Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th December 2008, 08:18   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,524
Thanked: 405 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post

Reliability test has been done!
How do you test for Reliability?


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
My conversation with Karthik yielded that the ecu is capable of more but is kept conservative keeping in mind absolute reliability,

5. Diesel owners- You cant ask for more!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Are we talking about a remap on existing ECU or an all new ECU?
A piggyback ECU meaning it sits in addition to the Stock ECU and fools the ECU in tweaking some settings! thereby giving us MORE POWER!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkarthik View Post
@fieroid - yes dyno tests are happening very soon


@Mpower - The CD0801-PF is an add-on piggyback ECU.
Thanks Karthik, awaiting the Dyno tests with the curves! oops the torque and power curves!

Quote:
Originally Posted by adi99 View Post
Guys, you can contact Karthik directly for availability and price. For contact details, check the tuners list here or visit Racedynamics.in
Thank you sir for your kind information!
headers is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 20th December 2008, 12:19   #47
BHPian
 
Astleviz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Panjim, Goa
Posts: 328
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

rdkarthik, I browsed through your website but couldn't find any info on the diesel tuning box or the costs. Could you PM the costs to me?

Thanks.
Astleviz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2008, 23:47   #48
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 993
Thanked: 222 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

Waiting for more updates..
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2008, 06:38   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,678
Thanked: 188 Times
Default

ECU for Cedia? How much gains can be expected out of it?
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 00:30   #50
BANNED
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: mumbai
Posts: 11
Thanked: 0 Times
Default swift DDIS programmed

I wanted to put a note to after reading your thought on adding the petes tuning box for your DDiS. wy dont you just have it reflashed with a new tuning program. I had it done on my swift and its really amazing. I am yet to find another DDis that as quick as this and whats best is i still have my warranty since there are no hardware mods....yipee....look up the tuners sections and see kiirus ecu tuners in the mumbai area



Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Congrats RD,keep up the good work.

Any possibility of quoting an estimate for this?
How do you compare the performance against PETE'S box for DDIS?
Any timing recorded?
Change is top speed?


On the fly settings seem so cool.waiting for further reports
540i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 09:31   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
DieselFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,488
Thanked: 99 Times
Default

I thought ECU constantly adjust themselves to the driving style of the driver. Especially the new ECUs that have been put into Swift DDIS. If my statement is correct then any remappping will be reset in a matter of few hundred kms. If my statement is not correct then after every ECU reset why is that we are asked to drive cautiously for next 10-20 km.

Can someone throw some light on this topic.
DieselFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 09:38   #52
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,112
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Remapping changes the fixed mapping ratios in the ECU. The ECU does not change this data. If the ECU actually adjusted its own A/F parameters... well, what are tuners for? How can engines be tuned aggressively in one car and sedately in another? It is allowed some leeway on some of the parameters the tuner/manufacturer sets in accordance with the driving style or environment it is working in.

The reason people ask you drive cautiously is so that the ECU adjusts itself for a sedate driving style, thereby giving you max mileage, the Golden Rule in India. Drive hard after a reset and the ECU will adjust itself for it. The ECU does not continually learn except for when the knock sensors tell it that the engine is about to explode unless it does something. It learns for a few KMs.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 12:32   #53
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 29
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

i want i want i want a rd ecu for my palio 1.6.. then i want turbo...

karthik, anyway i can convince you to make some time for me buddy? (I'm a 'newbie' by tbhp standards, but i read tbhp forums all day most days )
guns666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 13:05   #54
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,524
Thanked: 405 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
Remapping changes the fixed mapping ratios in the ECU. The ECU does not change this data. If the ECU actually adjusted its own A/F parameters... well, what are tuners for? How can engines be tuned aggressively in one car and sedately in another? It is allowed some leeway on some of the parameters the tuner/manufacturer sets in accordance with the driving style or environment it is working in.
+1 to that. BTW, how many people remap ECUs in India?
headers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 16:54   #55
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,745
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headers View Post
+1 to that. BTW, how many people remap ECUs in India?
Hope that was not a rhetorical question
4 that we have heard of on the forum itself.
Pete's(mostly skodas)
Kiirus
Rdkarthik(piggyback ecus for common rail diesels)
tuned i chips- (zakie-mainly petrols right?)

Maybe more, but have not heard of them.
rippergeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 18:49   #56
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,524
Thanked: 405 Times
Default

@ Rippergeo:

Hi, my "+1 to that" was in response to Immortalz's explanation of the ECU.

My second question was how many actually re-flash ECUs in India? And who are the guys who do it?
headers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 19:52   #57
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,838
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
ECU for Cedia? How much gains can be expected out of it?
Significant, from personal experience. You can ask Torqueguru.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astleviz View Post
rdkarthik, I browsed through your website but couldn't find any info on the diesel tuning box or the costs. Could you PM the costs to me?
The costs range between 19-24k, from what I understand. There are various modes and models.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 15:48   #58
BHPian
 
yzfrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: who cares
Posts: 756
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

@rdkarthik

Any updates sir ji ?
yzfrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 10:18   #59
BHPian
 
rdkarthik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 206
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hi All, sorry about the delayed replies.. We did a couple of V-BOX runs on a stock swift diesel with the XM400 ECU on it, riding on 205/15s and two people on board. Same driver and same testing strip.

Air Temp - 28deg,
Altitude - 3100 feet above mean sea level

As you can see, we were shifting at slightly higher RPMs with the performance map as it was making much more power out there than stock, any higher we revved on the stock ECU resulted in slower stock 0-100s, so this is among the good runs.
Attached Thumbnails
Swift DDiS with new RaceDynamics ECU for DIESEL!-swift-xm400-v-stock.jpg  


Last edited by rdkarthik : 20th March 2009 at 10:24. Reason: More info added
rdkarthik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 10:42   #60
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,822
Thanked: 25 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Thats a drop of ~ 3.8 secs from 0-100 kmph. Thats impressive Rahul (hope you got the joke ) .
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swift DDIS SVS Light turns Off only after engine starts(ECU records immobilizer code) tush Technical Stuff 58 10th November 2014 20:51
economy diesel duel: Maruti Ritz DDiS vs Suzuki Swift DDis vs Vista quadrajet aura. s_pphilip Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 25 29th October 2009 09:43


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2014, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks