Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th August 2008, 22:15   #151
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
even a need a tacho for a 4 cylinder car, same as you safari ibm, so if by any chance you find one please let me know and i will do the same if find one first.
I dropped the idea of another Digital Tacho as I planned to use that money for a Digital Compass.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 12:31   #152
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,672
Thanked: 1,021 Times
Default Erratic idling of Tacho needle

Hi guys,
My 800's tacho displays idle speed at 1000 rpm even when the engine as warmed up properly.Someone mentioned that this is on the higher side.
Also i have found that whilst idling i find that the needle fluctuates at 1000 rpm mark between 950-1000 rpm.Does this indicate a problem with
car?I have a SRF K&N air filter.
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 12:53   #153
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Hi guys,
My 800's tacho displays idle speed at 1000 rpm even when the engine as warmed up properly.Someone mentioned that this is on the higher side.
Also i have found that whilst idling i find that the needle fluctuates at 1000 rpm mark between 950-1000 rpm.Does this indicate a problem with
car?I have a SRF K&N air filter.

i suggest you to go to a authorised maruti service station and check the RPM on their tacho and compare it with urs. it should match.
amit_mechengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 13:10   #154
Senior - BHPian
 
Sudipto-S-Team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 1,294
Thanked: 258 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
I have a SRF K&N air filter.
What's an SRF K&N filter?
Sudipto-S-Team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 13:11   #155
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Also i have found that whilst idling i find that the needle fluctuates at 1000 rpm mark between 950-1000 rpm.Does this indicate a problem with
car?
I would say that if the idling rpm is fluctuating, there is a problem with the engine. Perhaps unequal power output from the cylinders.
anupmathur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 14:24   #156
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,672
Thanked: 1,021 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
I would say that if the idling rpm is fluctuating, there is a problem with the engine. Perhaps unequal power output from the cylinders.
Sirji,
if it is so what could be the solution to the problem.The car's 11 years old
but has only done 27880 Kms to date.I was contemplating a carb overhaul sometime later this year.Though let me say ,the fluctuating does not happen all the time ,it do happens sometimes.

Last edited by sumeethaldankar : 14th September 2008 at 14:27.
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 14:25   #157
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,672
Thanked: 1,021 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudipto-S-Team View Post
What's an SRF K&N filter?
SRF means stock replacment filter.
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008, 09:58   #158
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,672
Thanked: 1,021 Times
Default Video of Tachometer

Hi guys,
I have posted a video of my tachometer on you tube,
check it out.
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008, 12:24   #159
Senior - BHPian
 
humyum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leicester/Mumbai
Posts: 2,306
Thanked: 2,188 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Hi guys,
My 800's tacho displays idle speed at 1000 rpm even when the engine as warmed up properly.Someone mentioned that this is on the higher side.
Also i have found that whilst idling i find that the needle fluctuates at 1000 rpm mark between 950-1000 rpm.Does this indicate a problem with
car?I have a SRF K&N air filter.
Idle rpm for the 800 is 800 rpm without AC and 900 with AC.
Your idling is way high.
humyum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008, 15:35   #160
BHPian
 
sudipt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 171
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Just an Update, Someone searching for the Elusive Pricol tachometers? Here's a lead: -
The pricol tachmeters are being sold by Xenos (Marketing arm of Pricol). Here's the website
Xenos Technologies Ltd.
Also I contacted the regional office here at Mumbai, They said that the Shift-lite tachometer required by many forum members will be available shortly.
sudipt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008, 16:14   #161
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,672
Thanked: 1,021 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by humyum View Post
Idle rpm for the 800 is 800 rpm without AC and 900 with AC.
Your idling is way high.
Will the alternator in any way cause the engine to idle high for instance
my alternator was rebuilt actually it was made from spare parts ie dynamo etc from other car parts.Will this cause the engine to run at a high
RPM?
sumeethaldankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 15:05   #162
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

whats the process to fit a tachometer on an alto? can we fit it ourselves?
The problem in Pune is no one is willing to fit it. All the shops are just selling them. I am getting an Autogauge 7 color display with shift light ones for 2400, but the shopkeeper says i have to get it fitted from outside mechanic for @ 400-500 bucks.
amit_mechengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 15:28   #163
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

You can fit it yourself. It is a very simple DIY. There will be a wiring diagram with the tachometer. Just use that as reference and do it. No need to spend 400 - 500 bucks. Only problem will be that you will have to route the wires properly & carefully.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 15:53   #164
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
You can fit it yourself. It is a very simple DIY. There will be a wiring diagram with the tachometer. Just use that as reference and do it. No need to spend 400 - 500 bucks. Only problem will be that you will have to route the wires properly & carefully.
Does it need slicing or cutting or tampering the wire harness of any sort?
What do you indicate by saying routing of the wires carefully?
Is there any socket or something where i can directly plugin? do i need to check in the ECU connections?
amit_mechengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 16:00   #165
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
Does it need slicing or cutting or tampering the wire harness of any sort?
What do you indicate by saying routing of the wires carefully?
Is there any socket or something where i can directly plugin? do i need to check in the ECU connections?
Oh I forgot that your's was a fuel injected Alto. Does it have one ignition coils or two? If it is one, then it should still be pretty simple. I said route wires carefully because you will have to take the RPM signal wire to the engine bay if you connect it to the ignition coil. Also you will have to find the parking light power wire to tap into it for the backlighting of the tachometer.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case for Tachometers on all Bikes and Scooters anjan_c2007 Motorbikes 27 10th April 2012 11:44
Post pictures of Tachometers here! streetracer_919 Modifications & Accessories 0 8th June 2009 12:02
Tachometers /Odometers/Fuel-tempGauges Rahulk76 Modifications & Accessories 1 10th March 2006 16:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:16.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks