Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th June 2008, 22:05   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madurai
Posts: 1,006
Thanked: 645 Times
Default Help on the Safari 3.0 Dicor performance module

This is for the Italian boys and Steer.
Guys I just ordered a Dimensione add on module for my Safari 3.0 DICOR.
I hope to receive it in about a week. What exactly do I do with it? Is it plug and play? I would be grateful for some detailed info on fitting it and also about any mod that needs to be done in conjunction with the fitting. looking forward to your reply.
For those interested, I bought it from xtream4X4 for euro 380.
Steer, would be glad for help based on your experience.
jyobeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2008, 17:55   #2
BHPian
 
Ignazio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Turin-Italy
Posts: 128
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Hi,
unfortunately I have no experience on this, as my engine is 2.0L and I have no electronics running it!
For what I heard around it should be an add on, a simple plug and play between your ecu and the connector. Give me a shout if you need any help especially in translation!

Ciao

Ignazio
Ignazio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2008, 18:27   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,834
Thanked: 1,503 Times
Default

Nothing much needs to be done other than splicing a wire for a power input to the unit. The enclosed instructions are self explanatory and with your experience I'm sure you will have no trouble at all getting this module connected.

Please note that your TEMP gauge will show a higher temperature when you run with the module. It will hover around the half-way mark and in very heavy stop&go scenarios it will go slightly (very slightly) above the half-way mark. Anything more and you have a problem.

Did you also get the optional Euro 25 switch ? Its very useful as it allows you to turn the module on or off from the dashboard.

Last edited by Steeroid : 11th June 2008 at 18:28.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008, 19:37   #4
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default hey

hey bro,,do keep us updated on your conquest with the dicor module, been tracking any updates on this module as it requires a lot of cash,please do post its cost and significant performance gains,thanks
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 12:37   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 655 Times
Default

And what does this Dimensione do exactly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyobeb View Post
This is for the Italian boys and Steer.
Guys I just ordered a Dimensione add on module for my Safari 3.0 DICOR.
I hope to receive it in about a week. What exactly do I do with it? Is it plug and play? I would be grateful for some detailed info on fitting it and also about any mod that needs to be done in conjunction with the fitting. looking forward to your reply.
For those interested, I bought it from xtream4X4 for euro 380.
Steer, would be glad for help based on your experience.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 15:01   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madurai
Posts: 1,006
Thanked: 645 Times
Default

I don't know why I wrote Dimensione. The module is called the rapid module.
Details are here.
Centralina Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor 116CV - xtream4x4.it
jyobeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2008, 22:31   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madurai
Posts: 1,006
Thanked: 645 Times
Default

Hi guys! Fitted the power box yesterday. The damned guys sent it to me through TNT Skypak and I had to pay Rs 9000/- as customs duty. Have someone pick it up for you from abroad if you want to buy one.
Anyhow, the fitting was very straight forward. You basically fit it between the ecm and the common rail sensor. The fitting took all of 30 minutes out of which 15 was for removing and refitting the engine cover.
The power increase is very apparent and actually makes the 3.0 a hoot to drive. I am guessing that it is as quick as the 2.2. The torque increase is also very evident with the car doing power slides on sandy roads while accelerating.
All in all, expensive but has made me decide to keep the Dicor for another year or two.

Last edited by jyobeb : 26th June 2008 at 22:38.
jyobeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2008, 22:39   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Jyobeb,

Can you please post some photos of the setup?

I wonder what this module will do to the 2.2? Mmmm....
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2008, 22:40   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Great to see you're enjoying the italian job,John.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2008, 22:41   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

I don't think that this particular module can be used for the 2.2. The ECU mappings of the 2.2 will be different and will not work with this. The companies need to come out with a module specifically for the 2.2
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2008, 22:43   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madurai
Posts: 1,006
Thanked: 645 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Great to see you're enjoying the italian job,John.
Absolutely pal. I was a bit worried 'cos it was a blind buy and an expensive one at that. However, worth it, except for the damned duty.
jyobeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2008, 08:41   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madurai
Posts: 1,006
Thanked: 645 Times
Default

Here are a couple of pictures.
The 1st is the box and the 2nd is the connector to the common rail.
Attached Thumbnails
Help on the Safari 3.0 Dicor performance module-dsc02555.jpg  

Help on the Safari 3.0 Dicor performance module-dsc02553.jpg  


Last edited by jyobeb : 27th June 2008 at 08:42.
jyobeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2008, 10:08   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
simply_sunny001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London & Rohtak
Posts: 1,339
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Congrats Jyobeb and thats nice to know that you got some extra BHPs.

Please post a detailed review 0-100 timings and specific areas where you feel that this product has done wonders to your vehicle.
simply_sunny001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2008, 10:20   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Wont a CAI help along with this?

Enjoy the beast.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2008, 11:27   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,834
Thanked: 1,503 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyobeb View Post
Here are a couple of pictures.
The 1st is the box and the 2nd is the connector to the common rail.
You've left your box in the engine bay?

I'd put mine under the carpets below the dashboard.

Congrats and hope the performance lives up to what I had tried to describe, but OUCH that customs duty must've hurt!!!
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance box for Safari Dicor BUSA Modifications & Accessories 93 8th August 2010 00:09
Tata Safari Dicor LX 4 X 2 or Safari Dicor EX 4 x 2 Digitalmafia SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 55 1st June 2009 17:31
Safari 3.0 dicor or 2.2 VTT dicor ? tabrez02 SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 49 30th December 2008 12:56
Safari TCIC LX or Safari DICOR LX arindam SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 19 10th January 2007 17:42


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks