Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd August 2008, 14:12   #61
Senior - BHPian
 
blueraven316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,109
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

There are some things which are done for "spite", just like that!
There might be a reason behind the ferrari's having a push start button, but this is just for fun, if this gives one a feel good factor, then yes, it's fine.
I installed one of these switches in a Civic a month ago, it looks cool.
blueraven316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008, 14:17   #62
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,839
Thanked: 7,207 Times
Default

Fair enough. If it makes you feel good, then it's a success!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008, 14:17   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Agree with Satya,
A lot of things are not done out of necessity but out of desire.
(Wow i did not know i could come up with stuff like that )
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008, 15:57   #64
evo
BHPian
 
evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kolkata/Shillong
Posts: 755
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Hehe..totally agree with you iceman, a red starter button is should not be asked to pass the logic test simply because it is A Red Starter Button!
evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008, 16:25   #65
BHPian
 
inder_s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 238
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Hi Guys,

I always wanted to have a Start Button in my beamer but haven't tried it yet.

BMW E36 Start Button

Anyone who's done it successfully in E36?
inder_s1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008, 17:16   #66
BHPian
 
vinayvtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 390
Thanked: 9 Times
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by evo View Post
@vinay. Have you got it installed? How is it?
No buddy, not yet. I have got some links for placing the order. I am just busy with other things, will get it done shortly. I was able to find a consol where I get 2 flight switch and a ignition starter,with a emergency circuit breaker.

I am not looking for a keyless entry, but there is some other purpose of getting push button ignition. The first reason is definitely wow factor and the second one refers to the future mod that would be coming on the car.
vinayvtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2008, 23:22   #67
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,229 Times
Default

i got one installed in my esteem today..
Attached Thumbnails
Push Button Start / Ignition-snc00006-desktop-resolution.jpg  

Push Button Start / Ignition-snc00008-desktop-resolution.jpg  

Push Button Start / Ignition-snc00009-desktop-resolution.jpg  

Push Button Start / Ignition-snc00007-desktop-resolution.jpg  

frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2008, 00:08   #68
BHPian
 
satya180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 166
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

@frankmehta: i think it looks real hot man. from where did u get the install done and for how much?
thanks
satya180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2008, 01:16   #69
BHPian
 
ankitahuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gurgaon & Delhi
Posts: 887
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

@frankmehta: NICE! Do post a day time picture with the lid on and off.

Also, what part does the key play now? Do you still need it to turn on the battery etc? Costs!?
ankitahuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2008, 01:37   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,229 Times
Default

i got the install done at opera house..
i havent paid for it yet but hes a friend so might be able to get it for cheap
@ankit the key plays exactly the same role if u want it to.. the button only works when the key is in and turned to the ignition step.. the one in which the oil and other lights come on the odo
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2008, 01:50   #71
BHPian
 
adi99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 274
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
i got the install done at opera house..
i havent paid for it yet but hes a friend so might be able to get it for cheap
@ankit the key plays exactly the same role if u want it to.. the button only works when the key is in and turned to the ignition step.. the one in which the oil and other lights come on the odo
May be a stupid question but does it work if you have an engine immobilizer?
adi99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2008, 02:25   #72
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,229 Times
Default

i thought so too..
not recommended if u have an immobilizer
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 16:14   #73
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 156
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Hi brother,

Would be great if you could -

- let me know the price ( iginition button + install )
- is it easy to get the button in market
- & anything else which you would advise to install this button
passion4cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 00:32   #74
BHPian
 
nikibusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vikhroli - (Mumbai)
Posts: 714
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Frank.. Does it also work as a stop switch. Cause i have seen few switches which say Start/Stop. Can you please shed some more information
nikibusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 01:15   #75
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,229 Times
Default

hey tbhpians. loved the response to the button. its been a month and its been working flawlessly.
the answers to the questions:
COST: ABOUT 2K
its not easy to get my button for reasons not known to me. maybe cos of the amount of time and skill needed for installation which shop ppl think is a waste.

it does NOT stop the engine and is not a kill switch, it just starts the engine once the key is in and in the ignition position. simple as that
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Niken Gear Knob With engine start button? swarnava.m Modifications & Accessories 3 25th May 2012 15:07
Swift VXI : Flat battery. Push start didn't work? amitk2kin Technical Stuff 29 28th May 2011 14:33
Button start and Horn problem amtak Motorbikes 3 23rd August 2010 12:20
Use of Push Button Starter mithun Technical Stuff 33 8th December 2007 23:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:17.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks