Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th December 2008, 00:52   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: bombay
Posts: 440
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Honda Accord V6 needs more HP

After a recent tire+rim upgrade , a good friend of mine find's his v6 lacking some of it's 205/60/16 induced sting.
What can you do to this car?
Need something safe and effective , any tried suggestions?
Meeting autopsyche soon , currently in delhi with the car myself so it makes sense , just wanted some inputs.
Cheers people
cyneverdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 01:45   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 309 Times
Default

Add a FFE, a good air filter with dynamisation kit . It will help the performance by some if not great.

Last edited by Rehaan : 5th December 2008 at 13:32.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 09:25   #3
BHPian
 
sameel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cochin
Posts: 268
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

dude just add a piggy back ECU its great fun and yes can be turned on and off as per your requirement.

the other usual mods would be FFE, CAI and stuff. will be helpful but is user specific you can design the stuff so as get more torque at a specific RPM this needs a lot of tuning you guys will have to start off with a wide band Lamda sensor and keep on adjusting till you get the desired torque graph. this is just a bird eye view only.
autopsyche will know the whole thing.

better ask his opinion.

i kind of think he would also suggest a piggy back ECU mod so that things remain more or less simple.

cheers
sameel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 10:01   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

depends on how much he wants to spend and how fast he wants to go!
Forced Induction is a good option, just have to find the right guys to do it!
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 10:24   #5
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

If its got the auto gear box, first change it to manual. That itself will give you a lot of fun factor. Also is the tire upsize eating up on the transfer of power? I mean wider tires do look good, but they make the car slow too.
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 10:27   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Rahul,
changing from auto to manual is time consuming and not an easy task.
better doing other mods for that amount of money and retaining the auto.
Still will be quicker than stock and have the necessary grunt

Guys
Also please note the upsize is not mentioned. I have seen accords with 20" and still have the grunt. Please let us know what his current size is.

Last edited by iceman91 : 5th December 2008 at 10:30.
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 11:13   #7
BHPian
 
mikon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 438
Thanked: 372 Times
Default

i guess an ECU remap, K&N performance filter will help.
I love accords with the bling look, FFEs doesn't suit the accord.. its my personal opinion though
mikon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 12:01   #8
BHPian
 
adman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 382
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Turboooooo !!!!!!!! Pshhhhhhh... pshhhhhhh... pshhhhhhhh
adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 12:03   #9
BHPian
 
mikon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 438
Thanked: 372 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adman77 View Post
Turboooooo !!!!!!!! Pshhhhhhh... pshhhhhhh... pshhhhhhhh
i got a new definition of turbo - with sound too
mikon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 12:42   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
autopsyche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 1,516
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Shifting from auto to manual is easier said than done. Huge costs and time involved.

My experience with the Auto V6 tells me to go in for a good intake and exhaust setup foremost.

Secondly step Forced Induction. There is a an almost bolt-on supecharging kit which can be imported from the US. Or just slap in a Nitrous Kit (wet) like we did on fellow member accordmaster's car and get a happy 50bhp shot whenever needed, running beautifully for over a year now.
autopsyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 13:57   #11
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,246
Thanked: 2,285 Times
Default

What tyre size did he upgrade to that gave him a drop in power?
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 14:21   #12
BHPian
 
MalluDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cochin
Posts: 383
Thanked: 34 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman91 View Post
Rahul,
changing from auto to manual is time consuming and not an easy task.
better doing other mods for that amount of money and retaining the auto.
hey, I think mclaren1885 meant changing from auto-mode to manual-mode driving...and not physically changing the setup! rt, mclaren?
MalluDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 14:30   #13
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: delhi
Posts: 456
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

hi cyneverdie, as autopsyche mentioned the nitrous kit is effective but first id suggest a k&n filter and a nice performance exhaust , would do the job for sometime and if your really interested in more power than go for the supercharger thats available but i would not recommend that as its an auto and plus front wheel drive so most of the time there would be the tc interfering and if you would switch it off then the car would be like a mad lunatic running left and right when you would give it the beans .
cheers
hope this helps
accord masters is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 17:50   #14
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalluDude View Post
hey, I think mclaren1885 meant changing from auto-mode to manual-mode driving...and not physically changing the setup! rt, mclaren?
NO! I meant a proper manual stick shift. Amit, Arush, I am sure you guys will agree that an auto gearbox wont go well with a performance car. It will never be as much fun. Call me old type.

If I were you, I would stay away from NOS. It quite stressful on the engine.

Accord Masters, what spark plugs are you running? Brand and heat range? Also what shot are you running?
mclaren1885 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 20:04   #15
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: delhi
Posts: 456
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

@ mclaren - i have the ngk iridium spark plugs and its a 50 hp shot any other tech. details you could ask arush .
accord masters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My other car is an Accord! Pre-owned 2003 Honda Accord 2.3L MT honeybee Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 91 8th April 2016 12:02
New Car Required for Dad: Needs to be VERY Comfortable- EDIT: it's a Honda Accord! samarth.bhatia What Car? 71 23rd July 2012 00:53
Honda Accord VTi vs Honda Accord V6 Dinesh99 Technical Stuff 48 9th March 2010 02:08
Honda Accord Coupe Concept (Possible new Accord) amit The International Automotive Scene 3 10th January 2007 10:04
Pics: 1997 Honda Accord's and more Gordon Shifting gears 9 25th March 2005 15:50


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks