Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th March 2009, 14:28   #226
Senior - BHPian
 
thedreamcatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,205
Thanked: 61 Times
Default

Can only the shift indicator light be installed to a car that already has a tacho?
thedreamcatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2009, 14:48   #227
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Yes it can be. You get stand alone shift lights that can be used with existing tachos.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2009, 00:50   #228
BHPian
 
ghostrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 678
Thanked: 305 Times
Default Tacho for Swift LD

Guys, just bought a 3.75" Autogauge smoked black (white foreground, red needle) with shiftlight tacho for the LDi. Paid 2400.

Now, having it fitted in the LDi is turning out to be a pain in the ***.
The guy I bought it from tried and couldn't do it. Neither could the second guy I took it to, who said he would have to go deep into the car to remove the alternator and then open it up to get a signal from it. Told him to shove off.

Finally took it to MASS (Vitesse) who were very courteous. They made a copy of the manual, said they would study it and get back to me in a day or two.

The problem is this...

There are four wires....

Red -> DC12V
Black -> Ground
Orange -> Dimmer (so that tacho is lit only when parking lights come on)
Green -> RPM signal source.

The problem is that no one can locate the signal source for the LDi.

So... does anyone know where the signal source for the LDi is??
ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2009, 19:58   #229
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrider View Post
So... does anyone know where the signal source for the LDi is??
Not specific, but take a look at the following pdf file.

http://www.sw-performance.com/upload...sel%20Tach.pdf

I hope this is a help.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2009, 17:17   #230
BHPian
 
ghostrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 678
Thanked: 305 Times
Default

Trrk... the link won't open. The SW-performance website seems to be down. Any other links?

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
Hi,



Not specific, but take a look at the following pdf file.

http://www.sw-performance.com/upload...sel%20Tach.pdf

I hope this is a help.
ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2009, 19:17   #231
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrider View Post
Trrk... the link won't open. The SW-performance website seems to be down. Any other links?
Sorry about that.

I am using Firefox and it works. Since it points to a pdf file, you could also right click it and choose 'Save as' and save the file.

Hey, I have attached it here.

118031 Diesel Tach.pdf
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 14:59   #232
BHPian
 
ghostrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 678
Thanked: 305 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
Hi,



Sorry about that.

I am using Firefox and it works. Since it points to a pdf file, you could also right click it and choose 'Save as' and save the file.

Hey, I have attached it here.

Attachment 151021
Thanks buddy. Have checked the diagram and told MASS it's a possible solution. Will let you know if it pans out.
ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2009, 19:27   #233
BHPian
 
ghostrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 678
Thanked: 305 Times
Default

UPDATE:

No luck so far. Have been speaking to MASS (Vitesse) for over a week now.Went to them last week, and they took a xerox of the instruction and installation manual of the Autogauge tacho I've bought.

Turns out the signal from diesel cars comes from the alternator, unlike Petrol cars where the signal comes from the ECU. So Vitesse contacted Mico (who manufacture the alternator for the Swift), and they thought they'd identified a coupler where they could tap the signal.

So I left the car there today in the morning, and they said it would be done by the afternoon, but they were unable to find the signal source.

So now... I'm desperate. ANYONE know how to fit an Autogauge diesel tacho to a diesel Swift?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrider View Post
Thanks buddy. Have checked the diagram and told MASS it's a possible solution. Will let you know if it pans out.
ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 00:16   #234
BHPian
 
ghostrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 678
Thanked: 305 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrider View Post
UPDATE:

No luck so far. Have been speaking to MASS (Vitesse) for over a week now.Went to them last week, and they took a xerox of the instruction and installation manual of the Autogauge tacho I've bought.

Turns out the signal from diesel cars comes from the alternator, unlike Petrol cars where the signal comes from the ECU. So Vitesse contacted Mico (who manufacture the alternator for the Swift), and they thought they'd identified a coupler where they could tap the signal.

So I left the car there today in the morning, and they said it would be done by the afternoon, but they were unable to find the signal source.

So now... I'm desperate. ANYONE know how to fit an Autogauge diesel tacho to a diesel Swift?
Guys.... anyone? The gurus out there?
ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 17:17   #235
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrider View Post
Guys.... anyone? The gurus out there?
Sorry to hear that. If the alternator manufacturer is MICO, try to find out theri authorised alternator service centre. Somebody there could help you.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 17:49   #236
Senior - BHPian
 
JayD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin! At last
Posts: 3,195
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

Did you buy a normal tacho or one that is specifically made for diesel cars? There are some complications for connecting the former variety in diesel cars. Try if you can exchange your current piece for a diesel one.
JayD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2009, 11:42   #237
BHPian
 
ghostrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 678
Thanked: 305 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Did you buy a normal tacho or one that is specifically made for diesel cars? There are some complications for connecting the former variety in diesel cars. Try if you can exchange your current piece for a diesel one.
Nope... specifically for Diesel cars.
ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 15:51   #238
BHPian
 
freakrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 176
Thanked: 50 Times
Default

i have got a 5" Type R Tacho for my swift lxi. I am not sure where to connect the RPM source on the swift petrol version.Does it require any mod on the ECU.Let me know if anyone has done it on a petrol swift.
freakrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 00:21   #239
BHPian
 
ghostrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 678
Thanked: 305 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakrz View Post
i have got a 5" Type R Tacho for my swift lxi. I am not sure where to connect the RPM source on the swift petrol version.Does it require any mod on the ECU.Let me know if anyone has done it on a petrol swift.
It's pretty straightforward, but don't attempt a DIY unless you know exactly what you're doing. I've just completed an exhaustive exercise trying to get an autogauge diesel tach to my diesel swift, and it CANT be done.

On a petrol, it can. The guy you bought it from should be able to do it. The petrol swift has the rpm signal source from the ecu, and it's a simple hookup. Should cost you about 200 bucks.

OR...take it to M.A.S.S. They'll charge you a little more, but I think it's worth it to prevent someone unauthorized from tinkering with your ECU. Speak to the Works Manager at your M.A.S.S, and they'll do it for you. Make sure you take the tach installation manual with you.
ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 11:22   #240
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrider View Post
It's pretty straightforward, but don't attempt a DIY unless you know exactly what you're doing. I've just completed an exhaustive exercise trying to get an autogauge diesel tach to my diesel swift, and it CANT be done.

On a petrol, it can. The guy you bought it from should be able to do it. The petrol swift has the rpm signal source from the ecu, and it's a simple hookup. Should cost you about 200 bucks.
In your exhaustive exercise, have you found any good and worthy installers in Bombay, to connect the signal wire to the ECU.

You mentioned Rs.200 labor, who and where?

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case for Tachometers on all Bikes and Scooters anjan_c2007 Motorbikes 27 10th April 2012 11:44
Post pictures of Tachometers here! streetracer_919 Modifications & Accessories 0 8th June 2009 12:02
Tachometers /Odometers/Fuel-tempGauges Rahulk76 Modifications & Accessories 1 10th March 2006 16:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks