Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th June 2010, 03:04   #61
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr_007 View Post
Can anybody help me with fixing a K&N typhoon kit on my ford fiesta.

Is something like that availbale for a fiesta and how much will it cost. Where can I get it in Chennai and any known, good installer in chennai.

Any suggestions/advice is welcome.
If it is a Mk6 Fiest Zetec or Zetec S there is only one kit that works and that isn't a K&N.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 09:11   #62
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: delhi
Posts: 11
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Suggestions for a tuning chip for a fiesta 1.6S

Hi,my brother is visiting the US and i was just wondering if there were any tuning chips(something like tri phase box etc) you guys could recommend, preferably not on the steeper side in terms of $$ and also which would make sense to get back to India ,in the sense that it actually would be more economical to purchase the same thing from the US instead of india. Also if you could post along where could it be bought from (in NY,if you know the place) that'll be great.
Thanks
ilive_for_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 11:06   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
Gilead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 2,140
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPH View Post
If it is a Mk6 Fiest Zetec or Zetec S there is only one kit that works and that isn't a K&N.
It's a Mk 5. 1.6L Duratec petrol. Which kit works?
Gilead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 11:31   #64
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
It's a Mk 5. 1.6L Duratec petrol. Which kit works?
At the moment none that are on the market have a real advantage over stock. Either they loose power or lower end to mid range torque. Thw worst of all is Piperx.

Feel free to pm me for more details, but I won't be much online till Friday as I am leaving today for India and will be back on Friday afternoon.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 13:44   #65
BHPian
 
Pr_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chennai
Posts: 227
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Spoke with Raghav from ignite on going with a K&N filter for the fiesta 1.4 petrol. He says that going for a conical filter or a CAI is not advisable for a 1.4 fiesta as it would disturb the sensor settings.

He suggested that I go with the K&N stock replacement filter.

What say guys????
Pr_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 23:24   #66
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr_007 View Post
Spoke with Raghav from ignite on going with a K&N filter for the fiesta 1.4 petrol. He says that going for a conical filter or a CAI is not advisable for a 1.4 fiesta as it would disturb the sensor settings.

He suggested that I go with the K&N stock replacement filter.

What say guys????
I can't confirm this. The 1.4 MK6 hasn't got a sensor that can be disturbed and the Mk5 has got no problems either when done properly.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 04:18   #67
BHPian
 
Moonraker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 171
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

PR007 - You never posted the engine start button pics. Post that as well.
Moonraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 06:14   #68
BHPian
 
Pr_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chennai
Posts: 227
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Sure, I will post pics tomorrow.
Pr_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 12:21   #69
BHPian
 
rapideffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 147
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Why to get it from US when it can be done in India. Talk to Abhishek at Kiirus In | ECU Remap, Car Remapping, Chip Tuning, Fuel Economy Tuning
rapideffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 16:08   #70
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Any tuning box for this engine is a waste of time.

The only solution is re-mapping. To get the most out of it it is advisable to get a proper induction sorted, but stay clear of the pipercross and K&N solutions.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2010, 16:15   #71
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPH View Post
I can't confirm this. The 1.4 MK6 hasn't got a sensor that can be disturbed and the Mk5 has got no problems either when done properly.
Just continuing on this note. I fitted yesterday another one to a Mk6 1.4 with no issues what so ever.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2010, 11:41   #72
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,904
Thanked: 2,926 Times
Default

Hey, Sort of a repeat question here, but has anybody heard of Spectre performance?
I got 2 of their double conicals in blue from atlanta.
Now,the flange is adjustable from 3" to 3.75" to 4"(seals etc provided)
cotton fibre filter.
One is going on my santro(final step in stage 1 mods,although this should have been the 1st).
the other i plan to put in my fiesta(1.6 Sxi).
only problem is, i used to gaze at the modern engine bays(had a 97 carburetted zen before this), and loved the covered clutter.i know that difference between the zen and fiesta bay was only so apparent because of the airfilter box in the fiesta,which covers the block and most of the intricate wires and rubber, and gives the appearance of uncluttered-ness(??).
now, putting this conical in, would involve me removing this airfilter box, which would expose the engine.
now i know there's no way to get around this, but is there some sort of engine shield available(placebo..)?
also,would it be advisable to just use the filter, and not the air intake that ford has so thoughfully provided?
i would need a proper aluminium/ebonite cone for me to have a proper CAI,no?
if someone is using an exposed conical filter in the 1.6's bay, could you share a pic or two?
mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 14:56   #73
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,904
Thanked: 2,926 Times
Default

Oh, By the by...thats a sweetly modded fiesta over there boss.
kudos!
You must be getting stopped by a lot of folks,no, to get details?
mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 19:36   #74
BHPian
 
Pr_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chennai
Posts: 227
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Thanks a lot buddy..yes that is true..
Pr_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 15:34   #75
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,904
Thanked: 2,926 Times
Default

Hey, can someone help me out here please?do not go by my current install, as it was done quite badly,100% jugaad.1 day old, getting it out,back to OE setup today.has anybody installed a conical without a CAI in a fiesta?if so, could you please please post some pics?and please please give some references in NCR?
Attached Thumbnails
Ford Fiesta 1.6 - Ideas for mods-dsc_0336.jpg  

mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Karizma Mods & Ideas! Sankar Motorbikes 479 24th November 2015 16:45
Ford Fiesta 1.4D ZXi Ownership Woes. EDIT : REPLACEMENT FIESTA. Pics on Pg. 5 Mad Monkey Long-Term Ownership Reviews 105 3rd March 2010 15:26
Please help me decide: Fiesta S or Fiesta ZXi? EDIT: Booked Fiesta S! Pics on pg5. frankmehta Sedans 108 18th August 2009 13:43
Some ideas how I want to do some mods to my M-800 chokxxi90210 Modifications & Accessories 1 21st March 2008 08:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks