Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th January 2007, 17:59   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Post Available Optra 1.8 remap at your dealership

Went for the car service today and was told by the service personnel that GM has been working on new codes for the ECU of the 1.8L Optra for better performance and FE. The software will be soon send to the dealers and they will remap your ECU with the new codes for better performance and FE. All this obviously free of cost. Good going GM Its expected in a few days around a week or so. Will keep you updated on the difference once i get it done.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 18:04   #2
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 48,098
Thanked: 91,956 Times
Default

Wow, thats a first! I dont recollect any other manufacturer offering better remaps to existing cars though many have had it (OHC Vtec etc.)
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 18:38   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,462
Thanked: 4,155 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA
The software will be soon send to the dealers and they will remap your ECU with the new codes for better performance and FE.
Did they tell you how soon?

I'm really not bothered about FE/performance though...but any improvement like this always welcome.
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 18:42   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,835
Thanked: 1,506 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Wow, thats a first! I dont recollect any other manufacturer offering better remaps to existing cars though many have had it (OHC Vtec etc.)
Tata does it so many times its boring.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 19:16   #5
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 48,098
Thanked: 91,956 Times
Default

Quote:
Tata does it so many times its boring.
Remapping? Which cars?
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 19:20   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,835
Thanked: 1,506 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Remapping? Which cars?
2 remaps done on Dicor so far. Basically they say its an "ECU upgrade" and the ECU is reflashed.

The first time they did it was when the EGR was retrofitted. The second was when they changed the airfilter and some other bits and pieces - there was a 'software upgrade' as part of it. Thats basically a remap.

Every time they did it the vehicle just became better.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 19:27   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,845
Thanked: 7,683 Times
Default

the OE ecu can they really be remapped as in flashed and then rewrite, ECU experts please comment
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 19:37   #8
BHPian
 
airfoil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 305
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
2 remaps done on Dicor so far. Basically they say its an "ECU upgrade" and the ECU is reflashed.

The second was when they changed the airfilter and some other bits and pieces.
Interesting - based on this, I wonder if any ECU changes are necessary/helpful when say, one switches from the stock air filter to a K&N.
airfoil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 19:39   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airfoil View Post
Interesting - based on this, I wonder if any ECU changes are necessary/helpful when say, one switches from the stock air filter to a K&N.
No. Within certain limits, your ECU "learns" the new settings and accordingly adjusts/compensates. That's why MPFI cars on K&Ns perform slightly better.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2007, 21:41   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Then didnot tell me how soon but showed me the stuff which they will use to remap it. They had some laptop and said that software is on the way from GM.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2007, 09:35   #11
BHPian
 
rdkarthik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 206
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
No. Within certain limits, your ECU "learns" the new settings and accordingly adjusts/compensates. That's why MPFI cars on K&Ns perform slightly better.
Yes, but only in closed-loop part throttle mode, not in full throttle condition. ECU reflashes to compensate for a better flowing air-filter will definetly help.
rdkarthik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2007, 11:03   #12
BANNED
 
viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,769
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hi Guys,

This is not a new thing but in fact very common. I know that Tata, Hyundai, Toyota and Ford have done it for sure in India. Basically done on new models introduced in India.

This is to take care of any bugs or large amount of complaints made by customers with regards to primarily 1> FE 2> Poor Pick up 3> Low Speed jerks etc.

Viper

PS - These are normally done discreetly without the knowledge of the customer when the car goes to the service centre for servicing. Only the inquisitive customers are told about the same.

Last edited by viper : 26th January 2007 at 11:17.
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2007, 11:13   #13
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,054
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

I think OHC Vtec also had a similar remap to sort out some problems and make the car run smoother. Could be wrong though.

Good that GM is doing this, but I'll wait and watch if it really happens.
Boom Shiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2007, 16:44   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Quote:
PS - These are normally done discreetly without the knowledge of the customer when the car goes to the service centre for servicing. Only the inquisitive customers are told about the same.
So does it mean that if one has a performance Remap (done externally), there is a possibility that the chip is reflashed with the revised stock settings, without knowledge of the owner...
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2007, 16:54   #15
BHPian
 
Deepz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jakarta(originally bombay)
Posts: 98
Thanked: Once
Default

That sounds scary ST7677.
Deepz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda Civic Remap killjoy Modifications & Accessories 39 9th October 2013 14:47
Feedback needed on Skoda Remap! Invinsible Modifications & Accessories 93 15th April 2009 01:37
Did your dealership tell you about ABS and Airbags during delivery of your car? amit The Indian Car Scene 24 10th February 2008 12:44
1991 - Diesel 190 D Mercedes - Remap or Engine Swap ?? vipul_bscity Modifications & Accessories 5 18th January 2008 21:39
ECU remap for Corsa adman77 Modifications & Accessories 3 16th March 2007 22:08


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks