Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th November 2009, 18:37   #361
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,677
Thanked: 1,025 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunrudra View Post
Since its a fully programmable tacho we can set the rpm limit to some particular rpm say 6800 and when the revs hit 6800 the pilot light will glow and its time to shift.Though not of much use on the road ,really useful on track days .
Hi,
i guess that's the shift light you are talking about but there is a thingy which says "Warning".I was wondering what that does?

Last edited by sumeethaldankar : 7th November 2009 at 18:38.
sumeethaldankar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2009, 08:04   #362
Senior - BHPian
 
arjunrudra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: chennai
Posts: 1,515
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Hi,
i guess that's the shift light you are talking about but there is a thingy which says "Warning".I was wondering what that does?
That glows when you go 300 rpm above the limit that u have set..
arjunrudra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 14:48   #363
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

GUYS! Help me out now, I read few posts posted earlier in this thread, Some one said that MASS agreed to install A-Star's tacho on his alto but how is it possible? Alto is a 3cylinder car and A-Star is a 4 cylinder car. Can this thing be programmed to work with a 3cylinder car too? Does it require any custom changes? If it works with alto, It'll sure work with M800 too.
My budget is around 3k so can i get one from any manufacturer which ca nwork perfectly with a 3cylinder car? I mean a tacho which has 3cylinder settings, I have no probs with the installation part, I'm good at doing DIys so that is not a problem for me.
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 16:41   #364
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 504
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpa View Post
Mate, I tried this for my Alto and don't think it is possible for the Wagon R. The reason being that the tacho for the A-Star draws its signal source directly from the ECU and not from the ignition coil, which means it can't be fitted into any other car without tampering of the ECU which IMHO is a big no-no.

Regards,
gpa
@ kingofmyworld, Above is the answer to your query. People have recommended to install 3rd party tachos. There few in this thread which are in your budget, please go over few pages.
devrajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 16:44   #365
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Any one from hyderabad who can help me to source an RPM gauge which works with a 3 cylinder engine in hyderabad?
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 16:54   #366
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

well N1 racing in Mumbai does it.
a friend got it done on an alto..
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 18:43   #367
BHPian
 
josejoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 635
Thanked: 319 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld View Post
GUYS! Help me out now, I read few posts posted earlier in this thread, Some one said that MASS agreed to install A-Star's tacho on his alto but how is it possible? Alto is a 3cylinder car and A-Star is a 4 cylinder car. Can this thing be programmed to work with a 3cylinder car too? Does it require any custom changes? If it works with alto, It'll sure work with M800 too.
@ kingofmyworld, A Star is a 3 cylinder car. This is the reason why it is said that A Star's tacho can be fixed in Alto.

- Jose.
josejoseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 19:05   #368
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josejoseph View Post
@ kingofmyworld, A Star is a 3 cylinder car. This is the reason why it is said that A Star's tacho can be fixed in Alto.

- Jose.
A-Star Is a 4 cylidner car i believe
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 19:07   #369
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,677
Thanked: 1,025 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld View Post
A-Star Is a 4 cylidner car i believe
Buddy it''s a 3 cylinder kb-series engine.The ritz has a 4 cylinder engine.
sumeethaldankar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 19:12   #370
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Buddy it''s a 3 cylinder kb-series engine.The ritz has a 4 cylinder engine.
Oh, My bad
then i believe it will work with M800, Doesn't it?
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 00:12   #371
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

No idea about Orange & yellow, But blue goes for the water temp thing, green for the RPM signal and black for the battery -ve terminal.
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 14:04   #372
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Got my RPM guge today
Yet to be installed, I'll do the install by evening and post the pics here, For now here is a pic of the RPM gauge packed.
Attached Thumbnails
Tachometers-photo0171.jpg  

kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 15:32   #373
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,677
Thanked: 1,025 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld
Got my RPM guge today
Yet to be installed, I'll do the install by evening and post the pics here,
For now here is a pic of the RPM gauge packed.
Hey , i guess my kinda of guage is getting popular around :-).even Amit_mechengg has one.

Well buddy good luck with the install.Make sure you get the position right.The Base is a stick on and can be screwed on but make sure you have the best placement without obstructing your view.I was thinking about embedding the piece inside the dashboard thus leaving only the glass visible outside but the 800's dasboard is not broad enough to do this.

Well like me if you want,you could secure the tacho with a lock.I have kinda of done a do DIY saftey for the tacho lock,looks ugly because it has chains around it and all but gives me atleast some peace of mind.

For that i have used a lock with a long neck similar to like the picture below and used it as the base of the tacho.To this lock is a chain which is wrapped around the dashboard and ends with another lock.I can put pics if you want later.
Till then i am looking forward for your install pics.

Name:  stockphotolockwithextralonghardenedsteelhandleisolatedpathincluded1464676.jpg
Views: 964
Size:  26.6 KB

Last edited by sumeethaldankar : 25th December 2009 at 15:36.
sumeethaldankar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 16:06   #374
BHPian
 
adishenoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 61
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld View Post
Got my RPM guge today
Yet to be installed, I'll do the install by evening and post the pics here, For now here is a pic of the RPM gauge packed.
I think i have seen the very same RPM gauge somewhere, i can't remember.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Hey , i guess my kinda of guage is getting popular around :-).even Amit_mechengg has one.

Well like me if you want,you could secure the tacho with a lock.I have kinda of done a do DIY saftey for the tacho lock,looks ugly because it has chains around it and all but gives me atleast some peace of mind.

.

Attachment 251218
It was tough searching for the gauge, got it from Milan Subway on a Sunday and this was the last 3 3/4 Tacho there. So he's one lucky chap.

I am a bit amused about locking the tacho with a regular lock, it'll definitely look funny. Do you have any pics of the same?
adishenoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 16:30   #375
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adishenoy View Post
I think i have seen the very same RPM gauge somewhere, i can't remember.
How can the santa who got this gauge for my ride forget it?
Santa ko short term memory loss hogaya?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Hey , i guess my kinda of guage is getting popular around :-).even Amit_mechengg has one.

Well buddy good luck with the install.Make sure you get the position right.The Base is a stick on and can be screwed on but make sure you have the best placement without obstructing your view.I was thinking about embedding the piece inside the dashboard thus leaving only the glass visible outside but the 800's dasboard is not broad enough to do this.
Yeah mate, Look good too, I'm going to do the install this evening and ill post the installation pics along with a DIY thread if time permits. Tried mounting it on the right end of the dash but because of the inclination of the dash im unable to mount in a proper angle, I'm trying to make some changes to fix it in a correct position. Hopefully by tonight ill do the install and keep the thread updated.
Thanks for your help and thanks for santa " adishenoy" for getting the tacho for my ride
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case for Tachometers on all Bikes and Scooters anjan_c2007 Motorbikes 27 10th April 2012 11:44
Post pictures of Tachometers here! streetracer_919 Modifications & Accessories 0 8th June 2009 12:02
Tachometers /Odometers/Fuel-tempGauges Rahulk76 Modifications & Accessories 1 10th March 2006 16:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks