Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th January 2008, 12:11   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangy
Posts: 1,283
Thanked: 275 Times
Default Gtech Pro EGS - The complete all in one meter??

OMG!OMG!
See the pic:



Wideband afr expandibility,obd2 diagnostics,everything you might want to know about your car!

Time to sell a kidney ..

Original linky

Last edited by binz : 16th January 2008 at 12:13.
binz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 16th January 2008, 13:40   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
V-16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 4,520
Thanked: 701 Times
Default

OH MY GOD!! Absolute drool maal. I want one!!
V-16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 13:47   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,219
Thanked: 588 Times
Default

woow, thats amazing, whats the cost?
amit_mechengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 13:58   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
V-16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 4,520
Thanked: 701 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
woow, thats amazing, whats the cost?
Click on the linky provided in the first post and see. Its only 279 US$. Think its worth every penny

Click Here GTech-Pro Model SS
V-16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:09   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,550
Thanked: 402 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binz View Post
Time to sell a kidney ..

Yours or the cars' ?
esteem_lover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:09   #6
BHPian
 
vikram18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: pune
Posts: 615
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Click on the linky provided in the first post and see. Its only 279 US$. Think its worth every penny

Click Here GTech-Pro Model SS
That's without the shift light. Think our old snake will throw in a discount for 2 of these?
vikram18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:13   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

279$ for the basic kit. Everything else is optional and jacks up the final price. 320$ for the one with the shift lights.

Are the older ones available in India? Any idea about the price?

Last edited by shuvd : 16th January 2008 at 14:22.
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:24   #8
BHPian
 
raghuram.cg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 127
Thanked: 0 Times
Default calibration

From the pic looks like the Digital and Analog are not in sinc right?
Analog-8k rpm
Digital-7456 rpm
raghuram.cg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:36   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 8,561
Thanked: 2,648 Times
Default

one thing i just dont get. how does it pick up rpms from the cig lighter, and accurately?
akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 15:17   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangy
Posts: 1,283
Thanked: 275 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
one thing i just dont get. how does it pick up rpms from the cig lighter, and accurately?
That was on the ss and rr models,its there on the site .. some tech.PRetty accurate though,seen it on vikrams swift.

This one doesnt connect to the ciggy lighter though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raghuram.cg View Post
From the pic looks like the Digital and Analog are not in sinc right?
Analog-8k rpm
Digital-7456 rpm
Yeah somethings definately wrong,the video shows both in sync though.

Last edited by binz : 16th January 2008 at 15:20.
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 15:19   #11
Distinguished - BHPian
 
akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 8,561
Thanked: 2,648 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binz View Post
That was on the ss and rr models,its there on the site .. some tech.PRetty accurate though,seen it on vikrams swift.

This one doesnt connect to the ciggy lighter though.
where does this connect?
akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 15:23   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangy
Posts: 1,283
Thanked: 275 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
where does this connect?
Wherever all tachos normally connect Says it can read rpm off obd.
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 16:23   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 19,706
Thanked: 8,489 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
one thing i just dont get. how does it pick up rpms from the cig lighter, and accurately?
Its a frequency meter. Your DC voltage has slight "AC" component. This is the case with all alternators.
However if your alternator does not spin at the same speed as the engine(rare case), you will get wrong reading.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 16:49   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 8,561
Thanked: 2,648 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Its a frequency meter. Your DC voltage has slight "AC" component. This is the case with all alternators.
However if your alternator does not spin at the same speed as the engine(rare case), you will get wrong reading.
aah.. thanks tsk. but its probably quite a feat to get it so accurately. tried vipers gtech in my innova. just a litle calibration and it was as good as the stock tacho.
akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 16:58   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 19,706
Thanked: 8,489 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
aah.. thanks tsk. but its probably quite a feat to get it so accurately. tried vipers gtech in my innova. just a litle calibration and it was as good as the stock tacho.
It actually depends on how clean is your DC circuit. Many high end cars have effective AC blockers which clean out most of the AC component out of the circut.
No need to worry for cars south of 10L.
When its plugged into the DC socket, the first step is a Capacitor in series, which takes removes the DC component.
After that comes a high precision amplifier(this is the expensive part) to boost the AC signal. I presume a 20X Gain is needed.
Next step is a frequency counter. This is a simple circuit.

I am sure, give Navin a few transistors/op-amps/capacitors/resistors, and he will give you a rpm meter which is uglier than hell and as accurate as Gtech, and costs less than 20$
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking For Meter Pods buzzin_hornets Modifications & Accessories 18 18th May 2011 10:01
Gtech Pro X-Machine Modifications & Accessories 15 16th August 2008 10:01
Gtech Pro SS X-Machine Shifting gears 1 17th May 2006 10:20
Wanted:Gtech Pro RR... veyron1 Shifting gears 3 7th December 2005 11:43
Gtech .. ???? khaadu75 Modifications & Accessories 3 5th January 2005 00:17


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2014, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks