Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th November 2010, 07:56   #301
BHPian
 
crazydiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore/San Francisco
Posts: 854
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Just consider the rally car to be a reference point, nothing else. If they had a curve for a stock car I would have preferred posting that. I couldnt get anyone with a stock baleno to come with me.

Anything this will be again a reference point for the next run, so all in all good.

Sutripta, am not really sure about dips, which I am yet to discuss with Ron. The first dip seems to be because of the way they dyno the car I think. Am not too sure about that also, but it seems to be there in all the dyno charts. Check out the charts of Red rage.
crazydiablo is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 11:00   #302
BHPian
 
Avinash_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 174
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

nicely modded car.. If you are still bent on selling it, please post your ad in the new classifieds. The old one is not present anymore.
Avinash_R is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 20:30   #303
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 3,506
Thanked: 2,072 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydiablo View Post
...
Sutripta, am not really sure about dips, which I am yet to discuss with Ron. The first dip seems to be because of the way they dyno the car I think. Am not too sure about that also, but it seems to be there in all the dyno charts. Check out the charts of Red rage.
Hi,
Yes, you are right. The first dip seems to be a dyno artifact. Still, the difference in rpm is puzzling.

A couple of questions since you were there:

Was the car jacked up on the lower arm, or the chassis?
What was done to the other wheel? (How do you ensure no differential action)
OT: The brake- was it a Telma, or something else?
OT: Did anyone get a bike dynoed? (Incidentally, how do you dyno a non CV carb bike on an inertial. Would like to compare brake and inertial type readings in that case.)

Regards
Sutripta

Last edited by Sutripta : 17th November 2010 at 20:31.
Sutripta is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 20:53   #304
BHPian
 
crazydiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore/San Francisco
Posts: 854
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

The car was jacked on the chassis. Both the front wheels are connected to the dyno and matched for rpm.

I am not sure about the brake.

Its a car dyno, I doubt a bike can be dynoed on this.

Last edited by crazydiablo : 17th November 2010 at 20:57.
crazydiablo is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 20:58   #305
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 3,506
Thanked: 2,072 Times
Default

^^^
Wonder how much of an effect driveshaft angles will have.
How is rpm matched?

Bike:- adapter at drive sprocket?

Regards
Sutripta
Sutripta is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 21:27   #306
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

Sutripta, car was jacked only to remove the wheels, once wheels were removed the hubs were bolted on then connected to the dyno on both front wheels. Once locked to the dyno jacks were removed.
Vid6639 is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 21:49   #307
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 3,506
Thanked: 2,072 Times
Default

^^^^
OK. That means the dynos supported the front weight of the car.

There is no mechanical lock between the two units. How were the speeds matched? Only through the control software?
Does anyone know the powerloss in a differential?

Regards
Sutripta

Last edited by Sutripta : 17th November 2010 at 21:51.
Sutripta is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 22:06   #308
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sutripta View Post
^^^^
OK. That means the dynos supported the front weight of the car.

There is no mechanical lock between the two units. How were the speeds matched? Only through the control software?
Does anyone know the powerloss in a differential?

Regards
Sutripta
There is no lock in between the 2 units. What do you mean by speeds matched? The speeds have to be matched by the car itself. If they weren't the car wouldn't drive straight.

The dyno first performs a calibration to determine the drive ratio at a controlled 2000rpm. After the drive ratio is found and rpm calibrated, the run is started.
Vid6639 is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 22:18   #309
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 3,506
Thanked: 2,072 Times
Default

^^^^
Open differential. Same torque (not speed) to both hubs.

Regards
Sutripta
Sutripta is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 22:31   #310
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sutripta View Post
^^^^
Open differential. Same torque (not speed) to both hubs.

Regards
Sutripta
That's if the steering is turned, not when dead straight. Anyways if there's no lock what's the issue I don't understand? Like I said they are calibrated by running the setup at 2000rpm.
Vid6639 is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 22:33   #311
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
That's if the steering is turned, not when dead straight. Anyways if there's no lock what's the issue I don't understand? Like I said they are calibrated by running the setup at 2000rpm.
Torque steering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
pranavt is offline  
Old 17th November 2010, 22:40   #312
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
Yeah, that's the only way I figured as well, torque steer. In 4th gear even if there is torque steer on the dyno, how will it affect the reading? Just trying to understand.
Vid6639 is offline  
Old 18th November 2010, 10:44   #313
Senior - BHPian
 
kutlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,126
Thanked: 194 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
The dyno first performs a calibration to determine the drive ratio at a controlled 2000rpm. After the drive ratio is found and rpm calibrated, the run is started.
The run is done at 4th gear since it is closest to 1:1. There is no drive ratio taken into consideration (to make matters simple lol). also i think the losses were input based on the dyno fellow's discretion .
the only thing the guy did was match the eninge rpm to the rpm on the dyno at 2000. That too based on the stock tacho on the car which is not accurate.
kutlee is offline  
Old 18th November 2010, 20:40   #314
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 3,506
Thanked: 2,072 Times
Default

First of all, CrazyD, sorry for hijacking your thread. Logically these discussions should belong to one of the dynamometer threads, or to to the Red Rooster thread. Maybe the mods can move it there.

@vid, pranavt. No not talking of torque steer.

Take the case of the dyno attached to one hub with load set, and two extreme cases for the other hub: A) Hub free, and B) Hub locked.

In case A) the free hub will rotate (at 2x), the dyno hub remaining stationary.
In case B) the dyno hub will rotate (at 2x), the free hub remaining stationary.
This is what we see in real life, and is easy to envisage.

If we now attach a dyno to the previously free hub, but with the same two loadings (no load, very high load), we will get the same results.

Because of the open diff, the result will still be the same even if dyno loading is SLIGHTLY higher or lower. Theoretically both hubs will turn at the same speed only if the loadings are exactly the same. Otherwise, one hub will stop turning. Practically we do have a slight spread.

Total power output is the sum of the outputs of the two dynos, so hub speed should not matter. But the differential will come into play, and will absorb some power. Also, a machine constantly trying to correct its braking torque will not be stable. Neither will make for consistent (let alone accurate) readings.

Regards
Sutripta
Sutripta is offline  
Old 19th November 2010, 11:19   #315
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,748
Thanked: 7,466 Times
Default

Isn't this what they try to rule out with the initial set up run? i saw that rpm of both the wheels were almost same when that reading was taken. They do this couple of time and was done for all cars and the machine calibrates itself and check all parameters like drive ratio etc, after this the actual runs start.
Jaggu is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engineering Students build India's 1st Solar-Powered Vehicle S2!!! Technical Stuff 0 9th July 2014 16:42
Latest RDDreams RD350 shibu Motorbikes 38 25th July 2013 12:32
The Frankenbike Build: My Honda CBR 600 F3 Build-Off ap10046 Superbikes & Imports 16 16th July 2013 14:26
My T-RX - Street Build from RX135 (Update & Pics on Pg.2) furioussphinx Motorbikes 37 23rd July 2010 09:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks