Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th December 2010, 12:36   #61
BHPian
 
rocky080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 303
Thanked: 35 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post
Yes, It is going to stress the clutch but keeping the peak power till 4000rpm will stress even more. So till we get the performance clutch we have to live with this re-map.



Brake pads changed, Yes we can test it.
Then why not have it changed so the peak power comes in at 3000 and above until you get the performance clutch, so that you don't burn your clutch in city traffic and it will help on highspeed highway runs(less downshifts for overtaking manouveres)and much less wear and tear on the clutch. Just my thoughts.

Ok will call you on saturday to fix up the time. And chikku if your listening get your android s/w phone so we can time the runs.
rocky080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 14:43   #62
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 348 Times
Default re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky080 View Post
Ok will call you on saturday to fix up the time. And chikku if your listening get your android s/w phone so we can time the runs.
If its on Friday night i am in.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 15:33   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Finally got the Dyno Graph from Red Rooster racing and am happy with figures.

430.5 NM of torque
172.8 bhp
Wow, thats even better than the tdiracing graph. Congrats!!!

It'l be interesting to watch it on track after the brake upgrade ofcourse.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 15:36   #64
BHPian
 
raj.barcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 678
Thanked: 61 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post
If its on Friday night i am in.

Friday will be a little difficult and i prefer Saturday run what say guys
raj.barcode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 15:50   #65
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 348 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post
Wow, thats even better than the tdiracing graph. Congrats!!!

It'l be interesting to watch it on track

Shan2nu
Magnum is not a track car due to its 1.4ton weight and it will make my pocket lighter by 20k as i have to buy 4 new performance tyres. Actually we tried the NICE road Cloverleaf curve at high speeds and a layer has already gone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post
after the brake upgrade ofcourse.
Performance rotors has already arrived I just have to get it installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj.barcode View Post
Friday will be a little difficult and i prefer Saturday run what say guys
Saturday i cant make it and can we discuss this offline.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 17:25   #66
Senior - BHPian
 
Invinsible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 60 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Those figures clears all the doubts.
Indeed it's good to see it better no's than the claimed. But like others mentioned you would need better brakes, suspension, tyres, clutch to make optimum use of that enormous torque.
what brake disc and clutch are you getting ?
Invinsible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 17:58   #67
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 348 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
But like others mentioned you would need better brakes, suspension, tyres, clutch to make optimum use of that enormous torque.
Very True.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
what brake disc and clutch are you getting ?
They actually send the existing brake disk for the dimensions and get it done from abroad, More details are not given to me.
Slotted rotors are ready for Fortuners, Swift, Cruze, Magnum.

A snap of Slotted rotors which was fitted in Cruze. Sorry for bad snap.
Name:  IMG_2805.jpg
Views: 3289
Size:  28.4 KB

They are still working on the Clutch.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 18:13   #68
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 542
Thanked: 52 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Congrats buddy. Could you share the break-up till now (including the car price)
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 18:17   #69
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 348 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadra View Post
Congrats buddy. Could you share the break-up till now (including the car price)
Car - 6.3lkhs
Re-map - 45k
Suspension job - 20k
Slotted rotors - 18k

Hope my wife is not seeing this .
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 18:21   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
The Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,116
Thanked: 58 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Extremely pleasing figures indeed!!! Your car should give a run for its money to many a tuned petrol cars that go wrrooming in the city (including mine haha), impressive.

Having said the above a few questionable bits:
1. I am surprised to find you not experiencing the additional rush profoundly!
2. With 600+ Nm of torque at the crank, the internals might take quite a bit of a beating! Have you factored that?
3. Have you made any plumbing changes around the turbo and turbo internals? If not, its unfathomable how the same hardware can be enhanced so much just through the remap! What is Chevy doing with such underutilized hardware??!!!
4. Have you dynoed your car before the upgrade? What if this dyno read similar figures even before the upgrade??!!
The Wolf is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 19:29   #71
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,845
Thanked: 375 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post
Car - 6.3lkhs
Re-map - 45k
Suspension job - 20k
Slotted rotors - 18k

Hope my wife is not seeing this .
That sure sounds AWESOME, 73k on top of the car cost & you have a 320d in your hands (powerwise - it is real close) The handling would need sorting out though !!

All said & done in 7L you have a monster. What more can one ask for !!

Hope the gear box & engine internals hold up.





Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 20:05   #72
BHPian
 
ssjr0498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Blr-Ccu
Posts: 642
Thanked: 118 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Insane figs!! I sure would want to have a run with this car! I feel, till 100 there might be a small chance of the petrol being a tad bit ahead (cuz of the insane wheel spins the magnum would have thanks to the torque figs) but, thereafter... no chance!!! The magnum will devour it!!

But like the others have said, I just hope that ur gearbox and engine internals hold up!!

Cheers
Shrey

Last edited by ssjr0498 : 15th December 2010 at 20:06.
ssjr0498 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 20:45   #73
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,845
Thanked: 375 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

I love this !! Never did the Magnum, entice so many of us, albeit when it was launched !! I WISH the car companies have tuning tie ups like TRD, AMG et al.

The enthusiast would go running there with his wallet wide open.

Is my imagination going wild !!





Cheerio
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2010, 10:51   #74
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 348 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
Having said the above a few questionable bits:
1. I am surprised to find you not experiencing the additional rush profoundly!
You should join us for one of our drives and check out yourself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
4. Have you dynoed your car before the upgrade? What if this dyno read similar figures even before the upgrade??!!
No, i have not dynoed but its difficult to imagine these figures in a stock car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
2. With 600+ Nm of torque at the crank, the internals might take quite a bit of a beating! Have you factored that?
3. Have you made any plumbing changes around the turbo and turbo internals? If not, its unfathomable how the same hardware can be enhanced so much just through the remap! What is Chevy doing with such underutilized hardware??!!!
For this you have to directly talk to tuner as i have already boared him with tons of questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
That sure sounds AWESOME, 73k on top of the car cost & you have a 320d in your hands (powerwise - it is real close) The handling would need sorting out though !!

All said & done in 7L you have a monster. What more can one ask for !!

Hope the gear box & engine internals hold up.
Cheers
I guess 320d might win due to its handling & braking but cannot leave a good gap from magnum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post
Insane figs!! I sure would want to have a run with this car! I feel, till 100 there might be a small chance of the petrol being a tad bit ahead (cuz of the insane wheel spins the magnum would have thanks to the torque figs) but, thereafter... no chance!!! The magnum will devour it!!
Diesels are know for its 100-200kmph figures but you will find out more when we meet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post
But like the others have said, I just hope that ur gearbox and engine internals hold up!!

Cheers
Shrey
I went ahead with this remap just because it has been tried with 5-6 magnum already and mainly with the previous year hyderabad drag car which has completed 40k kms without any problems.
brraj is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2010, 10:58   #75
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,759
Thanked: 6,665 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Those are some good figures, and its great to see that your upgrading the handling and braking aspects too.

I wish you had dynoed it before and after to see the actual gains. Wasnt this dyno showing a stock Civic below 100bhp?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Honda City Vtec - RRP Dyno report - Graph included fieroid Modifications & Accessories 29 25th October 2012 16:49
My TURBO-Charged Swift Petrol! And a dyno graph too Sportsmind Modifications & Accessories 43 8th September 2011 02:40
Accord V6, mapped Linea, Fusion & Jetta on the dyno! UPDATE: Comparo on pg3 GTO Modifications & Accessories 69 14th January 2011 18:06
1st ever Dyno Graph of my Turbocharged Hybrid OHC (320+ WHP!) Ford Rocam Modifications & Accessories 316 15th November 2010 19:44
Modded Skoda RS Dyno Graph KS Motorsport Modifications & Accessories 30 21st October 2010 10:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks