Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th November 2009, 17:41   #1
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 249 Times
Default Can A-star's RPM gauge be programmed to work with M800?

I was searching for an RPM gauge for my M800 and came to know through a Tbhpian that A-Star's rpm gauge might work with a 3cylinder car, So technically it should work with an M800, So my question here is, Is it possible to make it work with my M800?
How can one program it to work with a 3Cylinder car?

Can some one help me out?
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 02:12   #2
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

A-stars tacho runs off the ECU so you dont need cylinder settings, As far as i know cyl setting come into play when you run them off the ignition coil.

I can be wrong. Let the experts confirm this.

But yes im sure the same tacho is being used in RITZ as well so it has multiple cyl setting, I have seen people run it in a SWIFT and Wagon R too..
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 08:33   #3
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 249 Times
Default

The same tacho is being used with Ritz, Even ritz is a 4cylinder car, Swift also is a 4 cylinder car, And people using it on a swift are powering it through the ignition coil i suppose.
How can i power this gauge from the ECU?
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 09:50   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
14000rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, MI
Posts: 1,893
Thanked: 645 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld View Post
The same tacho is being used with Ritz, Even ritz is a 4cylinder car, Swift also is a 4 cylinder car, And people using it on a swift are powering it through the ignition coil i suppose.
How can i power this gauge from the ECU?
I'll keep a close look on this thread. I need to do a similar job on my alto. Guys,any suggestions?
14000rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 10:58   #5
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 50 Times
Default

There are many threads that will update you to the details.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...grades-15.html (Santro Specifics Mods and upgrades !)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...meters-21.html (Tachometers)


I would stay away from the ECU/ECM ? one mistake could cost you a 10 to 20K.
My 2c.

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 12:29   #6
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld View Post
The same tacho is being used with Ritz, Even ritz is a 4cylinder car, Swift also is a 4 cylinder car, And people using it on a swift are powering it through the ignition coil i suppose.
How can i power this gauge from the ECU?
Swift has DUAL ignition coils, Are you sure that A-STAR tacho was connected via ignition coils?

Why dont to go to a MASS and ask them the spec's and installation chances in your car?
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 14:35   #7
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 249 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Swift has DUAL ignition coils, Are you sure that A-STAR tacho was connected via ignition coils?

Why dont to go to a MASS and ask them the spec's and installation chances in your car?
I'll take m car for a service in the next couple of days so I'll ask him about the specs and possibilities of installation in my ride, I'll keep you guys updated.
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have you programmed your car? Ford's SDK for cars Sedate The International Automotive Scene 6 11th January 2013 11:56
Is Fuel efficiency strictly a function of RPM or is it speed+gear+RPM? Astleviz Technical Stuff 54 25th November 2011 09:22
Is A-star not a Safe star? sidindica Road Safety 55 11th July 2010 11:40
rpm below idle rpm tortoise Technical Stuff 12 2nd April 2007 00:51
m800 vs ikon (what comp can a M800 be?) manaa45 Street Experiences 13 31st March 2005 12:06


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:11.

Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks