Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th January 2009, 17:22   #1
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,964
Thanked: 4,886 Times
Question Relocating the Handbrake. Possible?

Hi,

I have a OHC type 2 (1.5exi).

What i want to do (and wonder if it is possible) is to move the location of the current handbrake to another area. Either shift it from the centre to the side (slightly off center) or have a knob like thing found in other cars below the dash or something? Is it possible?

This will help free up a lot of space between the front seats and then i can get a console fabricated for holding my ipod, phone, cup holders (absent in OHC), or elongate the center box/armrest.

Am attaching a picture as a guide (not my car.. just used a pic of an AT OHC for reference).
Attached Images
 
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2009, 00:27   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,964
Thanked: 4,886 Times
Default

So many views and not one reply.... baaaadddddddd!
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2009, 01:01   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,644 Times
Default

First off all technically its possible. What exactly is a handbrake. Its a lever that pulls a cable which in turn pulls your brake drums.
Simple mechanics.
But simplicity ends here
1. See that hump in the center, thats where your cables run. first of all you need to get some pully system or something, and then you will either have brake cable hanging lower than your vehicle, or you have to raise floor somehow so that the hump is elsewhere.
Its doable, but too much of a task. Moreover, where will you put the handbrake. Its better to use the space in front of the handbrake for your console needs/
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2009, 08:12   #4
BHPian
 
theEnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 534
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

You should look into getting some sort of motor or solenoid that pulls and releases this cable for you.

After installing that (underneath the current hand-brake), all you need is a long wire and you can put a button/knob anywhere you want in the car... even on the steering wheel if you want!

On a practical level, I think it would be very difficult to modify your hand-brake.
theEnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2009, 08:32   #5
BANNED
 
viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,769
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hi,

Its very easy to do the same. You need to purchase a aftermarket hydraulic handbrake(imoprt) which can be installed vertically or horizontally.

Viper
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 14:52   #6
BHPian
 
ilangop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pune/Neyveli
Posts: 913
Thanked: 578 Times
Default

Hi Tejas,
Practically it is possible. Vehicles like the Tata Ace have got 2 separate cables for each wheel, which unite at a junction. The hand brake lever actually pulls this union. Probably you should take a look at such an option. Still you will have to perform some welding operations and paint them. If you are up to it, then its ok.
ilangop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relocating with a 'temp' number, possible? Dry Ice Motorbikes 10 30th July 2010 15:57
Careful - Handbrake Lever!! getsurya Street Experiences 20 28th January 2009 14:07
Hydraulic Handbrake! SirAlec Technical Stuff 22 10th April 2008 14:35
Doing a handbrake turn to avoid an accident in an ABS vehicle? gopinathann Street Experiences 9 7th April 2008 01:30
Bill of materials for a handbrake assembly? ag501 Technical Stuff 0 29th November 2007 22:35


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks