Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd June 2008, 23:59   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,224
Thanked: 1,176 Times
Default

If you are okay with spending a bit, the 4G92 MIVEC head can be bolted onto a 4G94. A difficult mod yes but very much possible.

It however might be more sensible to just get a 2.4L 4G69 engine which is a direct bolt on.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 24th June 2008 at 00:03.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 00:04   #17
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,471
Thanked: 19,385 Times
Default

MIVEC for low end?? May improve it a bit but not worth it. Mivec is more for top end. I think it will be a pretty major mod not just a head replacement.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 00:08   #18
BHPian
 
Torqueguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 277
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Wo Wo Wo! Ok ROC, lets keep a bolting on, as strictly not one of the options right now
Torqueguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 00:09   #19
BHPian
 
Torqueguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 277
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman91 View Post
stock ecm's are tuned for maximum efficiency. Not maximum torque. Also please read what i have written. Turbos can be set to spool earlier.
Thats what even i understood.
Torqueguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 00:15   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
razor4077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,875
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Would a Fuel Pressure Regulator help?
razor4077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 00:16   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,224
Thanked: 1,176 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
MIVEC for low end?? May improve it a bit but not worth it. Mivec is more for top end. I think it will be a pretty major mod not just a head replacement.
The difference is the head is DOHC unlike the SOHC stock head... quite a few folks on evolutionm forums have done this particular mod.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 00:39   #22
BHPian
 
RedMM340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: on the move
Posts: 459
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqueguru View Post
@RedMM340
"But keep in mind that the improvement will just one size smaller tires will be small, and you may not realize it unless you know the limitations of your current brakes. This would mean race track driving or rally driving where you push your brakes to the limit of their capabilities."
My tyre config is 205 15 60, according to what you say, what shold be the front and rear tyre configs be?

I cannot tell you what size tire to run. You will have to look at what is available similar to your tire size. Perhaps a 195 15 60 or 195 15 50 would work. About 12 to 15 mm smaller overall diameter would be a safe bet. A 25 mm reduction is a large one and you would have to be careful about ground clearance issues.

Just changing the front tires should do the trick since yours is a front wheel drive.
RedMM340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 00:51   #23
BHPian
 
RedMM340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: on the move
Posts: 459
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman91 View Post
stock ecm's are tuned for maximum efficiency. Not maximum torque. Also please read what i have written. Turbos can be set to spool earlier.

O.k., I see where you said that a replacement ECM will make very little difference. What I disagree with is that I don't think that you can get a replacement ECM to perform better at low rpm.

Right, stock ecms are tuned for max efficiency, which is the same as good low end grunt. The way to drive for max efficiency is to keep the rpm as low as possible in the highest gear possible. This is low end torque. This is the reason mass production engines have small intake throttle bodies and exhaust pipes with restriction. They are designed to provide good torque at low throttle or rpm.

Turbos can be set to spool earlier, if they are designed correctly. Early spooling turbos may use variable geometry, ball bearings, and specifically designed plumbing. The turbo aspect ratio and design is tuned exactly to the engine, and this is done by the factory. This type of work is beyond the scope of the weekend tuner. Aftermarket turbos just can't be as well matched as a major car manufacturer would. You would be lucky to have a aftermarket turbo to spool up to full boost by 3000 rpm.
RedMM340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 01:29   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedMM340 View Post
I cannot tell you what size tire to run. You will have to look at what is available similar to your tire size. Perhaps a 195 15 60 or 195 15 50 would work. About 12 to 15 mm smaller overall diameter would be a safe bet. A 25 mm reduction is a large one and you would have to be careful about ground clearance issues.

Just changing the front tires should do the trick since yours is a front wheel drive.
Gaurav - A problem he'll encounter with narrower front tyres on a car like the Cedia will be understeer. While it might not be a problem on Jeep's it'll certainly be frustrating on a well handling car like the Cedia.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 01:33   #25
BHPian
 
RedMM340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: on the move
Posts: 459
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Gaurav - A problem he'll encounter with narrower front tyres on a car like the Cedia will be understeer. While it might not be a problem on Jeep's it'll certainly be frustrating on a well handling car like the Cedia.

Well then he can change all 4 tires.

Jeeps always have all 4 tires of the same size due to the 4 wheel drive.
RedMM340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 02:00   #26
BHPian
 
Torqueguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 277
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedMM340 View Post
Well then he can change all 4 tires.

Jeeps always have all 4 tires of the same size due to the 4 wheel drive.
Any idea on how Sedans behave handling wise when this kind of downsizing the profile is done just for the front wheels?
Torqueguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 03:20   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: bombay
Posts: 440
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

ECU Standalone , CAM , Clutch , engine swap . . . I dont think you want to go turbo on a Mitsubishi ?
cyneverdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 04:06   #28
BHPian
 
Torqueguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 277
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

I am not looking at an Engine Swap or a turbo at this point in time. And whats wrong with mitsus n turbos?
Regards,
TG.
Torqueguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 04:36   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
DirtyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dharamsala
Posts: 1,798
Thanked: 745 Times
Default

I think you are fast approaching the area where your ever-increasing mods will give you ever decreasing "grunt return" per rupee spent. Maybe time to look for a new screamer?

I somewhat disagree on the turbo issue. There are modern 2 stage turbos and variable turbos that are "instant on" and do supply low end torque. But they are EXPENSIVE.
DirtyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 07:10   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDan View Post
I think you are fast approaching the area where your ever-increasing mods will give you ever decreasing "grunt return" per rupee spent. Maybe time to look for a new screamer?

I somewhat disagree on the turbo issue. There are modern 2 stage turbos and variable turbos that are "instant on" and do supply low end torque. But they are EXPENSIVE.
Finally.. Someone who got what i have been tryin to say...
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ritz modification - How to increase low end torque funda2max Modifications & Accessories 35 3rd March 2015 13:41
Repeat EXAMM! The ghost of 1st low vs 2nd low descent haunts us again... and how! Tejas@perioimpl 4x4 Excursions 41 23rd September 2010 14:16
Increase Low end torque in Swift Petrol pshyamsundar Modifications & Accessories 5 4th April 2007 12:30
How to increase the pick up and top speed of a Machismo? Rayden Motorbikes 1 3rd April 2006 10:55


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:02.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks