Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th March 2010, 12:20   #91
Senior - BHPian
 
aks_karthik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,863
Thanked: 215 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rahulkool View Post
Bunch of liers lol, i have been got done 4 service on my palio, never seen any one using a scanner. Its VST motors chennai, they have pretty big service center. I have also seen many puntos and lineas in the service bay never seen anything of that sort connected to the car.
In VST,They have the Fiat scanner for checking the whole car.
Even i too checked it personally.
aks_karthik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 02:32   #92
Ice
BHPian
 
Ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 304
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

I service my Palio MJD at Prerana Motors, OMR, Bangalore. I remove the box before setting out to the service station, and refit it after I get the car back. I have had a defective turbo changed under warranty - and they went through the ECU read-out with a fine toothed comb before approving the change under warranty. But no sweat - obviously any incriminating lines of code about the box were missing.
Ice is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 06:52   #93
BHPian
 
kailashnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 887
Thanked: 275 Times
Default

ICE - that is very reassuring statement that you have made. Since you are using the Petes box, could you write your experience with the box and how much of a difference it has made to your Palio MJD post the box.
kailashnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 12:42   #94
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sukrit7 View Post
what if the battery is disconnected n connected again prior t sending for service?
wouldn't that remove any signs of a tuning box from the ecu?
When you disconnect the battery for a short while all you loose is the long term fuel trim, which is the larning capability of the ECU.

The data logger has to be cleared, which you can't even do with an examiner.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 15:16   #95
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: delhi
Posts: 707
Thanked: 89 Times
Default

thank you cph.

ice,you've put me in a mess. I'm still unsure,does a pete's box register or not?
sukrit7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 21:40   #96
Senior - BHPian
 
sdp1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,592
Thanked: 920 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice View Post
I have had a defective turbo changed under warranty - and they went through the ECU read-out with a fine toothed comb before approving the change under warranty.
Ice, do you remember the cost of the turbo from the bill ? Also, what was the labor amount ?

I understand it was covered under warranty but was keen on knowing the costs.
sdp1975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 22:29   #97
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,708
Thanked: 8,928 Times
Default

Why do a lot of Pete'd cars have blown turbo problems? I have rarely seen a properly maintained and driven stock car with turbo problems.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2010, 00:14   #98
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ERNAKULAM
Posts: 947
Thanked: 317 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Why do a lot of Pete'd cars have blown turbo problems? I have rarely seen a properly maintained and driven stock car with turbo problems.
Rich mixtures emanate a lot of unburnt fossil fuel in the form of black smoke. This carbon ends up in the turbine housing and the bearings of the turbo unit. Rest is easy to figure. Carbon build up messes with lubrication and heat dissipation. In addition to that FIAT/TATA and Maruti are using the cheapest aggregates as far as the turbo unit is concerned. If your tuning box does not control the airflow in addition to fuel flow do not touch it with a barge pole.

Last edited by drpullockaran : 13th April 2010 at 00:15.
drpullockaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2010, 01:53   #99
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 335
Thanked: 273 Times
Default

+1.
Well said Pullockaran.Pete's boxes work on the principle of just dumping in more fuel leading to a richer air-fuel mixture. I have not personally used a Pete"s box myself, but its a widely accepted fact that a remap is the better option, for extracting enhanced performance from a crdi turbo diesel engine if u do not want to have smoking issues under load.
needforspeed88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2010, 04:41   #100
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post
Rich mixtures emanate a lot of unburnt fossil fuel in the form of black smoke. This carbon ends up in the turbine housing and the bearings of the turbo unit. Rest is easy to figure. Carbon build up messes with lubrication and heat dissipation. In addition to that FIAT/TATA and Maruti are using the cheapest aggregates as far as the turbo unit is concerned. If your tuning box does not control the airflow in addition to fuel flow do not touch it with a barge pole.
I do agree with you apart from the point you made regarding the turbos.

The petrol ones are IHIs, which we have mapped in Europe and had no problems for some of them now having done 70k since mapping.

The Diesels use Garrets, which were fine apart from on batch that went wrong, but Volkswagen got units fromt the same batch showing the same problems.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2010, 08:37   #101
Senior - BHPian
 
sdp1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,592
Thanked: 920 Times
Default

So fiat uses garret in Europe ? In india I believe maruti ( and even Fiat ? ) uses KKK turbochargers.
sdp1975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2010, 23:41   #102
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ERNAKULAM
Posts: 947
Thanked: 317 Times
Default Severe cost cutting measures in the FIAT 1.3 MJD engine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPH View Post
I do agree with you apart from the point you made regarding the turbos.

The petrol ones are IHIs, which we have mapped in Europe and had no problems for some of them now having done 70k since mapping.

The Diesels use Garrets, which were fine apart from on batch that went wrong, but Volkswagen got units fromt the same batch showing the same problems.
Dear CPH,
I am sure in the petrols that you chipped/mapped you did not allow the mixture to become richer than 11:1 air is to petrol ratio.

Diesel engines turbo is more susceptible to soot build up because of the very nature of the fuel and its burning characteristics.

I am not doubting your acumen though. You have succeeded because you used the best aggregates. In India in the name of cost cutting the price of the turbo used in the first batch of Palio mjd used to cost 53000 indian rupees and the present batch with the 1.3mjd engine used in many Indian cars costs just 16000 rupees. Its easy to figure out why the present day turbos konk out so soon. Also note my deductions could be totally wrong since I am an Orthodontist by profession and electricals/mechanicals and electronics is just my hobby.
drpullockaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2010, 00:54   #103
BHPian
 
amulu10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit
Posts: 243
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post
Dear CPH,
I am sure in the petrols that you chipped/mapped you did not allow the mixture to become richer than 11:1 air is to petrol ratio.

Diesel engines turbo is more susceptible to soot build up because of the very nature of the fuel and its burning characteristics.

I am not doubting your acumen though. You have succeeded because you used the best aggregates. In India in the name of cost cutting the price of the turbo used in the first batch of Palio mjd used to cost 53000 indian rupees and the present batch with the 1.3mjd engine used in many Indian cars costs just 16000 rupees. Its easy to figure out why the present day turbos konk out so soon. Also note my deductions could be totally wrong since I am an Orthodontist by profession and electricals/mechanicals and electronics is just my hobby.
i think partly its because it was imported before but now its made in india.
btw even the DDIS turbo costs around 20k
amulu10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 15:13   #104
CPH
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 577
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post
Dear CPH,
I am sure in the petrols that you chipped/mapped you did not allow the mixture to become richer than 11:1 air is to petrol ratio.

Diesel engines turbo is more susceptible to soot build up because of the very nature of the fuel and its burning characteristics.


I am not doubting your acumen though. You have succeeded because you used the best aggregates. In India in the name of cost cutting the price of the turbo used in the first batch of Palio mjd used to cost 53000 indian rupees and the present batch with the 1.3mjd engine used in many Indian cars costs just 16000 rupees. Its easy to figure out why the present day turbos konk out so soon. Also note my deductions could be totally wrong since I am an Orthodontist by profession and electricals/mechanicals and electronics is just my hobby.
I am not too sure whether you have to blame the quality of the turbo charger rather than the people who try to supply a lower grade of Diesel (not removing certan substances because it is more profitable) and the people mapping the Diesel.

We have a lot of so called re-mappers I wouldn't even touch with a barge pole because they are mapping totally wrong, which results in smake and now it is getting even worse because of the DPF you can't see their 'handy work'.

I would like to see one of the blown turbos and compare it to the ones over here.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 22:45   #105
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ERNAKULAM
Posts: 947
Thanked: 317 Times
Default The turbo in the Swift's Fiat diesel engine is probably the worst of the lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amulu10 View Post
i think partly its because it was imported before but now its made in india.
btw even the DDIS turbo costs around 20k
The engines are the same only the mapping and probably the turbo unit is different. By the way the quote for Rs16000/- was for the 1.3 FIAT diesel engine in the Swift. Ripper changed his turbo in his Swift but this time he got a propah turbo from Peter for about Rs53000( he got it free though) and that unit is working fine in his hyper tuned FIAT engine. The turbo used in the FIAT engine for the Vista, Dezire and the Punto/Linea is about Rs23000

Last edited by drpullockaran : 16th April 2010 at 22:51.
drpullockaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grande Punto Facelift: From baby Maserati to Punto Evo EDIT: Punto 'My Life' on pg.7 sushanthr77 The International Automotive Scene 167 25th November 2011 12:02
Fiat Grande Punto / Linea tuning guide? CPH Technical Stuff 15 25th March 2010 15:52
Grande Punto @ 5Lacs, Linea @ 6.5Lacs, Shock Pricing BUSA The Indian Car Scene 273 8th June 2009 13:38
Fiat to delay launch of Linea and Grande Punto ravi@64bhp The Indian Car Scene 199 24th November 2008 19:45
Everybody Needs Somebody (Linea, Grande Punto, Bravo, 500) SumitBahl The Indian Car Scene 21 17th August 2008 13:03


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:49.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks