Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th September 2008, 20:21   #31
BHPian
 
crazydiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore/San Francisco
Posts: 854
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Joel, no wonder, I thought you knew something I didnt.

Jaggu, will do it man, will do it. Check with Tom also and then we will go for a spin.
crazydiablo is offline  
Old 16th September 2008, 20:40   #32
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 956
Thanked: 368 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydiablo View Post
...
Street Cam
...
Smoothly idling at 750 rpm.
Hi CrazyDiablo, nice mods

Can I ask what profile cam you're running ?

Is it a fresh-billet or a re-profile of the stock one ?

Also, are you using a vernier pulley for the cam ?
im_srini is offline  
Old 16th September 2008, 20:47   #33
BHPian
 
fieroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 701
Thanked: 286 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydiablo View Post
Joel, no wonder, I thought you knew something I didnt.
I sure wanna check out the car in flesh though. Would love to see if my thoughts and the works are actually matching. Let me know when you are free. I'm free this weekend.
fieroid is offline  
Old 16th September 2008, 20:56   #34
BHPian
 
crazydiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore/San Francisco
Posts: 854
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

@Srini: Its a new cam, I still have the stock cam with me. No I am not using a adjustable cam gear, if thats what you asked. Its just a 'mild' street cam.

@Joel: Will catch up man, caught up with so many things. I thought you moved away from balenos! he he....

Last edited by crazydiablo : 16th September 2008 at 21:00.
crazydiablo is offline  
Old 16th September 2008, 21:04   #35
BHPian
 
fieroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 701
Thanked: 286 Times
Default

Hey no man. I havent decided on anything other than the baleno for now. So its still on. But I have all the time in the world coz my plans changed a bit. I'll make a wise buy!

Srini is actually asking about those adjustable cam wheels only. Vernier cams are need only on radically worked engines with varying head/block heights(over stock) and to not let the cam run too advance or retard.
fieroid is offline  
Old 16th September 2008, 22:55   #36
BHPian
 
ssjr0498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Blr-Ccu
Posts: 642
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

How much are you guys expecting the car to be pumping at the crank/wheels?
ssjr0498 is offline  
Old 16th September 2008, 23:49   #37
BHPian
 
nikibusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vikhroli - (Mumbai)
Posts: 714
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Knock Knock.. Can i please have a video of the exhaust or if possible a driveby.
nikibusa is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 04:43   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Nice review, seems like a beautiful job. And the Baleno does come with a knock sensor standard.

Note to self: must.see.car.
v1p3r is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 09:06   #39
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Akshay, I doubt the baleno came with a knock sensor from the factory.

Mohit, hasn't Ron given you a knock sensor? I remember him showing me the one he had. I always thought it was going into your car.

Anyways, I am free this entire week. Let me know when you wanna meet up. If not my car should be running in about 10-15 days time. If you can wait till then.
mclaren1885 is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 09:48   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

The Baleno does not come with a knock sensor as a factory fitment
iceman91 is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 10:13   #41
BHPian
 
crazydiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore/San Francisco
Posts: 854
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

@ssjr0498: hey no claims on numbers, none was promised and none was asked. Its absurd to go around claiming numbers for my car when it has never seen a dyno nor any datalogging run.

Will take some videos soon.

This knock sensor this is too confusing. From my little knowledge Baleno never came with knock sensor and I could not find any also searching in the engine bay.

Rahul you are right, Ron does have a knock sensor and a circuit but thats not been fitted yet. Its supposed to go with the ECU but we are managing without it so far. Lets wait for you car to come.

hey one more thing for guys who have maxed out baleno. Which gear does the baleno pull the top speed? 4th or 5th. I ran out of road in 4th, I want to know if it will pull more in 5th. Any place near bangalore to check topspeed.
crazydiablo is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 10:33   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

5th gear can go above 200 but need lots of space for it.
Looking at your engine's compression that should be no problem.

Arround bangalore have no idea, but the yelagiri strecth seemed good. I maxed out on the zen there hitting the rev limit on the 5th

p.s. trust me no knock sensor on baleno
iceman91 is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 10:33   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

According to what I know it should pull better speeds in the 4th gear as the 5th gear is overdrive.
vikram_d is online now  
Old 17th September 2008, 10:35   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Vikram Unfortunately it will go to higher speeds in 5th.
Yes the torque moght reduce and it will definitely take longer but the speedo will definitely move
iceman91 is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 10:41   #45
BHPian
 
crazydiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore/San Francisco
Posts: 854
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Thanks Amit, I just wanted to know whether it was in 4th or 5th.

Vikram, usually for stock cars thats true. But is a car 'can' pull in 5th then considering the lower gearing it should top out in 5th. Usually stock cars dont have the torque to pull in 5th. Correct me if I am wrong.
crazydiablo is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engineering Students build India's 1st Solar-Powered Vehicle S2!!! Technical Stuff 0 9th July 2014 16:42
Latest RDDreams RD350 shibu Motorbikes 38 25th July 2013 12:32
The Frankenbike Build: My Honda CBR 600 F3 Build-Off ap10046 Superbikes & Imports 16 16th July 2013 14:26
My T-RX - Street Build from RX135 (Update & Pics on Pg.2) furioussphinx Motorbikes 37 23rd July 2010 09:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:59.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks