Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th June 2007, 16:39   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Custom code sells the remap software for 300 UKP(Phase 1) as listed on their website. I am guessing its a software upgrade only?

You are right on that one. But they do not sell over the web. So I guess the margins get added on here etc etc. And yes the remap is a "software upgrade"
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 16:41   #47
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Is your remap on/off(like tuning boxes) or its always on? If you reset ECU(eg dead battery , or terminal disconnection) does the remap get overwritten with default software, or its going to stay like this.
Can the service center guys find out this remap?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 16:49   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

The remap cannot be turned off/on, it is "always on". I should assume the ECU would not be re-written or the remap would not be deleted if one was to remove the battery (as the battery may have to be removed for various resasons). So the remap once written just stays that way till you re-write. Service guys or anyone that drives the remaped car would be able to tell the difference within the first 500mts
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 17:28   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

bit off-topic can we re-map a ford ikon 1.3exi?
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 18:17   #50
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
bit off-topic can we re-map a ford ikon 1.3exi?
I doubt it but you can check with turboindia
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 19:29   #51
Team-BHP Support
 
manson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,548
Thanked: 2,036 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
bit off-topic can we re-map a ford ikon 1.3exi?
viper's triphase module is something you might wanna have a look at, from what i have seen it had reasonable gains apart from the free revving honda and suzukis.
lookup the reviews section for further details, the product has been discussed extensively across the forum.

manson.
manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 19:43   #52
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
bit off-topic can we re-map a ford ikon 1.3exi?
A Tri-phase = 18000
A Standalone ECM by RDKarthik = 25000

The Standalone needless to say is much better bang for the buck, just my two cents.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 19:53   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,834
Thanked: 222 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
If you reset ECU(eg dead battery , or terminal disconnection) does the remap get overwritten with default software, or its going to stay like this.
Can the service center guys find out this remap?
If you reset ECU, only values being pulled from sensors gets erased. No the remap. Example: The remap is written on the Hard disc and values from sensors on the RAM.

Service guys can check using the diagnostics equipment showing map version. And of course by driving....
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 20:12   #54
BANNED
 
viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,769
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
A Tri-phase = 18000
A Standalone ECM by RDKarthik = 25000

The Standalone needless to say is much better bang for the buck, just my two cents.
@BUSA - I suggest you check with me before giving incorrect information on TBHP. The correct MRP for the Tri-Phase is Rs13500/- w.e.f 1st April 2007.

Viper
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 21:25   #55
Senior - BHPian
 
ported_head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 2,391
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

You guys might want to take a second look at how a standalone EMS (ala Race Dynamics) and a IAT signal modifier (Tri-Phase) both work. They principles of operation are different. And would be incorrect to discuss their VFM based only on prices.
ported_head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 09:30   #56
BHPian
 
Ford Rocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai-India
Posts: 880
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
A Tri-phase = 18000
A Standalone ECM by RDKarthik = 25000

The Standalone needless to say is much better bang for the buck, just my two cents.
You need to add 30-40k (price can vary depending upon setup/engine/complexity eg:turbo) for setting up of standalone & tuning, imo standalone should be used only if you are thinking of some serious mods.

Last edited by Ford Rocam : 28th June 2007 at 09:31.
Ford Rocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 11:10   #57
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford Rocam View Post
You need to add 30-40k (price can vary depending upon setup/engine/complexity eg:turbo) for setting up of standalone & tuning, imo standalone should be used only if you are thinking of some serious mods.
Jitu, I guess RDkarthik's ECU has shaved off 1 sec from a stock swifts 0-100 timings. I would be pretty happy with that. Since they have the base maps ready for most cars, tuning ain't that big a headache for stock cars. Its only when you need custom maps the complexities in tuning up arise.

Besides its any day better to go in for a standalone even if it costs twice the amount of an IAT signal modifier IMHO. Other mods can soon follow.
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 12:16   #58
BHPian
 
Ford Rocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai-India
Posts: 880
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

[quote]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
Jitu, I guess RDkarthik's ECU has shaved off 1 sec from a stock swifts 0-100 timings. I would be pretty happy with that. Since they have the base maps ready for most cars,
Thats the advantage of standalone, altering fuel & ignition with slightly increase in rev limit can do the job, 100 should be coming in second gear where as in stock i think you need to shift to 3rd (i am not sure on swift can somebody pls confirm)

Quote:

tuning ain't that big a headache for stock cars. Its only when you need custom maps the complexities in tuning up arise.
Ya thats where standalone comes in to picture.

Quote:
Besides its any day better to go in for a standalone even if it costs twice the amount of an IAT signal modifier IMHO. Other mods can soon follow
.

Last edited by Ford Rocam : 28th June 2007 at 12:17.
Ford Rocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 17:59   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Dont You Gentlemen Feel This Thread Has Gone Way Too Off Topic ????
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 18:08   #60
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Ricky, what do u feel about the reliability of ur Octavia after the remap?
Don't U think it'll come down and were U ok with it before U took the blue pill and went ahead with the remap??
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Skoda Octavia 1.9TDi, what to buy as a replacement ? Amey Sedans 18 9th October 2010 01:58
Additional Lights for Skoda Octavia 1.9TDi arunjohnpaul Modifications & Accessories 16 15th November 2008 15:10
Wtb: 2004 - 2006 Skoda Octavia 1.9tdi R32_GTR Shifting gears 1 2nd June 2007 12:07
Skoda Octavia 1.9Tdi Rtech Long-Term Ownership Reviews 49 7th May 2005 20:42


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks