Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th June 2009, 19:25   #76
BHPian
 
ssjr0498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Blr-Ccu
Posts: 642
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Hi,

I see a Petes sticker on your car!! Now, are you using Petes or RD ECU?

0-100 in 8 secs!!!!!!!!!! THAT IS MIND BLOWING!!!

Did you time this on a V-box or how was it done? Also, this 8 secs was on Petes or on RD?

Cheers
Shrey

Quote:
Originally Posted by dockap View Post
have tried out rd piggyback ecu xm400 on my optra magnum. the power is mindblowing the front end of the car lifts up like its going to takeoff
0-100 timing was 8 secs
ssjr0498 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 00:07   #77
BHPian
 
yzfrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: who cares
Posts: 778
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

@Torque350

A detailed review if you would please, and some pics too.
yzfrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 01:21   #78
BHPian
 
dockap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mangalore
Posts: 845
Thanked: 376 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post
Hi,

I see a Petes sticker on your car!! Now, are you using Petes or RD ECU?

0-100 in 8 secs!!!!!!!!!! THAT IS MIND BLOWING!!!

Did you time this on a V-box or how was it done? Also, this 8 secs was on Petes or on RD?

Cheers
Shrey
i have installed the green filter storm from petes hence the sticker
0 to 100 in 8 secs was with the rd xm400
timing was calculated with a stopwatch so you can take a error of 0.5 secs
dockap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 10:51   #79
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Thrissur
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

8 seconds for 0-100

Even a BMW 320d takes more than 8 seconds to reach a ton.Try measuring using professional equipments.Please confirm the time as many DDiS owners including me are waiting for the results.
jmddis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 15:41   #80
BHPian
 
ssjr0498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Blr-Ccu
Posts: 642
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Its quite possible, AFAIK, a stock Magnum does a 0-100 in the sub 10 sec bracket, 9.8 sec to be precise.

So for it to do a 8 sec is very very much possible.

You should read thru this thread and see, you will be happy to see the amazing improvement in performance and mileage the RD ecu came up with for you swift fella's..


Cheers
Shrey

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmddis View Post
8 seconds for 0-100

Even a BMW 320d takes more than 8 seconds to reach a ton.Try measuring using professional equipments.Please confirm the time as many DDiS owners including me are waiting for the results.

Last edited by ssjr0498 : 12th June 2009 at 15:44.
ssjr0498 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 16:03   #81
Newbie
 
Torque350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 22
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Well to start with, the installation was very very easy, possible to do it ourselves without any hassles. Then the Race Dynamics tuner (guess the name was Karthik, a thousand apologies if I'm wrong) did a test ride for couple of minutes (for a self learning thing in the ECU, I'm not very sure what that is) and thats it!! Its just a 20 minutes job and its playtime. I got the mode selection knob installed near the gear lever and it looks really cool. It can be installed wherever you want it. It really is like a NOS button. I keep it in stock mode, stomp the throttle and immediately switch to P2, and all I can say is WOW!! The sudden pull is mind blowing. I don't have any official results in acceleration as I don't have the necessary equipments but did check the 0-100 with my stopwatch and it was more than 2 seconds faster. My entire experience with Race Dynamics was FANTASTIC!! Thanks a lot to Race Dynamics and the tuner guy Keep up the good work

@yzfrj - Will post pictures soon.
Torque350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 21:11   #82
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Thrissur
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@ssjr0498, The Chevy Optra Magum is a 2.0 litre diesel and it produces 121 bhp and 315 Nm of torque and hence its figures. As far as i know a stock swift DDis does 0-100 in 13.xx seconds. Yes the improvements are amazing but i dont think it will cut out 5.0 seconds off the stock time. Now we have a solid answer to the hyundai Getz crdi.

As torque350 said ,i guess the new 0 - 100 time is somewhere in between 10 and 11.5 seconds.That itself is great. Please post pics sir(I am intrested in the mode change switch\knob)

one question . Does the boost carry on all the way till 5100 rpm???

Thanks
jmddis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 04:59   #83
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmddis View Post
one question . Does the boost carry on all the way till 5100 rpm???
It produces power all the way to the redline on the car's tachometer, that I can vouch for personally.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 08:38   #84
BHPian
 
ssjr0498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Blr-Ccu
Posts: 642
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Hi Buddy,

That's exactly what I said, it is possible for the chevy to do a 8.XX sec 0-100.

I never mentioned anything about a 5 sec drop for the swift!!

I am very much aware of what it does to the swift, If you have forgotten, I am the one who started this thread in the very first place

Like V1p3r mentioned and from my personal experience, the power is produced all the way to the redline on the tachometer.

Cheers
Shrey

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmddis View Post
@ssjr0498, The Chevy Optra Magum is a 2.0 litre diesel and it produces 121 bhp and 315 Nm of torque and hence its figures. As far as i know a stock swift DDis does 0-100 in 13.xx seconds. Yes the improvements are amazing but i dont think it will cut out 5.0 seconds off the stock time. Now we have a solid answer to the hyundai Getz crdi.

As torque350 said ,i guess the new 0 - 100 time is somewhere in between 10 and 11.5 seconds.That itself is great. Please post pics sir(I am intrested in the mode change switch\knob)

one question . Does the boost carry on all the way till 5100 rpm???

Thanks

Last edited by ssjr0498 : 13th June 2009 at 08:40.
ssjr0498 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 09:44   #85
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,005
Thanked: 106 Times
Default

Now the most important question: whats the price ?
Can the ECU be reused in another car (obviously only diesel)
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 11:05   #86
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Thrissur
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@ssjr,viper : Thanks for the info.Now we have an answer for the narrow band on the DDiS.
jmddis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 14:28   #87
BHPian
 
amulu10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit
Posts: 243
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

sounds amazing. so can it be installed in the linea.? if so what gains in 0-100 or power can i be looking at.?
thanks-
ravi
amulu10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 15:22   #88
Newbie
 
Torque350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 22
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Here's a quick picture of the selection knob I managed with my phone cam, am going out of town over the weekend so more pics and stuff later.


@jmddis- the boost does not go on till the redline, as they said that the turbo is made such that it cannot produce power till the redline. However, the bottom end grunt has improved massively and it seems to pick up its skirts much sooner as in lag is reduced when flooring the throttle. I then asked about a bigger turbo and they promptly told me to be ready with even more lag than stock, so I promptly forgot about it. I'm zapped by the current performance gains and also installed a HKS filter as it has shown gains on the Elantra.

@cooldude1988765 - Yes it can easily be removed and popped into another diesel car with ease.

Last edited by Jaggu : 15th June 2009 at 15:29. Reason: Please go through announcments section to understand how to upload pics directly on TBHP. Thanks
Torque350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 19:04   #89
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,005
Thanked: 106 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torque350 View Post
Here's a quick picture of the selection knob I managed with my phone cam, am going out of town over the weekend so more pics and stuff later.

@cooldude1988765 - Yes it can easily be removed and popped into another diesel car with ease.
Where is the picture ???
Also would you mind sharing how much you paid for it ?
Please PM me if you dont want to post the price here.

Thanks
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 19:11   #90
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
It produces power all the way to the redline on the car's tachometer, that I can vouch for personally.
Are you sure the turbo is big enough to make power upto 5,100 rpm?

Shrey, I hope Karthik is paying you for all the talking . Or atleast inviting you to those high end weekend parties.
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
economy diesel duel: Maruti Ritz DDiS vs Suzuki Swift DDis vs Vista quadrajet aura. s_pphilip Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 25 29th October 2009 09:43
Swift DDiS vs Ritz DDiS vs iKool ? anoovis Hatchbacks 1 21st October 2009 13:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks