Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th August 2005, 16:10   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 33
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Putting an indian car engine in a Sera

Hey... wanted to enquire if we can port an indian car engine (1000cc ~ 1400 cc) into a Toyota Sera. The reason being that these cars are facing some serious issues related to spare parts..

Please Help ! ! !
cool_sizzlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2005, 16:47   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 217 Times
Default

I suppose you mean PUT an Indian engine in a Sera? Yes, it should be possible, but would it really be worth the money?
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2005, 18:15   #3
BANNED
 
dadudeonfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: mumbai - bandra
Posts: 367
Thanked: Once
Default

yes it would be dude...go for honda 1.3 engine...
dadudeonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 13:28   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 33
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I love the looks of Sera and would love to have a car like that.. Secondly, Sera's are goin' real cheap now... so getting an engine ported would not mean a BIG expense. Moreover, i am more concerned about which engine would fit in? As you know there are complications and not every engine can fit in any car. right? If not then how do we go about understanding the ways in which we can have a successful porting done.
cool_sizzlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 13:35   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
chiragh_bir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In front of you :P
Posts: 1,123
Thanked: 69 Times
Default

go in 4 a honda 1.5 vtech engine >>>>>>>
chiragh_bir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 13:38   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 217 Times
Default

What does PORTING an engine have to do with PUTTING an engine in the Sera? Correct me if I am wrong, but I think you are asking these 2 questions:

1. Which engine can you put it the Sera.
2. Can you port/polish the engine.

The answer to Q1 will make itself clear only by studying the mounting points of the existing engine. However nothing is going to be a direct fit.

The answer to Q2 is YES. Any engine can be ported!!

But again...I personally see no point in doing this. But to each his own...

Last edited by Rtech : 5th August 2005 at 13:39.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 13:42   #7
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 33
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Ok.... let me break the issue as said by you. Firstly i need to out a new engine in Sera.... Does anybody know which engine can fit in. I mean i am searching for all those engines whose mounting points match (exact or closely) to the one in Sera ?
cool_sizzlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 13:44   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
turbo_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Windsor
Posts: 1,377
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

1.6L max..look for a baleno engine..or else the esteem and zen will be smoking you bad..

viper - has twin cam suzuki engines (with the works) lying with him for sale ..

Last edited by turbo_lover : 5th August 2005 at 13:49.
turbo_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 18:17   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
ananthkamath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,203
Thanked: 59 Times
Default

I'm sure people will be able to help you better if you post a few pics of the engine bay with specific attention to the present mounting points.....since its a FWD I dont think there should be much of a problem putting an engine/gearbox assy. from an Indian car...
ananthkamath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 21:04   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

there are some good twin cam 1600cc engines for sale in bombay....will throw out 130+bhp stock....contact zengt.
bangalore same engines contact psycho
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2005, 20:52   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,042
Thanked: 95 Times
Default

If you are serious I may be able to help rebuild the current engine or also provide for an engine swap... please do PM me the details and I can get back to you

Note: there are ways to make imported engines to work with Indian parts...
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Problem in putting Yoko 205 Tyres in Swift VDI? Rockzer Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 7 3rd March 2008 11:24
Putting a Free Flow Exhaust in Esteem 2001 passion4cars Technical Stuff 5 29th January 2008 23:36
Advise me Please"is it worth putting CNG in one year old Swift" mitesh vardhan Technical Stuff 0 26th September 2007 16:39
Putting The Hammer Down At Ferrari comfortablywacky The International Automotive Scene 0 28th January 2005 02:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks