Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th February 2012, 14:55   #481
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Does a Chevy Spark have a single ignition coil or Dual ignition coil? check that out first.
tacho's avaliable at milan subway and opera house are mainly for single ignition coil.

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 11:05   #482
BHPian
 
StrangeWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bombay
Posts: 738
Thanked: 228 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by UniqueMods View Post
Does a Chevy Spark have a single ignition coil or Dual ignition coil? check that out first.
tacho's avaliable at milan subway and opera house are mainly for single ignition coil.

UM
I have no idea what type of ignition coil it has. But I'll still check out the tachos at opera and milan.
Thanks
StrangeWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 11:39   #483
BHPian
 
Team Fiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pune NIBM
Posts: 279
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: Tachometers


Note from the Team-BHP Support Team : Using Team-BHP to promote vested and commercial interests is STRICTLY prohibited. Do refrain from marketing your goods / services on the board.

Last edited by Technocrat : 10th March 2012 at 02:49. Reason: Please read the MOD note in your post, thanks
Team Fiat is offline   Reply With Quote Received Infraction
Old 10th March 2012, 11:14   #484
BHPian
 
arun_sharon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore/Kottayam
Posts: 50
Thanked: 24 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushrutha View Post
An urgent help.
I recently brought an Autogauge 2 in 1 digital Voltmeter+RPM meter.
Need to install this in my CIVIC. When connected, Voltmeter works fine.
Though I already have a stock RPM meter in a CIVIC, but I want this Autoguage unit to be installed seperately which looks cool too (Digital RPM ;-) )
Has anybody installed an addon tachometer in CIVIC ?
Now from the gauge where do I have to clip the RPM wire into ? Where in distributor ? Or does the RPM singal come from ECU ? How easy is it to install an RPM meter.

Can be done in this way, BUTTTT.........
I don't want to open my dashboard and tap the wire which is for RPM meter in the dashboard.

This is how the Gauge looks
I am also looking for a digital pod. where did you source this kit from and how much did you pay for them?
Rds
Arun
arun_sharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2012, 14:11   #485
Senior - BHPian
 
sushrutha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chikmagalur/Ban
Posts: 1,702
Thanked: 324 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by arun_sharon View Post
I am also looking for a digital pod. where did you source this kit from and how much did you pay for them?
Rds
Arun
As I was not able to fit the Digital RPM meter in my CIVIC as the pulse code messages didn't match, I did return the Gauge to the shop.
You can get the same at THROTTLE - Jayanagar 7th block.
I don't rememeber the exact price, somewhere between 2K-2.5K INR
sushrutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2012, 12:16   #486
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 828
Thanked: 113 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Hi
Is there a flattish low profile oval shaped tachometer in the market preferably with flat base and rounded top and sides? Like where the needle moves more in a horizontal arc than vertical?

I dont want to lose the visibility of my bonnet when mounted on the dash of my Gypsy and the off center passenger side area of the dash is taken up by a rotating dash fan.

Alternatively I could mount a round tachometer in the vertical face of the dash (and angled towards me) if diameter is about 5.5cm as there is a round space meant for analog clock that can be cut-out.

Thanks
--Rahul
Ragul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2012, 21:55   #487
Senior - BHPian
 
Desmosedici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,378
Thanked: 407 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragul View Post
Hi

Alternatively I could mount a round tachometer in the vertical face of the dash (and angled towards me) if diameter is about 5.5cm as there is a round space meant for analog clock that can be cut-out.

Thanks
--Rahul
Did you get your tacho done. You get those smaller tachos in Blore that you can fit inside the dash inplace of the clock. Ask GSFerrari from where he got that done. I think from RAC in Blore. I brought the gypsy from him and it has that.
Desmosedici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 21:15   #488
BHPian
 
Eminenttismo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: 18.00N,79.58E
Posts: 330
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by UniqueMods View Post
Does a Chevy Spark have a single ignition coil or Dual ignition coil? check that out first.
tacho's avaliable at milan subway and opera house are mainly for single ignition coil.

UM
Name:  KGrHqZgwE29ZuLd4DBN86PLK_35.JPG
Views: 1855
Size:  11.6 KB
Above is the Ignition coil in Chevy Spark. Judging by the looks of it, which type could it be? Single or Dual? I suppose this has 2 coils, one for 2 cylinders.

Also if I have a Tacho where should I connect the green wire on the ignition coil? Let me know if you want to see more detailed pictures of the coil.
Eminenttismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2012, 11:49   #489
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 59
Thanked: 22 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

A friend recently bought a Tachometer from Australia and needs to fit it to a Ritz Ldi. Can somebody please explain where he can get this done in Hyderabad ? In case you are aware of a DIY, please share the steps that need to be followed. He tried with Xenex performance store(not sure of the exact name but it is the new store that has opened in Kavuri Hills) but they did not have a clue.
kaka46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2012, 12:33   #490
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eminenttismo View Post
Attachment 943165
Above is the Ignition coil in Chevy Spark. Judging by the looks of it, which type could it be? Single or Dual? I suppose this has 2 coils, one for 2 cylinders.

Also if I have a Tacho where should I connect the green wire on the ignition coil? Let me know if you want to see more detailed pictures of the coil.
This looks like a dual coil. Check the exact specs on the website from where you got this picture.

Didn't you get a connection drawing with the tachometer? The drawing will help in figuring out what connects where.

Edit: I also have a small suspicion that connecting the tacho directly to the coil pack may lead to the tacho showing only half the actual RPM. Something similar happened with a lot of folks who connected aftermarket tachos' to the Swift G series petrol cars. In the Swift the tacho had to get feedback from the ECU for it work correctly.

Last edited by vikram_d : 13th December 2012 at 12:37.
vikram_d is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 12:29   #491
BHPian
 
antardaksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: delhi
Posts: 323
Thanked: 200 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Is it possible to install Diesel Tachometer in Petrol car. I was trying to install Ritz tacho in Wagon R but ordered diesel tacho by mistake.

It would be very useful if anyone can tell me about compatibility issues, else I will procure a new one.
Diesel tacho part number 34200M83K10
Petrol tacho part number 34200M83K00

Regards
antardaksh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 09:55   #492
BHPian
 
ilangop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pune/Neyveli
Posts: 913
Thanked: 578 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by antardaksh View Post
Is it possible to install Diesel Tachometer in Petrol car. I was trying to install Ritz tacho in Wagon R but ordered diesel tacho by mistake.
Regards
Dude,
Which make are the tachs? Could you please post the source for its data sheet or some sort of technical info? Diesel tachs are usually hooked to the alternator, where as the petrol tachs show the speed based on spark counts. So if you can tap the alternator speed signal, technically you should be able to use a diesel tach on petrol car. Still please look for the data sheet and share it here.
-Ilango
ilangop is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 20:58   #493
BHPian
 
antardaksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: delhi
Posts: 323
Thanked: 200 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Hi,

Thanks for your resonse.
This is Ritz Diesel tachometer and manufacturer is Pricol.

I tried to search for the spec sheet and circuit diagram but was not able to find this on Pricol website.

Regards,
antardaksh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2013, 01:05   #494
BHPian
 
antardaksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: delhi
Posts: 323
Thanked: 200 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Quote:
Originally Posted by antardaksh View Post
Hi,

Thanks for your resonse.
This is Ritz Diesel tachometer and manufacturer is Pricol.

I tried to search for the spec sheet and circuit diagram but was not able to find this on Pricol website.

Regards,
I have been able to replace Ritz Diesel tacho with petrol. I was able to test the tacho by temporarily connecting it to ECM signal. Will post pics once install is complete.

Regards.
antardaksh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2013, 21:38   #495
BHPian
 
Roja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Outthere
Posts: 26
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Re: Tachometers

Any information where I can get an Autogauge Tachometer from online, delivered to Assam? This is for a 410w Gypsy if you please.

Many thanks
Roja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case for Tachometers on all Bikes and Scooters anjan_c2007 Motorbikes 27 10th April 2012 11:44
Post pictures of Tachometers here! streetracer_919 Modifications & Accessories 0 8th June 2009 12:02
Tachometers /Odometers/Fuel-tempGauges Rahulk76 Modifications & Accessories 1 10th March 2006 16:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:32.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks