Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th April 2008, 12:49   #1
BHPian
 
tabrez02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 286
Thanked: 5 Times
Question Connecting Digital Speedo to Swift

Dear ALL

Request you to let me know if i can connect a Digital speedo to my Swift, Basicaly i need to know which wire sends signals to the digital speedo.

Regards
Tabrez
tabrez02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2008, 17:25   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
JayD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin! At last
Posts: 3,195
Thanked: 1,999 Times
Default

Do u mean digital speedo as in the civic??
If your normal speedo is the electronic type, can't the signal be taken from there??
JayD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2008, 19:19   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,391
Thanked: 352 Times
Default

IF you are looking at adding additional Speedo, then you might be able to get signals from OBD II port and attach OBD reader that displays RPM/Speed.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 13:05   #4
BHPian
 
tabrez02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 286
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Frankly speak i have got a HUD display, in that there is a wire which has to go to the Speedo. And mine is Swift,

Any technical experts comments on this ?
tabrez02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 12:03   #5
BHPian
 
babhishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KOLKATA
Posts: 315
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

the OBD on the swift and most of the suzuki's really suck!!
I think the baleno is the only exception..
so OBD option is out....

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
IF you are looking at adding additional Speedo, then you might be able to get signals from OBD II port and attach OBD reader that displays RPM/Speed.
babhishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 12:29   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: goa
Posts: 1,066
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

hey tabrez02 do mean speedo or rev counter [tachometer] if it a tach than you can get the input from the original tach input, for the speedo there has to be electronic speedo in the first place as oem then you can connect to that wiring itself. or you will have to get the sensors and other associated components from the place you got the unit. or make one .
dinar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 12:54   #7
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I've seen some Swifts with electronic speedos fitted. And they all were working fine. Maybe they aren't accurate to the core.
Get in touch with Viper! I've seen him helping out another bhpian fit one in his Swift.
You can also get help from V16. He has one in his Swift too.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 13:16   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,391
Thanked: 352 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babhishek View Post
the OBD on the swift and most of the suzuki's really suck!!
I think the baleno is the only exception..
I don't have first hand experience with OBD, but its supposed to be a requirement for any card to be sold in EU. So its strange that Suzuki will not implement it properly in swift.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 13:16   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
You can also get help from V16. He has one in his Swift too.
Zak - He has a digital tacho not a speedo.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 16:16   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: goa
Posts: 1,066
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

For speed reading one will need senors on the wheels or the drive shaft, nothing with OBD, unless the car is equipped with ABS.
dinar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 17:57   #11
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: KL
Posts: 4,712
Thanked: 3,660 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinar View Post
For speed reading one will need senors on the wheels or the drive shaft, nothing with OBD, unless the car is equipped with ABS.
My friend redfire's swift doesn't have ABS, but he has got a central locking system which will lock all the doors if the car exceeds 20kmph. So if that has to work then definitely an electronic signal regarding speed is provided by the ECU to the central locking control unit.

In that case it should be possible to connect an electronic speedo to that source. ECU geeks and tuners may be able to provide more information here in this thread.
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 18:17   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 937 Times
Default

The best person to answer this will be RDKarthik as he know what all the ECU controls and also he has the wiring diagrams for it.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 22:58   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: goa
Posts: 1,066
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
My friend redfire's swift doesn't have ABS, but he has got a central locking system which will lock all the doors if the car exceeds 20kmph. So if that has to work then definitely an electronic signal regarding speed is provided by the ECU to the central locking control unit.

In that case it should be possible to connect an electronic speedo to that source. ECU geeks and tuners may be able to provide more information here in this thread.
The Ecu will give a output at a set speed to the central locking , for speed sensing one will need a proper speed senor, that give the output proportional to the speed of the car. That to the system will need to be hacked before the ecm and senor placed there[ if the speedo on the car is electronic in the first place like I mentioned], the output will not appear at the OBD.
dinar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2008, 23:22   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
IronWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Benga-loo-ru
Posts: 1,569
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabrez02 View Post
Frankly speak i have got a HUD display, in that there is a wire which has to go to the Speedo. And mine is Swift,
What brand and model HUD is this?
IronWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2008, 12:01   #15
BHPian
 
babhishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KOLKATA
Posts: 315
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

check it out on a friend's car.. I am talking of the Indian swift. to top it off the MASS mechanics don't even know where the OBD port is.
Bought an OBD II unit and had to sell it off. Tested it in my Swift, friend's swift, alto zen and Esteem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
I don't have first hand experience with OBD, but its supposed to be a requirement for any card to be sold in EU. So its strange that Suzuki will not implement it properly in swift.
babhishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does your Maruti Swift speedo over-read? phamilyman Technical Stuff 41 31st December 2009 13:10
Digital Speedo In CBZ NOTORIOUS Motorbikes 7 14th June 2009 14:50
Digital Speedo naveendhyani Technical Stuff 31 25th December 2006 02:15
Digital Trip Meter in SWIFT passioncool74 Technical Stuff 2 10th November 2006 12:12
my speedo ended !!!- zen needle crosses last point on speedo speed0mania Street Experiences 81 11th August 2006 12:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks