Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th September 2010, 18:49   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Secunderabad
Posts: 117
Thanked: 20 Times
Default Changing SWIFT Engine to K10 Series

I use a SWIFT 2009 and would like to know if I can change the engine to the latest K10 Series.

If this is possible what would be the cost of procuring/replacing the engine to the new K10 Series?

What are the marked difference if I do the change other than the mileage?

This is purely for information purpose only.

MODS: I searched for this question and did not hit any, if this is already been addressed please close this thread and kindly point me to there. Thanks
ajitsank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2010, 18:54   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
sachinj12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,188
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Why would you want to do such a thing? Not only its expensive, its a whole lot trouble too. You need to update the RTO about the engine swap, the new engine number. Simply not worth the trouble.
sachinj12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2010, 19:03   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,708
Thanked: 8,928 Times
Default

ajitsank, Selling your current '09 Swift and Buying a new Swift with K12 will work out to be a cheaper and relatively hassle-free option. Firstly finding a K12 will be difficult, a new one will be very expensive(if you are able to source one), an used engine will have a question mark on it.

Then, you will have to get the engine endorsed on your RC book from the RTO to be able to legally use the car on public roads. The biggest issue however will be the hit in the resale value.

Plus swapping a K12 with the existing g series is not a plug and play option, it will obviously require a lot of R&D by your mechanic on your cost.

Last edited by .anshuman : 17th September 2010 at 19:04.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2010, 01:48   #4
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

You want to change your 1.3 to a 1.0 Litre engine?? You have to be kidding....
Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2010, 07:41   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
You want to change your 1.3 to a 1.0 Litre engine?? You have to be kidding....
Hehe. I'm sure he meant K-series and not K10
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
K10 engine swap for an Alto 800 gomez84 Technical Stuff 28 4th June 2014 12:53
Changing Engine in a Car - A question? nicejits Modifications & Accessories 6 12th June 2008 15:25
Changing Avenger engine to 150cc Pulsar Eng? shashanka.a Motorbikes 17 12th October 2006 11:00
Changing Engine Oil..After run-in period netarchie Technical Stuff 6 31st May 2006 00:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks