Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th August 2005, 10:56   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,838
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

nice report drifter
those are some nice improvments.

Quote:
Great report! I'm sure you had a ball with it. Btw, have you bought new tyres yet?
Quote:
Hey Drifter ,Which tyres are looking to buy?.Please post about that too when you are done
looks like drifters tyres are really rocking the nation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech
but I'm sure your acceleration times could have improved had you had better rubber!
wouldn't slicks give an advantage in dry conditions ?
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2005, 11:01   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,988
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33
wouldn't slicks give an advantage in dry conditions ?

i guess not because they would increase wheel spin which would cause a slower take off and hence increase the time by a small fraction of a second.


Rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2005, 11:07   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 213 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33
wouldn't slicks give an advantage in dry conditions ?
"Slicks" would, but "bald" tyres probably wouldn't. All tyres have a life after which they stop giving their best. It's the same reason why F1 teams change (or used to change) their tyres after a period of time even though technically they had more rubber on the road as the grooves got worn off. After 40,000km's, drifters tyres were certainly past their prime.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2005, 11:51   #19
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,763
Thanked: 89,530 Times
Default

Quote:
"Slicks" would, but "bald" tyres probably wouldn't.
True. Its a common misconception that bald tyres and slicks are the same.

When our road tyres become bald, they are in no way slicks as the grippier rubber layer has totally worn off. This is very different from slicks used in various forms of racing which have a complete contact patch of good rubber. Slicks however have serious limitations in the wet due to lack of water dispersion capabilities.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2005, 14:26   #20
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech
"Slicks" would, but "bald" tyres probably wouldn't. .
Perhaps someone should inform our BRILLIANT truck and Buswalla's that running slicks on their vehicles is just a disaster waiting to happen..
Oh and also.. the good samaritan that is doing this should tell the taxiwalla's as well... Any takers??
2L8uLoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2005, 20:35   #21
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Well,
Now that we have a Skoda report and a CRdi report ... I shud be giving one about the E220 CDI .. Will be getting figures soon using testing equipment .. Once i get them I will post the review soon ..
Good going Rtech and Drifter ...
Cheers
EVO6
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 08:29   #22
BHPian
 
turboindia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 253
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

That would be great EVO. Are there any Elantra CRDi users here who would want to test the Pete's tuning box and give us a report??????
turboindia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2005, 19:53   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,714
Thanked: 9,033 Times
Default

turbo india do you have plans to introduce tuning kit for a fiesta,if yes whats the power output we should expect,i am planning to buy either a viva crdi or a fiesta tdci and i need a tuning kit for my car.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2005, 21:16   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,988
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

a friend of mine wants to know if its available for the scorpio ?? if it is for how much ?


Rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2005, 23:00   #25
BHPian
 
turboindia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 253
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Yes we will be having the box for the Fiesta but I doubt whether it will be viable since it is the Piezzo boxes which happen to be the costliest in the PSI range. Will have my sample piece in a few days and will get it on to our test car as soon as posible.

And sorry we dont do box for the Scorpio

Rgds
turboindia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2005, 21:09   #26
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,714
Thanked: 9,033 Times
Default

turboindia ,do we also need a freeflow exhaust also, with k&n filter for stage2 tune in accent crdi?
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2005, 22:02   #27
BHPian
 
turboindia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 253
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .anshuman
turboindia ,do we also need a freeflow exhaust also, with k&n filter for stage2 tune in accent crdi?
NO but we suggest you use a free flow filter atleast
turboindia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2005, 02:21   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Pete, I'm sure there will be many at ur doorstep for the fiesta's tuning box since the stock output is 68bhp. Pls give the tweaked output figures out asap, i cant wait to listen to the music of atleast 80bhp...
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2005, 19:46   #29
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,714
Thanked: 9,033 Times
Default

but even with the upgrade i dont expext fiesta to even get similar performance to accent diesel,but that will make for a far better package.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2006, 12:31   #30
BHPian
 
Beeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Treasure island
Posts: 335
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboindia
That would be great EVO. Are there any Elantra CRDi users here who would want to test the Pete's tuning box and give us a report??????
Well there is a Elantra pertrol user here. Do these power boxes only come for the diesel variants??
Beeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spider Diesel Tuning Box VS. Pete's Tuning Box - Spider Box feedback on pg 2 Endeavour333 Modifications & Accessories 130 11th September 2017 01:24
needed help regarding petes digital tuning box autozoniac Modifications & Accessories 4 28th February 2010 23:15
Petes Digital Tuning Box For Skoda Octavia For Sale autozoniac Shifting gears 1 30th July 2008 18:13
Skoda Petes Tuning Box jerish666 Shifting gears 3 7th December 2007 08:17
Petes Tuning Box adit1329 Modifications & Accessories 2 23rd January 2006 23:11


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:32.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks