Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th December 2010, 18:36   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

The remap seems to have really done the car a whole lot of good. 160+ whp !! That must be fun. Brake upgrade & a suspension to match the power & this is in the league of a 320d

Brilliant ! Have fun




Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 09:30   #32
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,739
Thanked: 89,320 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Whoa! 435 NM of torque means it will pull like a train! I bet your in-gear acceleration (when the rpm needle is over 2K) is violent enough to smash a couple of German cars. Can't wait for a detailed write-up on the power delivery and dynamics after you've had a long highway run.

On the flip side, with the changes TDI has made to your boost levels, is the lag (below 2K) more prominent? How is she to drive in bumper to bumper traffic?

Congrats on owning one of the ultimate sleeper rides. I have a feeling you're not done yet
GTO is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 10:00   #33
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kolkata
Posts: 273
Thanked: 82 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Congrats brraj on that monster of a car.

163 WHP must be like 185-190 bhp engine output(considering 10-15% drivetrain losses).That is a MAMMOTH 60% gain in the stock power figures!!
Is this possible with just a remap or are there any other modifications under the hood?
Congrats once again.
octane1002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 12:35   #34
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 351 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Thanks all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by black12rr View Post
brraj ,did you dyno it before the re-map ? .If yes , what were the numbers .
160 bhp + is great .drive safe .
The dyno figures are from TDIracing people who have done it on their first few magnums, same map has been copied to my car. Time for me to check the 0-100 figures with this re-map at RRR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
How is the traction ? Wheel spin in 4th gear ?
Myself and raj.barcode tested the car in NICE roads and just after two rounds of blasting a layer of tyre was gone. The re-map is done such a way that until and unless you press full throttle and leave the clutch suddenly there wont be any wheel spins and i would never want to do that in my car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAS View Post
@brraj. What are you upto? You seem to have clicked all those points that an enthusiast would like to dream of. Well done buddy
Yes buddy and all these under 7lkhs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAS View Post
I am looking forward to read your long term review of especially the suspension work. I was keen on buying a Magnum, but its poor handling and too soft suspension put me off.
Would definitely do once i cover 10k kms.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAS View Post
20K charged by Tdi Racing seems VFM for the job.
Very true.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
The remap seems to have really done the car a whole lot of good. 160+ whp !! That must be fun.
Actually before remapping my car, was going through your "Re-mapped skoda 1.9" thread and it has quite helped me on deciding on a remap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
Brake upgrade & a suspension to match the power & this is in the league of a 320d.

Brilliant ! Have fun
Main reason why its called a "Poor mans BMW"

Yes, i wish if some body can volunteer with a BMW 320d.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Whoa! 435 NM of torque means it will pull like a train! I bet your in-gear acceleration (when the rpm needle is over 2K) is violent enough to smash a couple of German cars. Can't wait for a detailed
write-up on the power delivery and dynamics after you've had a long highway run.
Yet to do a Highway run but before that i want to upgrade for slotted rotors as i am still not confident to unleash the power on indian highways.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
On the flip side, with the changes TDI has made to your boost levels, is the lag (below 2K) more prominent? How is she to drive in bumper to bumper traffic?
Before due to turbo lag some times it used to switch off while slowely going over humps in second gear but now turbo lag is very minimal and its fun to drive in city/highway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Congrats on owning one of the ultimate sleeper rides. I have a feeling you're not done yet
Yes my car will be a sleeper, More picture of the car will be uploaded on monday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by octane1002 View Post
163 WHP must be like 185-190 bhp engine output(considering 10-15% drivetrain losses).That is a MAMMOTH 60% gain in the stock power figures!!
Is this possible with just a remap or are there any other modifications under the hood?
Mods done to increase the power of engine.
- A remap.
- Intake.
- Exhaust.

The tuner says Engine internals of magnum & cruze are same and is far more stronger than an elantra CRDI and it can take more power than what he has given to me. He says he has just given me a conservative map

Note:
1) This is the same map done for a magnum which ran on Hyderabad drag race previous year.
2) Never remap a Magnum until and unless you sort out your suspension and brakes.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 12:55   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
Invinsible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 60 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Firstly it's great to see those figures. Congrats.. Remap always delivers a lot better than the tuning box.
I am not sure about the 163hp at wheels, its too optimistic. 435nm of torque at wheels is that what you mean ? have you done the dyno test on this ?
That would make the picture more clearer. Some of the remaps done by some tuning companies are either little aggressive or figures are too optimistic. Aggressive maps can add some spike in the boost pressure which in long run can harm the turbo. I am running a stage 2 remap on my fabia with Intake and exhaust modified. The difference it made over stage 1 is just about 10bhp. or will make just about 8-10%.
I suggest you also look at upgrading the Clutch for better power deliver before it gets fried with torque output. Have you noticed a bit of clutch slip while accelerating from standstill?
Invinsible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 13:39   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Congarts! Those torque figures are in supercar territory.

But as "Invinsible" has mentioned, you might wanna get a dyno test done, just to make sure you've got your money's worth.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 14:56   #37
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 351 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
Firstly it's great to see those figures. Congrats.. Remap always delivers a lot better than the tuning box.
I am not sure about the 163hp at wheels, its too optimistic. 435nm of torque at wheels is that what you mean ? have you done the dyno test on this ?
That would make the picture more clearer. Some of the remaps done by some tuning companies are either little aggressive or figures are too optimistic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post
Congarts! Those torque figures are in supercar territory.
But as "Invinsible" has mentioned, you might wanna get a dyno test done, just to make sure you've got your money's worth.
Shan2nu
I wanted to do the dyno a week back but RRR were busy with some rally stuff. Those figures and the dyno map was given by TDI racing, Will be visiting RRR shortly to check the power aswell as 0-100 timings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
I suggest you also look at upgrading the Clutch for better power deliver before it gets fried with torque output.
Today morning i spoke to him asking for the 434nm of torque to be linear throughout 2400rpm-4000rpm and not just dropping off the torque below 3000rpm but he says he needs to work on clutch before doing it and the work is in progress.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
Have you noticed a bit of clutch slip while accelerating from standstill?
Usually i dont accelerate hard from standstill as it reduces tyre life as well as clutch life, But once i tried it in first & second gear it used to wheel spin (in that act) i couldnt recognise a clutch slip.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 16:30   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
Invinsible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 60 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post
I wanted to do the dyno a week back but RRR were busy with some rally stuff. Those figures and the dyno map was given by TDI racing, Will be visiting RRR shortly to check the power aswell as 0-100 timings.
Figures will be different from car to car and depending on the engine condition. When getting the dyno look for any spike or surge during turbo boost on higher rpm. Most of the damage to the engine happens during running above 3000rpm. Also can you find out what turbo is running on the engine ? I am guessing its a GT 15 Garrett turbo. Every turbo has it's limitation when handling torque.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post
Today morning i spoke to him asking for the 434nm of torque to be linear throughout 2400rpm-4000rpm and not just dropping off the torque below 3000rpm but he says he needs to work on clutch before doing it and the work is in progress.
If you look at the dyno result you posted the peak torque comes in and stays only between 2400-2500rpm. Also, there is a sudden surge in boost from 2000-2500rpm going from 250NM straight to 434nm, there is bound to be some spike here. With such a sudden boost in torque at lower RPM your clutch life will be affected. To get the linear torque one needs to work on the Map. limiting the torque to 390nm or so will giving you some linear boost between 2300rpm to 2800-3000rpm and better driveability in my opinion. Plus the clutch will see longer life. You could check with Peter at Petes if they have any Spec Clutch for your car.
Am sure one can get more torque out of the engine however its best suited for track use or short time spirited driving and not for daily drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post
Usually i dont accelerate hard from standstill as it reduces tyre life as well as clutch life, But once i tried it in first & second gear it used to wheel spin (in that act) i couldnt recognise a clutch slip.
Clutch slip will happen during acceleration from standstill if the rpm suddenly rises up for a sec or two without the car moving at that rpm and than comes down and settles at the given speed. You could try picking up the car in 1st gear smoothly and floor the pedal when you change to 2nd gear. If you don't notice any above phenomena than clutch is still safe and running fine. But sometime you will notice this happening.

It happens with my fabia during stage 1 remap clutch was working at it's best. But with new custom intake and decat and stage 2 remap I noticed this clutch slip happening more often.

You also need to take care whether your gearbox is capable of handling such high amount of torque. Most gearbox are limited to handle certain of torque spike/ boost. For instance skoda 6 speed manual gearbox on the diesel cars can easily handle 500 NM of torque whereas the 5 speed gearbox could only manage less than 400nm.

Last edited by Invinsible : 10th December 2010 at 16:37.
Invinsible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 17:45   #39
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 351 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Thanks for the pointers, will take care of all the things mentioned and check while doing dyno.

Last edited by brraj : 10th December 2010 at 18:00.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 18:49   #40
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ERNAKULAM
Posts: 947
Thanked: 317 Times
Default This is whats going into my Cruze when I have the guts

This remap is what I am yearning for after my warranty is over.
Chevrolet Cruze Irmscher Edition Packs 186 Horsepower - autoevolution
drpullockaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2010, 10:26   #41
BHPian
 
raj.barcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 678
Thanked: 61 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post

The tuner says Engine internals of magnum & cruze are same and is far more stronger than an elantra CRDI and it can take more power than what he has given to me. He says he has just given me a conservative map
Nice car and good that somebody is trying all the mods so that rest can see and understand.

But i really doubt that the internals is the same; Same block doesn't mean all the internals are same


Personally i need you to get the following after driving the car

Sports suspension
Slotted rotors
Upgrade to sports clutch
and also
please get some better tyres

Last edited by raj.barcode : 11th December 2010 at 10:35.
raj.barcode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2010, 13:55   #42
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 351 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

@drpullockaran - There is already a remapped cruze running in bangalore and the figures are much more than what you have posted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by raj.barcode View Post
But i really doubt that the internals is the same; Same block doesn't mean all the internals are same
For more info talk to the tuner directly as he has worked on both the engines.
Quote:
Originally Posted by raj.barcode View Post
Sports suspension, Slotted rotors, Upgrade to sports clutch, please get some better tyres
All these when i have enough mullah, Waiting for PS3 to arrive in india.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2010, 15:02   #43
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 351 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Just back from RedRoosterRacing after Dynoing my car and figures were a bit more than what TDI racing people had promised.

Sorry for the picture quality.

Magnum entering for a Dyno Run
Name:  IMG_2802.jpg
Views: 3416
Size:  60.5 KB

Leela krishnan doing the dyno.
Name:  IMG_2792.jpg
Views: 3357
Size:  51.9 KB

Some pictures of my car being Dynoed.
Name:  IMG_2801.jpg
Views: 3427
Size:  64.2 KB

Name:  IMG_2794.jpg
Views: 3466
Size:  66.4 KB

Name:  IMG_2795.jpg
Views: 3783
Size:  87.2 KB

Name:  IMG_2796.jpg
Views: 3456
Size:  60.7 KB

Name:  IMG_2793.jpg
Views: 3309
Size:  38.4 KB

Waiting for the Dyno graphs to be mailed which is going to take some time.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2010, 17:04   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Are you saying you have in excess of 163 Whp ??? Do post the results.

BTW how is the sitting position in the Magnum ? Higher than the Octavia or lower or about the same. If it is similar to the Swift's seat height I think I should start looking for an unabused example & send it to Bangy straightaway. For doing the needful




Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2010, 17:19   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
planet_rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bong-land
Posts: 2,320
Thanked: 365 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Mind blowing news - do you have a pic of the dyno sheet?

What is that red car in the back ground? and what about the bug?
planet_rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Honda City Vtec - RRP Dyno report - Graph included fieroid Modifications & Accessories 29 25th October 2012 16:49
My TURBO-Charged Swift Petrol! And a dyno graph too Sportsmind Modifications & Accessories 43 8th September 2011 02:40
Accord V6, mapped Linea, Fusion & Jetta on the dyno! UPDATE: Comparo on pg3 GTO Modifications & Accessories 69 14th January 2011 18:06
1st ever Dyno Graph of my Turbocharged Hybrid OHC (320+ WHP!) Ford Rocam Modifications & Accessories 316 15th November 2010 19:44
Modded Skoda RS Dyno Graph KS Motorsport Modifications & Accessories 30 21st October 2010 10:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks