di1in is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 18:31   #122
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

the 100$ device can function as a PDA and video player.
And the screen is much better to use than the tiny phone screen.
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 18:34   #123
BHPian
 
di1in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bnglr&Thrissur
Posts: 384
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
I have an N70 and only recently I have been using the Google maps using GPRS. Its not GPS, just maps.

N70 does not have AGPS in it. So how would be the most economical way to get positioning info? I am not too particular about turn-by-turn instructions, just want to know where I am (like a moving dot on google maps, for eg) while I am touring. I know my way around town in Bangalore, so city maps is also not what I am craving for either.

Any input in here?

Prajwal
You won't get a moving dot on an N70 unless you use an external blue-tooth enabled gps unit. What you can get using an N70 is to use the Network positioning in the phone which will show you the approximate area of your location in the map.
The N70 doesn't have A-GPS in it because A-GPS requires a GPS module(hardware part) to work. A-GPS stands for Assisted GPS, it uses your GPRS connection to connect to Nokia's servers to aid in the triangulation processing of the GPS data that is recieved by the GPS module in the device. This allows the phone's processors to take care of other things at hand - better multi-tasking.
GoogleMaps are pretty decent in their offerings of maps - both sattelite images, maps and hybrids; but Nokia Maps have a better user interface.
di1in is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 19:29   #124
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Stand alone GPS systems with Windows CE core and 4.3" screen cost around 100$, much cheaper than phones!
Thats cool, where can I get those in India?
NetfreakBombay is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 20:57   #125
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

You can't. you have to get one from USA
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 21:29   #126
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Then it does not count

Best price I got was around 12k in Grey market. Was some Chinese thing with pirated Windows CE.
NetfreakBombay is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 21:55   #127
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Then it does not count

Best price I got was around 12k in Grey market. Was some Chinese thing with pirated Windows CE.
you can order one from dealextreme.com for around 120$
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 23:17   #128
BHPian
 
ask77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Agra
Posts: 143
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
you can order one from dealextreme.com for around 120$
you can get 3.5" windows CE loaded products from ebay for around $85 including postage to india, They have preloaded US maps so you have to install indian maps
ask77 is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 23:32   #129
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

^^^

This is amazing spacially this from dealextreme
Quote:
Yes, we ship worldwide at no additional charge.
NetfreakBombay is offline  
Old 2nd April 2009, 12:13   #130
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 291
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by di1in View Post
You won't get a moving dot on an N70 unless you use an external blue-tooth enabled gps unit. What you can get using an N70 is to use the Network positioning in the phone which will show you the approximate area of your location in the map.
The N70 doesn't have A-GPS in it because A-GPS requires a GPS module(hardware part) to work. A-GPS stands for Assisted GPS, it uses your GPRS connection to connect to Nokia's servers to aid in the triangulation processing of the GPS data that is recieved by the GPS module in the device. This allows the phone's processors to take care of other things at hand - better multi-tasking.
GoogleMaps are pretty decent in their offerings of maps - both sattelite images, maps and hybrids; but Nokia Maps have a better user interface.
Thanks for the reply.

By external bluetooth devices, do mean like the following?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Amod-Bluetooth-GPS-Receiver-WAAS-EGNOS-ABG-108_W0QQitemZ330315108891QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGPS_De vices?hash=item330315108891&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_ trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1318

http://cgi.ebay.com/AR-211-Bluetooth-GPS-Receiver_W0QQitemZ250389411211QQcmdZViewItemQQptZG PS_Devices?hash=item250389411211&_trksid=p3286.c0. m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1318

I have a lot of questions on this since I am new with gps.

1. When I connect this gps receiver to my phone via bluetooth, during gps operation, which aspect of operation requires the internet apart from downloading maps?

2. Can I use this gps with my mobile phone (N70) without using Internet on my phone?

3. If internet is needed for maps, can they be pre-downloaded to my memory card to avoid re-downloading the maps each time I need to view?

4. Can the maps be downloaded on my laptop and moved to the memory card to avoid ANY internet activity?

These questions are just a start. I got a lot more Q's and I am sure I'll have even more once I start using it! So do bear with me.

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline  
Old 2nd April 2009, 14:32   #131
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
I have a lot of questions on this since I am new with gps.

1. When I connect this gps receiver to my phone via bluetooth, during gps operation, which aspect of operation requires the internet apart from downloading maps?
Once you have downloaded maps, no internet required
Quote:
2. Can I use this gps with my mobile phone (N70) without using Internet on my phone?
Yes you can, download maps on your PC(mgmaps) and then copy them to mobile
Quote:
3. If internet is needed for maps, can they be pre-downloaded to my memory card to avoid re-downloading the maps each time I need to view?
Yes, you can do so, look at mgmaps documentation
Quote:
4. Can the maps be downloaded on my laptop and moved to the memory card to avoid ANY internet activity?
Yes
Quote:
These questions are just a start. I got a lot more Q's and I am sure I'll have even more once I start using it! So do bear with me.

Prajwal
Sure, ask away.
I would like to add here that many applications which come with GPS phones insist on internet connection, however there are lot of freeware apps for nokia(most popular is the mgmaps) which allow you to use GPS without any internet usage.
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 2nd April 2009, 14:48   #132
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

I'm getting a TOM TOM GPS pre-loaded with US/Canada and European maps from a friend. Just wanted to check with folks here about the compatibility with Indian maps.

Anyone here using this device? Feedback appreciated.
JVH is offline  
Old 2nd April 2009, 14:50   #133
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

Is it a windows CE device?
If yes you can unlock it and then install any application like mapmyindia miomap(costs 2500rs I think) or anything else.
If no windows CE, you are out of luck
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 2nd April 2009, 15:07   #134
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Is it a windows CE device?
If yes you can unlock it and then install any application like mapmyindia miomap(costs 2500rs I think) or anything else.
If no windows CE, you are out of luck
Thanks tsk! Nope it's not, So I guess it's worthless for me.

I'm on a hunt to buy a used/new one so I guess I just hit the right thread. Many of you guys were discussing about deals on ebay and dealextreme. Now, my question to you is whether to buy such a device with Windows CE and then install the maps as tsk1979 suggested or buy a desi SATNAV? Which of the two should I go for? Budget not a constraint, I just need a reliable and user-friendly device.

Suggestions please!
JVH is offline  
Old 2nd April 2009, 15:28   #135
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVH View Post
I'm getting a TOM TOM GPS pre-loaded with US/Canada and European maps from a friend. Just wanted to check with folks here about the compatibility with Indian maps.

Anyone here using this device? Feedback appreciated.
No Indian maps on TomTom. Otherwise, there are "ways" to unlock and load other maps onto TomTom.

Dealextreme has a 5 inch generic GPS. DealExtreme: $118.49 5.0" LCD 372MHz CPU Windows CE 5.0 Bluetooth + GPS Navigator w/FM Transmitter + 2GB Maps SD

Last edited by spadival : 2nd April 2009 at 15:30.
spadival is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Decarbonising - Demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 94 10th July 2016 19:50
Automotive misconceptions demystified SS-Traveller Technical Stuff 81 16th March 2016 21:12
Fungus in Carpet - Solutions ? bullboy Technical Stuff 27 4th October 2010 12:07


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks