Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th June 2010, 21:25   #421
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 31
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hello everybody. im looking at buying this autogauge tacho meter- Product Detail

please tell me what you feel about it.
i am fixing this for my accent viva petrol(1.6l dohc)
few questions:
1) will this rpm fit on my car dashboard? it is 5"
2) for a petrol engine the rpm meter should measure upto 11k right?
3) will all the gauges be able to work?including the shift light?
4) will it have a backlight? i have searched everywhere but nowhere does it mention about the back light

this is my first accessory i am buying. looking forward to your responses. also if any of you have seen this gauge in any store in bangalore. then please do let me know. thanks in advance.
anuj1237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2010, 10:57   #422
BHPian
 
yogisays0909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 499
Thanked: 165 Times
Default Wana sell this

How much can i expect for these two things together.
3 1/4' tacho and external shift light.
Attached Thumbnails
Tachometers-dscf0218.jpg  

Attached Images
 
yogisays0909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2010, 12:43   #423
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogisays0909 View Post
How much can i expect for these two things together.
3 1/4' tacho and external shift light.
"How much can i expect ?" - your are selling.

New cost 3000 + 1500 at milan subway, mumbai for autogauge, and cheaper for Chinese brands.

set your price accordingly if you're selling them.

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2010, 19:55   #424
BHPian
 
yogisays0909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 499
Thanked: 165 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UniqueMods View Post
"How much can i expect ?" - your are selling.

New cost 3000 + 1500 at milan subway, mumbai for autogauge, and cheaper for Chinese brands.

set your price accordingly if you're selling them.

UM
Yes i wana sell them, got triple pod gauges.
Its Auto Gauge and in excellent condition. Will shell them off for 3.3K
yogisays0909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 13:16   #425
BHPian
 
josejoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 635
Thanked: 319 Times
Default Tachometer for M800

Hello All,

I bought Sunpro CP 2012 tacho for my 2001 model 5 speed M800.

Can some one advice me on connecting it? I'm also not sure about setting the cylinder configuration to 3 and shift light?

Attached are the pictures.

Name:  DSC06635.JPG
Views: 2474
Size:  357.4 KB

Name:  DSC06636.JPG
Views: 3198
Size:  401.3 KB

Name:  DSC06638.JPG
Views: 2430
Size:  324.8 KB

Thanks,
Jose.
josejoseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 14:34   #426
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

i have the same sunpro model but set on 2 cylinder setting for a (dual ignition coil) santro erlx. work perfectly.

wiring-

red is to +ve 12v power source
black is -ve ground
white is back light - connect it to the instrumental back light source. so it will come on only when you turn on the dimmer or headlight.
green is the rpm signal wire. connect it to the +ve of you 800 ignition coil in the engine bay.

the manual that came with the tacho has the settings of the engine type selector. in case you don't have the manual let me know, will put up a scanned copy.

how much did you pay for this?
and get the installation from a car electrician. this is a advanced DIY.

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 16:22   #427
BHPian
 
josejoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 635
Thanked: 319 Times
Default

UniqueMods, I bought the tacho from eBay and did not get the user manual. Hence, please send me the scanned copy.

When I googled, I found that the green wire has to be connected to the (-)ive of the ignition coil. But you have mentioned it to connect to the (+)ive of the coil. Can you please confirm?

I paid around $60 including shipping. This is an unused new item. Am not sure if the price is high. One reason I went for this is because I found it difficult to find tachos with 3-cylinder settings. Most of the tachos which I zeroed in had 4, 6, 8-cylinder config.

Thanks,
Jose.
josejoseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 23:06   #428
BHPian
 
josejoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 635
Thanked: 319 Times
Default

Okay, here is the update. I temporarily connected the tacho on a test mode. I connected the red wire to the battery +ive, black to the -ive and green wire to the -ive of the ignition coil. After cranking the car, the needle moved to 1100. Is this correct rpm for a 5-speed M800?

Now, I'll have to figure out a place to fix the tacho permanently in the dash. The tacho is of 3.3/8", hence it will be difficult to find a good position.

There is one more wire white in color which lights the tacho. I have to connect this to the dimmer or headlight switch. How will I trace this wire in the car? Pointers please.

Regards,
Jose.
josejoseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 13:46   #429
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

I will scan and upload the manual, but will need to hunt for that tacho box, pretty sure i can find it.
The +ve or -ve connection on the coil, should also be in the manual.

I paid 35$ a year back from Ebay to a friend coming to India.

The white wire is hooked up to the wiring harness inside the cabin behind the instrument console. cant help in where exactly its connected.

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 13:52   #430
BHPian
 
BANDHAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 880
Thanked: 263 Times
Default

Can the stock tachometer of Ritz VXI/ZXI model be fitted to Base Lxi model?
BANDHAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 16:04   #431
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BANDHAV View Post
Can the stock tachometer of Ritz VXI/ZXI model be fitted to Base Lxi model?
Depends if M.a.s.s are ready to do this installation.
i believe Ritz takes the rpm signal for the ecu, and if this cable is not provided from the ecu, you should be able to connect it to the coil.

Your best option is the accessory department of M.a.s.s.

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 06:13   #432
BHPian
 
josejoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 635
Thanked: 319 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UniqueMods View Post
I will scan and upload the manual, but will need to hunt for that tacho box, pretty sure i can find it.
The +ve or -ve connection on the coil, should also be in the manual.

I paid 35$ a year back from Ebay to a friend coming to India.

The white wire is hooked up to the wiring harness inside the cabin behind the instrument console. cant help in where exactly its connected.

UM
UniqueMods, please scan the manual when you find it.

Re. the +ive or -ive connectivity, in my case the green wire is connected to the -ive of the ignition coil.

I'm not sure if the price is high, but like I said I went for this tacho as I did not find any thing else to my liking for 3-cylinder engines.

I spoke to my mechanic in MASS and he's ready to fix it. Will get it done next week.

Can any one tell me which is the ideal RPM for a 5-speed M800? What is the correct RPM to shift gears to get better mileage figures?

Thanks,
Jose.
josejoseph is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2010, 17:44   #433
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

sunpro cp2012 manual.

UM
Attached Files
File Type: zip IMG_1419.zip (2.80 MB, 294 views)
UniqueMods is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2010, 09:09   #434
BHPian
 
josejoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 635
Thanked: 319 Times
Default

UniqueMods, thanks so much buddy!

I'm getting the tacho fixed this week. Will post pics then.

Regards,
Jose.
josejoseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 09:04   #435
BHPian
 
josejoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 635
Thanked: 319 Times
Default

Hi All, finally the tacho is fixed. Attached are the images. M.A.S.S. charged me Rs. 150/- for fixing this.

Name:  IMG_4751.JPG
Views: 2730
Size:  180.1 KB

Name:  IMG_4753.JPG
Views: 2631
Size:  189.4 KB

Name:  Night.jpg
Views: 2497
Size:  89.5 KB

Regards,
Jose.
josejoseph is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case for Tachometers on all Bikes and Scooters anjan_c2007 Motorbikes 27 10th April 2012 11:44
Post pictures of Tachometers here! streetracer_919 Modifications & Accessories 0 8th June 2009 12:02
Tachometers /Odometers/Fuel-tempGauges Rahulk76 Modifications & Accessories 1 10th March 2006 16:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:42.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks