Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories

Modifications & Accessories Engine swaps, forced induction, tyre upgrades, free flowing exhausts....its all in here!

View Poll Results: Which colour for the Fiat 1100/D Special?
Wine Red and White 26 25.74%
Blue and White 28 27.72%
Emerald Green and White 3 2.97%
Midnite Blue and White 44 43.56%
Voters: 101. You may not vote on this poll

Old 24th March 2007, 14:37   #31 (permalink)

wow, talk about quick progress...this threads flying...!

V16, ive got a few brochure soft copies for your model, manuals (including workshop), etc etc lined up and waiting for you....methinks ill have to come down to see the car again this week...

All the best for the restoration, and please, reading this thread i urge you not to go overboard with your rare classic...thats wat padminis are for... Keep her clean and understated....subtle is the key here...

Karl
Old 24th March 2007, 15:13   #32 (permalink)

Default Some pictorial suggestions

Here are some really nice paint combinations.......

Last edited by salilpawar1 : 24th March 2007 at 15:18.
salilpawar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2007, 15:29   #33 (permalink)

Smile Pictorial suggestions 2

These are scale models but u can check out the colour combinations

Old 24th March 2007, 16:12   #34 (permalink)

heres a few more combos...

I have an inclination towards a two tone combo...though invariably it teeters towards looking like a taxi...

Old 24th March 2007, 16:28   #35 (permalink)

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
I have an inclination towards a two tone combo...though invariably it teeters towards looking like a taxi...
Yeah and the last thing V-16 needs is somebody assuming it's a taxi, which can happen given the number of Padmini taxis in Mumbai
Old 24th March 2007, 17:03   #36 (permalink)

Wonderful project on your hands...my father had a similar car & he used to tell me it was SILVER METALLIC when he got it from the Showroom in Delhi.......I wish you all success & would look forward to seeing the progress on the project & the final result.

Just came to my mind.....that you should show the ex-owner the car when it is completed, I'm sure he'd be very happy that he parted with his prized car to the right person...

All the Very Best !!!! Cheers
Old 24th March 2007, 17:24   #37 (permalink)

Thanks Karlos and Salil Pawar for the pics
@ salil pawar - Like the surf blue colour. A friend has an identical car like mone in that colour. Or maybe a nice silver (the Octavia silver)
Old 26th March 2007, 10:21   #38 (permalink)

V-16, congrats on your new buy and best of luck on the project.

P.S. Please check your inbox, have PM'd you.
Old 26th March 2007, 17:34   #39 (permalink)

Thanks Gordon.

Day Three:

The cars been stripped of all its jewellery. First I had to have a look before the work was started. We discussed the possibilities of changing panels but my garage guy talked me outta this. His main reasoning was that there is a difference in the guages of thickness of the two metals. The one on my car is the original as against the thinner material which would be available. I have decided to go and see for myself the stock lying with this so called dealer.
Meanwhile I post the pics of how she looks on day three of our project.

How she looks without her make up!!

I wonder ifthis bench-bucket seat set up is original. I think it always had a full bench....??!!

Huge pots of rust.

Scrapped the Mud guard and found the near original putty (lambi what they call). This means that the car had been scrapped when it was painted.

Next pics...tomorrow when the engine will be separated from the body to reveal the rust on the chassis. Then the engine rebuild follows.
Old 26th March 2007, 17:41   #40 (permalink)

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Then the engine rebuild follows.
Try getting powder coating done to the engine. It will look very nice!

Isn't the Fiat badge in the second pic (below the rear number plate) removable?

Last edited by moralfibre : 26th March 2007 at 17:46.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2007, 20:00   #41 (permalink)

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Try getting powder coating done to the engine. It will look very nice!

Isn't the Fiat badge in the second pic (below the rear number plate) removable?
Kaisa hai Moral Bhai (Hic!!)
Thanks for the suggestion re powder coating the engine. When ur here this sat, we'll go and have a look at it.
Yup the badge is removable but he was still going thru the stripping when i landed and started to click away.
By the way hes done a super duper fab job with my heckflosse bumper. As good as new and what chrome....abs hard (on) chrome man!!
Old 26th March 2007, 20:05   #42 (permalink)

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Kaisa hai Moral Bhai (Hic!!)
I have a severe stomach ache in my head !! 8 drinks is really something I realized when I left.

By the way hes done a super duper fab job with my heckflosse bumper. As good as new and what chrome....abs hard (on) chrome man!!
Wow. Does he do it himself or outsources these jobs?
Old 26th March 2007, 20:10   #43 (permalink)

outsouces it. u gotta see it to believe it.
Old 26th March 2007, 20:10   #44 (permalink)

nice to see work is on in full swing....

a bench seat was offered on the earlier indian cars, but the euro market had the option of a folding backrest like the one in the pics...i cant see yours too clearly, so im not sure of its original...

Old 26th March 2007, 20:19   #45 (permalink)

its just like the one u have in the pic...Karl i can feel it, ull be an integral part of this restoration hope u dont mind..!!