Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th August 2008, 13:32   #136
BHPian
 
abhik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 848
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Your in Gurgaon itself just drive down to his workshop, i think he has some of em up for sale, go grab one.
abhik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 14:17   #137
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore / Madras
Posts: 1,980
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

There is already a l o n g thread on this:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...chometers.html (Tachometers)
hrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2008, 23:19   #138
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,668
Thanked: 1,018 Times
Default

Ok Guy's here's the pics of my tacho.Sorry about the poor quality night pic.Wonder what the button in the center is for doesnt seem to change the color as somebody on the thread said.
Attached Images
   
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2008, 23:23   #139
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Can I install one more Tacho with Shift light in MY SAFARI(Its already having a Pricol)
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 10:41   #140
BHPian
 
abhik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 848
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
Can I install one more Tacho with Shift light in MY SAFARI(Its already having a Pricol)
Ya you could but it will just be for show! Why do you want another one anyways?
abhik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 10:44   #141
BHPian
 
abhik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 848
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Ok Guy's here's the pics of my tacho.Sorry about the poor quality night pic.Wonder what the button in the center is for doesnt seem to change the color as somebody on the thread said.
Does the bright red glow at night hamper night driving? The bright red would be blaring on your face at night and might be a distraction after some time.
There are similar looking tachos which are smoked out.
abhik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 11:14   #142
c10
BHPian
 
c10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 185
Thanked: 6 Times
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
Can I install one more Tacho with Shift light in MY SAFARI(Its already having a Pricol)
Sure, You can !!

JAW Shift Lamp - assist's you shift on the RPM you set..(This does not require a Tacho, google for image)

Best part is, with this product you can set the glow lamp to different RPM's on different gears.. &

I got this from HK a month ago & installatation took few mins..

Will post the Pic soon..
c10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 11:58   #143
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Thanks Friends. I planned to buy a Digital Tachometer with Shift light.

So If I install the new Tacho, Will my Old tacho work? So I will have two tachometers - one digital & one analog(just for show!)
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 12:33   #144
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 956
Thanked: 368 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Wonder what the button in the center is for doesnt seem to change the color as somebody on the thread said.
Hi Sumeet, if on pressing the button in question, the needle swings to a particular RPM - your tach has peak RPM memory recall. As it says, it indicates the highest RPM you've revved your engine to... A handy feature in case your car's shared by others (demonstrated by Robert Duvall in "Days Of Thunder")
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 13:15   #145
BHPian
 
abhik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 848
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
Thanks Friends. I planned to buy a Digital Tachometer with Shift light.

So If I install the new Tacho, Will my Old tacho work? So I will have two tachometers - one digital & one analog(just for show!)
Spot On! you would have 2 tachos, both working. So the add-on would just be for show.
abhik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 19:47   #146
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,668
Thanked: 1,018 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
Hi Sumeet, if on pressing the button in question, the needle swings to a particular RPM - your tach has peak RPM memory recall. As it says, it indicates the highest RPM you've revved your engine to... A handy feature in case your car's shared by others (demonstrated by Robert Duvall in "Days Of Thunder")
Nope.. nothing happens to the needle when i press the middle switch.
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 19:48   #147
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,668
Thanked: 1,018 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhik View Post
Does the bright red glow at night hamper night driving? The bright red would be blaring on your face at night and might be a distraction after some time.
There are similar looking tachos which are smoked out.
Its not that bright ...doesn't cause much distraction...but only when the shift light comes up only when it glows too much.
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2008, 14:23   #148
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,538 Times
Default

the shopkeeper had told me that the middle push button is to change the color of the display.
@sumeeth , i think so that function is not working in your case. i doubt that the tacho is faulty. please ask the dealer once.
amit_mechengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2008, 19:29   #149
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default tach for safari

hey incase you are buying for the safari kindly note:
The tach in safari gets its feed from the alternator, not ecu. Many tachs are for petrol engines and wont work on diesel vehicles. So before buying make sure its for diesel engines.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
Thanks Friends. I planned to buy a Digital Tachometer with Shift light.

So If I install the new Tacho, Will my Old tacho work? So I will have two tachometers - one digital & one analog(just for show!)
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2008, 19:57   #150
Senior - BHPian
 
rider60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bhagyanagaram. (A.K.A. Hyderabad)
Posts: 1,619
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rider60 View Post
okay now i have a query here and i NEED HELP!

take a look at think linky
the autoguage says they have tachos for diesel and their dealer ship is in India too but they have not put up the address of the dealer now i am help less can some one give me pointers to the same?

Product Detail

Products

Company

guys need the pointer badly for my SWIFT LDI! please!
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc1bad View Post
hey incase you are buying for the safari kindly note:
The tach in safari gets its feed from the alternator, not ecu. Many tachs are for petrol engines and wont work on diesel vehicles. So before buying make sure its for diesel engines.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
Can I install one more Tacho with Shift light in MY SAFARI(Its already having a Pricol)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
Thanks Friends. I planned to buy a Digital Tachometer with Shift light.

So If I install the new Tacho, Will my Old tacho work? So I will have two tachometers - one digital & one analog(just for show!)

now thats exactly what i have been searching for the past few days rather months i pmed psycho, autopsyche, and viper no reply from them at all its been more than 2 days since i did this and my luck is really not favoring me so just cant seem to find a tachometer for the diesel.

i found the diesel tacho only from auto guage no other brand if any other brands makes a tacho for diesel please do let me know.

even a need a tacho for a 4 cylinder car, same as you safari ibm, so if by any chance you find one please let me know and i will do the same if find one first.

EDIT: try the links in the first quote, they will lead you to the diesel tachos from autoguage.

Last edited by rider60 : 30th August 2008 at 19:59.
rider60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case for Tachometers on all Bikes and Scooters anjan_c2007 Motorbikes 27 10th April 2012 11:44
Post pictures of Tachometers here! streetracer_919 Modifications & Accessories 0 8th June 2009 12:02
Tachometers /Odometers/Fuel-tempGauges Rahulk76 Modifications & Accessories 1 10th March 2006 16:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks