Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th August 2010, 10:27   #1
Distinguished - BHPian
 
4x4addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 3,974
Thanked: 2,497 Times
Default Race Chip (German) for Diesel Cars for Rs. 17,500

I saw an advertisement from Haute Car Zone in OMR/Chennai selling Race Chip (german) tuning chips for most Indian diesel cars for Rs. 17,500.

I think the price is good compared to Petes. The german website offers 2 year warranty. Not sure about the Warranty in India.

RaceChip chiptuning - increase engine power

If anyone chennai is planning to get one, please PM me so we can try to negotiate a volume discount.

I have scanned and uploaded the advertisement.
Attached Thumbnails
Race Chip (German) for Diesel Cars for Rs. 17,500-racechiptuningchip.jpg  

4x4addict is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 10:40   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

It seems odd. Is the same box workable for different cars, from the 1.3DDiS to the 2.2 mHawk ? Pardon my ignorance.

This sounds good but I wonder what support one might expect from Germany. Unless they are going to appoint dealers.

Interesting option nonetheless.



Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 10:42   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
4x4addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 3,974
Thanked: 2,497 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
It seems odd. Is the same box workable for different cars, from the 1.3DDiS to the 2.2 mHawk ? Pardon my ignorance.
It doesn't state anywhere that the same box is used for all the cars. The list of cars is the list of models supported. According to the Race Chip website, the price is same for all models.
4x4addict is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 10:52   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Gilead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 2,140
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

4x4, one guy has already installed this box.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...-complete.html (my Swift Vdi is now finally COMPLETE!..)

As you rightly pointed out, the price is on the lower side compared to the Petes (BSI) box, so one needs to be wary until a few more reviews have come out. And HCZ prices are usually double that of anywhere else, so the actual price of the box must be even cheaper.

Last edited by Gilead : 4th August 2010 at 10:58.
Gilead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 12:27   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
anachronix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madras
Posts: 3,250
Thanked: 1,241 Times
Default

@Gilead, I remember the red swift modded by SterlingJames in the car mods section. I believe it was shut for some reason like it was modded up in his own garage and posted here.

IIRC sterlingjames is from HCZ! Correct me if I am wrong!

Well if he is from HCZ, it makes it easy for us to get more details on this chip!

Last edited by anachronix : 4th August 2010 at 12:29.
anachronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 12:31   #6
BHPian
 
BikerSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chennai, INDIA
Posts: 374
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

i have a racechip on my car (BMW 320d). have had a racechip on my innova in the past and also got a racechip for a friends A6 3.0TDi.

its a fantastic product. and cheaper if you order online.

from my limited experience with the racechip, its the same box for all cars, just the interface cable that is different for all vehicles.
BikerSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 13:11   #7
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kochi
Posts: 65
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
@Gilead, I remember the red swift modded by SterlingJames in the car mods section. I believe it was shut for some reason like it was modded up in his own garage and posted here.

IIRC sterlingjames is from HCZ! Correct me if I am wrong!

Well if he is from HCZ, it makes it easy for us to get more details on this chip!
Anachronix you are right. He is from HCZ. HCZ also has a facebook group. Join that and you'll get updates on what they offer!
Here is the link: Welcome to Facebook
vjabraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 14:26   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Gilead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 2,140
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
@Gilead, I remember the red swift modded by SterlingJames in the car mods section. I believe it was shut for some reason like it was modded up in his own garage and posted here.

IIRC sterlingjames is from HCZ! Correct me if I am wrong!

Well if he is from HCZ, it makes it easy for us to get more details on this chip!
The link that I posted above is Sterling James' thread! I didn't know he was 'from' HCZ. No wonder he only had nice things to say about that place. I have only heard crappy reports from nearly everyone else.
Gilead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 14:55   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
anachronix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madras
Posts: 3,250
Thanked: 1,241 Times
Default

^^ My experience & one of my friend's experience with HCZ was a lot more than crappy!

However, I have decided to stay away from HCZ for good!
anachronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 15:06   #10
BHPian
 
SpinWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 80
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Looks good and cheaper than petes. Does anyone have info about this in Bangalore ?
SpinWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 23:40   #11
BHPian
 
kailashnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 887
Thanked: 275 Times
Default

Guys the Race chip is very good and I have been using it for some time. Its not a cheap imitation of Petes but the price mentioned is very high.

I got mine delivered directly from them all inclusive of taxes and duty for 11000 INR. But one of my friend who recommended me this racechip bought it for 9300 as he was not charged the Import duty but in mumbai I was charged.

Racechip does make a better solution than Petes and its cheap too, but nothing beats a remap. I am planning to go for one soon as that will surely help.

After using racechip on my car - I am sure there is more power that can be utilized better with the remap.

Regards,
Kailash
kailashnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 10:21   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BikerSG View Post
i have a racechip on my car (BMW 320d). have had a racechip on my innova in the past and also got a racechip for a friends A6 3.0TDi.

its a fantastic product. and cheaper if you order online.

from my limited experience with the racechip, its the same box for all cars, just the interface cable that is different for all vehicles.

Same box, different coupler. Don't all cars have different ECU's ? Yes they do. There is something amiss.

But you seem happy with the performance, which is good. Maybe they have a generic base map, which they are using. I am stumped.

Any explaination ??



Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 14:26   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,367
Thanked: 22,579 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
....one guy has already installed this box..
..and its going on the Q7 4.2 TDI soon :

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...7-4-2-tdi.html

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 10:56   #14
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,705
Thanked: 89,159 Times
Default

Don't judge tuning boxes by the price, guys. Margins range between 30% - 300%. We've seen 2,000 rupee boxes sold for 10,000 bucks, and 5,000 rupee boxes for 40,000. End of the day, they pretty much do the same thing.

I'd be eager to hear of more Race Chip user experiences.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 12:29   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
alpha1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: P00NA
Posts: 1,625
Thanked: 965 Times
Default

As a slight offtopic - why do we get these add-ons only for diesels and not for petrols?
alpha1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 German Grand Prix - Hockenheimring - Race Thread deetjohn Int'l Motorsport 28 26th July 2014 19:15
Merc C250 gets quicker with Race Chip (Rs. 18,000 only!) kvigneshbhasker Modifications & Accessories 12 13th June 2014 12:47
My Linea MJD - with race chip kdadi Long-Term Ownership Reviews 98 14th August 2013 13:34
Fiat Linea MJD Boss(a) Nova White. EDIT With Race-chip and 30000 Kms update Naparajito Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 37 21st July 2013 18:27
*Installed* : Race Chip in Fiat Linea Amneo Modifications & Accessories 12 2nd July 2012 22:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:43.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks